Building A Campfire!!

I’ve noticed recently that alot of my friends have either been going camping or have been thinking about doing it! 
 
Well, Good news!!   You came to the right place!!  You see?  I was an actual Boy Scout!!  That’s right!!  "Be Prepared" was my motto!!   And still is….. usually…!    But whatever!!   I come from a long line of outdoorsmen and adventuers!!  You’ve heard of Daniel Boone????  Davey Crockett????  Lewis and Clark????  Well, so have I!!!!!  
 
So here are a few tips for starting a fire on your next camping trip.  And remember, ‘Only YOU Can Prevent Forest Fires’  (Smokey)
 
 
 
 Building a campfire is easy, just follow these sixteen steps (in order):

 Split dead limb into fragments and shave one fragment into slivers.

 Bandage left thumb.

 Chop other fragments into smaller fragments.

 Bandage left foot.

 Make structure of slivers (include those embedded in hand).

 Light Match.

 Light Match.

 
 Light Match.
 Repeat "a Scout is cheerful" and light match.

 Apply match to slivers, add wood fragments, and blow gently   into base of fire.

 Apply burn ointment to nose.

 When fire is burning, collect more wood.

 Upon discovering that fire has gone out while out searching for
 more wood, soak wood from can labeled "kerosene."

 Treat face and arms for second-degree burns.

 Relabel can to read "gasoline."

 When fire is burning well, add all remaining firewood.

 When thunder storm has passed, repeat above steps.

See??  Easy!! 

 
I hope these few tips help! 

GOOD LUCK!!!!!

 

 Yeah, yeah… Look out when Bob has been camping!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Building A Campfire!!

  1. Beth says:

    That made me laugh.  Also reminded me of the time I was a girl scout leader.  Oh, for the good old days.  ;o)

  2. Jess says:

    Oh dear God Bob, that is so right on that it’s almost not funny ! Mine goes more like, bring a propane torch, and there ya have it ! LOL

  3. Harold says:

    LOL   Heyyyyyyy  U was spying on me setting up camp wasnt ya ???
     
    I know.. I am realy hooked on "Deadliest Catch", "After the Catch", "Cash Cab" and another one I like tho not as much is "How its Made"…they pick 4 items for every hour show ( I think ) and give you a fast rough idea of… how its made. Seen everything made from jawbreakers to ambulances… really interesting to me. "After the Catch" is a spin-off of Deadliest Catch… its the skippers, some crew and Mike Rowe sitting round drinking and telling stories… found it to be almost as good as Deadliest Catch is !! 
    Its become a regular thing for me to hit Discovery channel when I get home and sometimes it dont go off till bed… LOL
     
    Things looking up on the healing front.. go to Dr. again tomorrow to see if I can get my cast off my arm (YEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 )  and I figure to be riding again in a week or two ( I MIGHT even wear my helmet 😉      )

  4. Silver says:

    hehehe.. I’m so glad I didn’t read that BEFORE I went! I might’ve done myself a mischief.. I used to be a girl guide so dib dib dob.. etc.
     
    xx

  5. Cin says:

    Thank you for your service to our country.

  6. Sanne says:

    I grew up on a farm and we lit everything with gas…LOL  You’re blog brought back many interesting memories :o)
     
    Sanne

  7. EbonyWyvernDragon says:

    Hullo thar! Been a busy few weeks but I am here once again! I see you have been a busy beaver bloggin away! Some GREAT posts – the "Bush" one was real great food for thought! Hope your Memorial Day was spectacular – and  THANK YOU for helping to keep our nation free!!!!!!!! I’m honored to count yet another American Soldier as a friend!!!! the Other Dragon!

  8. Strawberry says:

    For a very interesting reason I can’t quite come up with I’ve never had trouble lighting fires.  Although there was charcoal starter or gasoline involved in the process.  I’ve never tried the rubbing two twigs together thing.  I’m not the type to go camping.  I guess I’d leave it to some big strong man to light the fire for me.  Just thought I’d visit your site and say Hello.  Cute dogs.   I LOVE dogs.  Have a wonderful day!

  9. g says:

    Enjoy  your weekend.
     
    ".+。 *".+。 * :.+。 ".+ (¸,·´   (¸*♥ 。’ㅇ’☆”。*。*.。’☆*。。’ㅇ.☆.。’..*。。..。’ㅇ’。 .。’☆。’ 福福福福福’☆*。.*ㅇ福福福福福 .。’☆。’ . 。’ ‘福福福福福福福福福☆福福福福福福福福福 .。’ ‘ ”。☆福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福 ”。☆ .。 福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福 .*ㅇ ‘☆ 福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福 .。 .*ㅇ福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福”☆ ”☆福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福.☆. .☆. 福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福.*ㅇ ㅇ’.. 福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福福 。”☆ 。”☆”。福福福福福福福福福福福福福福 。’。’☆”。 *。..。’ㅇ’.。福福福福福福福福福福福 *。..☆。’ㅇ’.。 ☆”。*。*.。’ㅇ. 福福福福福福福 ☆”。*..。。*.。’ㅇ ”。*。*.。’☆。’☆*。福福福福 ”。*。*.。’☆。’☆。 .☆.。’. .*。*。. .。’ㅇ’。福 .☆.。’..*。..。*。..。’ㅇ’ 。’ㅇ’☆”。*。*.。’☆*。。’ㅇ.☆.。’..*。*。..。’ㅇ’。
     
    g.j.

  10. Jude says:

    Hehehehe, that sounds so like me and any attempt at doing anything outdoors…..I have to be one of the few people who probably shouldn’t have flown up to Guides!!! lolLovely chat last night…..we’ll have to catch you on Saturday night for game 3!!!Take care 🙂

  11. Bridget says:

    lol @ campfire tips…. Gotta love camping stories!! there definately is nothing like sleeping on the ground under the stars. From one scout to another… have a great weekend!

  12. Jade says:

    ;D  Thanks for the chuckle Bob !
    No red dots–waaa!

  13. Jane says:

    Crazy man – you just buy one of the ‘instant campfire’ logs with the little wick dealy on it.

  14. Jòi§eÿ says:

    Jane-what’s up with "dealy".  It’s funny.  Down here in TX they say "deal" a lot.  You know.  "You put the deal here and then you do this and then put that deal here."  What?  This camping experience is something from my past.  I was young, but I remember very vividly.  Seems to me I was the one blowing gently and then gathering firewood and then you know…..lighting the deal. 

Leave a Reply

