The Good Old Days!

Living in Southern California has meant many things to me over the years.  The beaches, surfing, skiing in the mountains, Disneyland and enjoying our beautiful deserts.  But one thing we had lost was our ever popular Drive-In Movies.  Where you had to drive over those huge humps to get your car lined up just right so that you could see the whole screen and still be close enough to the speakers to get them onto your car window.  The last one closed down a few years ago.  How sad.  I can still remember going to a Drive-In with my wife and we both wore our PJ’s.  Taking along a pizza and a 6-pack of beer, we had dinner and were ready for bed!  It was the ultimate in summer entertainment during the dog days of summer.  The last one to close down was a mere 3 blocks from our home!
 
Now, word has come that a new one has opened here at the Orange County Fairgrounds today!!  They showed ‘Shrek 3" tonight!  They now have discarded those speakers that you hung on your window in favor of a device that you clip on your car antenna so that the sound comes thru your radio.  Also missing is the guy who rode around on his bicyclce to make sure that nothing ‘inappropriate’ was going on!!  Damn!!  That was the FUN part! LOL!  We are soooo going this weekend!!  I only wish that I had a ’57 Chevy to drive there in!!  But it should be a Blast!!!!  I’ll let you all know!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to The Good Old Days!

  1. Beth says:

    Hi Bob,
    Thank you for dropping by my space.  I really appreciate it.  I was trying to think of the last movie I saw at a drive-in theater.  I think it was "Bad Day at Black Rock."  Now that really ages me.  lol  Have a great weekend.

  2. Lynn says:

     
    We’ve got drive-in’s here, always have…I love South-Central KY for drive-in food restaurants and movie places.  We still have A&W stands AND places to see double features.  We’ve watched ALL THREE of the Shrek movies at the drive-in.  HEAVEN!!!!  I can’t imagine seeing a movie like Shrek, or a good horror movie, in the theatre.
     
    My first drive-in movie was that Jason movie…Friday, the 13th.  Daddy scared hell out of me and my little brother T the whole night, goosing us every time Jason came out.  heheheh

  3. Jade says:

    wow cool!!! You & the mrs, or a whole gang? Now adays I can see it being a whole tail-gating afair 😀
    Hey, what’s going on under that blanket?!

  4. Hope says:

    Enjoy the drive in.. they are fun.. we still have them here..
    but then we are still in the horse and buggy era..
    "smile’
    or so many still think..
    have a great weekend..
    soft hugs ~Hope

  5. Jude says:

    I looooove drive in theatres!!!  The first movie I ever saw was The Apple Dumpling Gang, waaaay back in the 70s!! lolI think the last one I saw was ET, maybe one a bit later, but I can’t quite remember anymore….regardless, nothing beats that summer fun, waiting for it to get dark, giggling and messing around, just having a great old time. :)What a wonderful trip down memory lane, thanks for sharing it with us 🙂

  6. CAROL says:

    I think there are only two in the whole state of MIchigan! I have not been to one since they closed down here in our town back about 30 or so years ago. Ahhhh those were the days huh.. stuffing kids in the car and parents taking the little ones and they would all fall asleep before the movie was over.. heh heh.. tricky parents!  Good old days indeed.. I hope you see something great..it will be a great memory for sure!  Thanks for the connection advice too.. I shall look into things thoroughly.. have fun at the Drive In  !!  :  )

  7. Twila says:

    Bob~Good mornin’!  Drive in huh?  KEWL!  Like most of us, I haven’t been to a drive in for about 30 years.  My God has it been that long since the last one around here closed?  Yep, I think it has.  BUT, I do remember hearing something about a couple new ones opening somewhere.  Too bad all the old ones had to close.  That was the life.  Mom & Dad could take all 5 of us kids to Buck Nite.  Mom would make a couple very large paper grocery bags full of popcorn, an Igloo jug full of KoolAid and we’d be set.  2 and sometimes 3 ‘picture shows’, a full night’s entertainment for a family of 7 for just a BUCK!  And I don’t think I’ll mention the times that me and my friends would sneak 3 or 4 other friends into the drive-in, in the trunk of the car!  They always had to wait until after the movie started before we could let them out, for fear of getting caught!Aaahhh, the memories.  Thanks Bob!

  8. Twila says:

    Bob~Hey!  Send me an email to the email address listed on my Space, top right corner.

  9. Sue says:

    We still have one drive-in here but I haven’t been.  It’s in the next town over and I rarely get up that direction.  But will maybe get my youngest to one while it’s still there!  Loved them as a kid and my heart broke in Montana when they took down the only one in town…along with the A&W stand!!!

  10. g says:

    Hey there you.  Thanks for coming by.   The computer I bought (due to my high level of stress and to make me feel bettter) is quite nice.  It is a HP…my second.  I usually buy gateways.  But I wanted ONE unit.  So I have a machine that has the sceen 19" attached to the cpu and one cord!  That is it.  You just plut it in and go.  I’ll post pics here in a bit.  It is a touch sceen, with a built in webcam and speakers, can be hooked to cable tv, has windows vista which I am not liking, but in general it is a "kick ass" machine so far!  The price (in case you don’t want to ask) $1800.00.  Not bad for everything it came with and not to mention the "high" it is giving me.  *he he*  Gotta go for now.  Talk to you soon.  Do you IM?  If so add me and we can talk through that.
     
    Bye for now,
     
    g.j.

  11. g says:

    Did you see shrek 3?   I did and I loved it and LMAO!  *he he*
     
    g.j.

  12. Amy says:

    I love the drive-in too!  There’s one that closed down and they built high end homes on the lot.  It was only 10 mins away and it always has a double bill or triple on weekends.Only thing is because we’ll go in a truck, they make us go way in the back.  Sucked.  LOL…cause we’ll have the kids with us so being in the back is not as much fun.It took them a while to get another one back up but they did.  It’s about 20 mins away and I haven’t been yet.  We did rent it out for our football association to show a couple of Football themed movies to get the boys excited.How was Shrek 3?  My kids are harrasing me to go.

  13. katie says:

    Hey Bob,
    Thanks for your comment! You are my hero too! 🙂 I’m glad things are ok now.  I understand why you are sensitive about cancer- I just didn’t want you to go out of the way to follow those guidelines then later find out that some of them aren’t true.
     
    Have fun at the drive-in!
     
    I’ll be back soon to see what you’re up to.
     
    Katie

  14. Jade says:

    hmm, got the map, but I’m not getting any red dots!

  15. Cheryl says:

    When I got married my husband had a 57 Chevy and we used to go to the drive in.  Our first movie we went to was the Good, The Bad, and the Ugly.  Over 40 years ago now….

  16. Cindy says:

    Hi Bob
     
    The last drive-in movie I remember seeing was ‘Free Willy’.  My daughter and I went … we cried our eyes out.  LOL  We’re hokey like that. 
     
    P.S.  O-W would be pottysquirt … O-X is pottyhumperdinck … are you a pottysquirt? (That sounds really disgusting taken out of context like that.)

  17. buttons says:

    With my parking skills I’d take all night to get in the right place and miss the movie!!! Still I reckon your right there should be a little man on a bike checking out what your all upto!! hee hee
     
    Cor just imagine watching Johnny Depp in my car, in my pj’s with Lots of chocolate!!

  18. Harold says:

    Ah yes drive inns …. love them.  There are still a few around here in KC  but not like there use to be.   Fantastic way to spend a summer evening !!!!!!

  19. EbonyWyvernDragon says:

    Oh wow! Drive-ins – I think the last one in CT was the Berlin Drive In – pretty sure its gone now……..sigh. When we were little, my cousins lived right next to the one in North Haven – and if my aunt let us stay up late enough, we could walk 3 houses away and watch the show! I remember one night, my uncle and aunt piled all 5 of us in pajamas in the back of their Ford Wagon and took us to see ………………… uh………. don’t remember – I know it was a Disney film……. maybe the Shaggy Dog??? with Fred MacMurray (from My 3 Sons). Wish my kids could go to a drive in! sigh……….the Other Dragon

  20. Raven says:

    Hola Bob!  I read about this…I remember going to the drive-in as a kid, I vividly remember the downfall of the highway 39 drive in…and I remember engaging in wildly inappropriate behavior at the drive in down in San Juan Capistrano as a teenager, I mean, after I was…oh hell, nobody’s gonna buy it anyway…I do remember looking over at my boyfriend and noticing his shirt was on inside out. 
    I can’t wait to take the offspring this summer!
    Kisses and love~*R*~

Leave a Reply

