Memorial Day

 
I planned on doing a post about how great it was to have 3-day weekend and what, with the weather being so nice recently.  But then I ran into an old man outside of Albertson’s selling Poppys with the donation to be given to the Veterans of Foreign Wars charity.  Of course, I bought one, although I should have purchased dozens!
 
You see?  I’m a VietNam Vet!  Spent two tours there.  Enlisted.  Saw good friends become wounded, disabled and killed!   And when I tell people this, I usually get the same five questions
 
1. Was it scary??    (Ummm… YEAH!!)
 
2. Did you kill anyone?   ( I HAD to!!  It was me or them… Didn’t actually count!)
 
3. Would you do it again?   ( You bet your ass!!!)
 
4. Were you NUTS???  (Only if I hadn’t taken on the job!)
 
5. Why did you do it?  (I was an American soldier!!  It was my job!)
 
Now, I’m not a violent person but when you are thrown into a situation like that, you either react and learn to survive or you die.  I chose the former!
 
In the end, I came out of the whole mess as a survivor. I contracted throat cancer, which the doctors claimed was because of the Agent Orange that was being used to kill the vegation in the jungles there ( I have no vocal cords), but I’m alive!
 
And the lesser ‘ordeal’, which was flying in to El Paso, Texas, only to be spit on, have shit thrown at us,  and called ‘Baby Killers!!’, which was totally CRAP!! (We never responded back), I survived that crap too!
 
It’s been 30 years now and I’m still trying to let the whole experience go.  Someday, maybe,  who knows…  When the nightmares stop..
 
So next time you see an old man selling those Poppys, wearing his little VFW hat??  Please think of me and buy one, and PLEASE thank him!!  He has sacrificed his life for you!!  He is why you are free today…
 
Have a GREAT Memorial Day!!
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Memorial Day

  1. Bridget says:

    Thank you for your service to our country!! It amazes me how some people disassociate the freedoms they take for granted and the sacrafices our armed forces and their families make for that freedom. I will be attending our local Memorial Day Services, when my kids were little they were in the parade for scouts… the early morning outting sets the mood for the day at the lake. Enjoy your weekend!!

  2. Jess says:

    Bob –thank you, for serving our country, for being strong, and for being so proud to be that. Our country owes our veterans so much more respect than we give.
     
    Happy Memorial Day Buddy…
     
    I heart you too !
     
    Jess
    xoxoxo

  3. Jude says:

    Wonderful, wonderful post Bob!  I always make sure I take the time to remember when we have our Remembrance Day ceremonies on November 11th.Lest we forget.

  4. Beth says:

    Great post Bob.  Two of my brothers served two tours of duty in ‘Nam.  My husband was a Korean War Vet.  I am proud of all of the men and women who have served our country through the years!

  5. Louise says:

    Hey Bob!!!!!! yes it’s me, sorry I ain’t been about so much, never bee so bloomintg busy lol. Yep went to the races but didn’t win owt pmsl, couldn’t win an arguement me honestly lmao. It’s been chaotic honestly lately and works been a bit of a ightmare and I hve got a cold and aghhhhh. First chance I have astually had to sit and do a bit of space hopping and stuff in peace with some music on, Scorpions tonight for the moment new album which is good. Nice bath and I took the razor round the housesand now I am sat here chilling after a wonderful large J. Could do with one a foot long and half a foot thick I think, so relaxing being sat here ming monged on the sofa all bath hot and relaxed nattering away to one of me mates lol.
     
    Hope you’re ok and me csruffy mate too and it ain’t been too hot for you, been awfully warm again here but it’s been very cloudy and the odd drop of rain. My skins getting worse again too whic it always does and I have men coming out of the blooming woodwork after me now, shit I knew I should stop in the house on me own cos look what blooming happens. Grrrrrrrrr. Like busses, don’t see one for ages and then they all come at once lol.
     
    I’m totally with you Bob on this blog and a cracking one it is too. I being the simple me that I am have always thought the same, if it wasn’t for people like you who have stood there in the face of God only knows what well we wouldn’t have the freedom we have now. Thankyou Bob for standing there on my behalf I am grateful, even more grateful to have you as a friend and we must catch up again really soon ok!!!! So love our natters and you always brighten my little world.
     
    Monacco grand pric tomorrow and I hope it’s a good un, it’s my favourite track because it’s got contenet, ok they go round the same bit over and over still but it’s a much more technical race and all that and it’s ace when they crash as long as they don’t get hurt lol.
     
    Right I better sod off and blog or I won’t lol. Make another J too and maybe have a few wine gums hehehehe.
     
    (((BIG BIG HUGS))) and loads of bright blessings xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  6. Twila says:

    Happy Decoration Day Bob!  And again, THANK YOU and thanks to all who have gone before us.  My Dad was in the Korean War, and hubby was in at the tale end of Viet Nam.  He made Oki, but not VN.  Lucky for him I guess.  Two of my brothers and several uncles also did tours, either in VN or the Gulf War.  Shoot, my family has fought battles all the way back to the Revolution!  So, hats off to all of ya’!
     
    Have a great weekend!

  7. Jane says:

    Happy Memorial Day, Bob!  Even though you are quite alive, I still thank you for what you did to serve our country.  Thanks too, for your comments on my question – AND the chocolate toothpaste tip.  🙂  I’d try anything chocolate.  It didn’t mention how many calories, tho?  Hmmm.
    I hope you have a fabulous day and weekend and ever after.
    Thanks!
    PS – I remember the poppies back in the day – my grandpa used to sell them – I think his was an American Legion thing,  but I don’t think I have seen them in 25 years. 

  8. Bill says:

    Bob, the space looks great. 
     
    I echo others who thank you for your sacrifices.  I can’t begin to tell you how much I appreciate everyone who defends our country and its freedoms.
     
    I will be thinking of you Monday, buddy.
     
    Take care.

  9. Jean says:

    I loved the last post and this one! Thank you for serving! I feel for the Vietnam Vets that were treated so badly, after all they had gone through…We still have a great little parade here for the vets. We have a VERY large group of them that retired in this area, so we still do a lot of the "old-fashioned" things to honor them. Hope you enjoy your weekend!
    hugs,
    Jean

  10. Sanne says:

    Everyone else has summed it up so well so all I can say is…
    Thank you.
     
    Have a great Memorial Day…
     
    Sanne

  11. CAROL says:

    ADD me in here too.. I agree.. I left a message at the other blog… have a great day!  Space is looking good..almost like home again…!  :  )

  12. Jòi§eÿ says:

    My father was a Korean War vet, my brother a Viet Nam vet, two other brothers that are veterans.  This holiday holds a great deal of memories for my family even though my husband and I have to work.  As a matter of fact, just today, I bought a dozen poppies from an elderly veteran dressed in his uniform that was too small.  I asked him if he would like a cup of coffee or a cold drink (We’re in TX, ya know.)  He asked for cream and sugar.  I bought him the biggest cup available.  I handed it to him, kissed him on the cheek and told him thank you.  As I looked back at him on the way to my car, he just stared at me.  I guess he didn’t believe I’d be back with the coffee.  The poppies are for all our vets.  Including you.  For it is "you" guys and gals who have paved the road for our freedom and our lives as they are today.  Thank you.

  13. Jude says:

    Are you ready for Game 1 tomorrow night?????  I’ll have my Sens cheers ready! lol

  14. Hope says:

    Hi Bob,
    I have tried to leave a comment here for the past few days.. keep getting booted out..
    For one I want to thank you for fighting for us.. for all the horrid things you saw, and experienced..
    for that and for coming back home only to be so very miss treated.. I am deeply sorry..
    I bow to you.. I bow to all our vets.. to you I owe my freedom.. my children’s freedom..my grand children’s freedom..
    the words Thank you are not enough.. will never be enough..
    To you this day I give Honor and my heart felt sorrow and gratitude..
    God bless you always..
    love and soft hugs ~Hope
     

  15. ~Special K~ says:

    thank you

Leave a Reply

