“He Said His Feet Were Killing Him”

And it seems as if mine are…
 
As some of you know, I have been having major problems with both of my feet since I pinched a nerve in my back three years ago.  At first it was just the numbness from the thighs down.  Then I broke my right foot without knowing it had happened.  Next was Cellulitus in the big toe on my left foot, which was eventually amputated (the toe, not the foot).  After that I was diagnosed with severe Neuropathy in both feet (I also have Charcot Foot).  I was fitted with orthotics to place in my shoes, and they have really helped!  I also purchased a TENS device to try to reconnect the nerves and that has helped a great deal.
 
However, Saturday I noticed a redness in the toes of my right foot and many small sores that were bleeding and seeping, just like the big toe on my amputated toe.  (Note:  Since I was so numb, I didn’t need anestheisia for the amputation, or the removal of the nail on the big toe on the other foot.)
 
Anyhow, I went to see my podiatrist today (he’s Great!) and he determined that I had Cellulitus in three toes on THAT foot!  Now I know that Cellulitus is a common ailment for people with Diabetes but I have been tested over a dozen times and the tests have come up negative. 
 
He removed another tonail, cleaned the toes up, applied silver oxide, wrapped them and gave me a prescription for a very strong antibiotic (Amoxicillin/Clavulanic Acid).  He told me that the infection should clear up in a week.  But I’m still concerned!!  Where are these infections coming from???  After all, it’s June and I have not been able to get any yardwork done, no garden and my bonsai are suffering!  I don’t feel comfortable driving!  I can’t walk my dogs!!  I have trouble just standing up, for crying out loud!
 
So, I’m stuck here, in front of my computer, blogging boring posts like this one and commenting to all of my beloved friends. 
 
I feel that if I can keep the infections from occuring, the orthotics and the TENS unit will do their job and I will be walking normally and without pain again soon.
 
I just hope this nightmare ends soon!!!
 
Take care, My friends…
 
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “He Said His Feet Were Killing Him”

  1. Jean says:

    I feel your pain on not being able to walk and stuff.. hence my somersault!!LOL I’m banged up, few scrapes, but nothing even close to serious.. sore all over! What does the doctor think is causing these infections?? Or does he have any idea?? We’ll have to come up with the answer if he can’t!
    hugs,
    Jean

  2. Bridget says:

    Oh wow…. I hope things get on the good side for you soon. Funny how we take things for granted until we can’t do them for a bit. Keep those feet up…enjoy a little down time, you’ll be tending the bonsi soon!! ***hugs***

  3. Sue says:

    Gee, I hope your feet get better and you find the cause of your infection.  I too have had foot problems but thankfully not as bad as yours.  When your feet hurt, it’s the WORST!  You feel like you can’t do anything.  My orthodics help enormously so I can still play tennis and walk the dog sometimes.  Hope you can get back to your bonsai soon.  Just relax and watch those Mighty Ducks!!!

  4. Angie says:

    Poor guy. um….don’t know quite what to say. I am not knowing what could help. I wonder though, could western medicine help you get some feeling back to your feet???? The Chinese do seem to have a way with things. A thought to ponder, and get better soon…otay?

  5. Jane says:

    Well that really sucks!  I hope you can figure out how to keep the little guys from getting infected.  I would give you some sage advice but it would most likely be made up and then I would feel bad if it didn’t work so I’ll just do my part and hang out in blogland with you, kay?  It could be worse, you know.  What if it was your FINGERS and you couldn’t blog?????  Oh no!

  6. Stephanie says:

    You know how I feel about all of this. I’m so glad you didn’t wait and went in to see him right away.
    Now, be careful, be good and keep blogging (it will take your mind off of things and give us stuff to read) LOL
     
    Too bad we were there last summer. If this was our vacation year I could help with the bonsai and I know the kids would fight over who walks the dogs.
     
    You know I’m here. Let me know if we can do anything. I love you, the kids love you, so take care. OK? BIG HUGS, Steph

  7. Laoch says:

    Ugh.  I hope you feel better soon.Tonight’s the night for the Ducks.

  8. Gina says:

    Geez… how terrible!! Isn’t it funny how you never realize how much we NEED our feet and just sort of "take them for granted" until they are failing? I hope you get it figured out soon…
     
    On a brighter note – thank goodness you have a computer, huh??? And Jane is SOOOOO right…. just think how bad it would suck if it were your fingers??
     
    Now, quick question: didn’t it say "Phillie Phanatic" last time I was here? Or did I dream that??
    weimie 

  9. Sanne says:

    Though your Podiatrist is a great guy maybe you need a second  (or 3rd or 4th) opinion.  Bummer to hear that you’re having such a rough time right now and I sure do hope you heal up soon.  I wish I had some great words of wisdom but…I don’t.  Hope the restof your week is good :o)
     
    Sanne

  10. Louise says:

    Hey Bob!
     
    Sorry I have been quiet as well but so much is going on right now and all that and probably once you have read my posts and that it’ll all become clearer lol. I’m not stopping blogging just stopping some people coming in that’s all and that’s for my own sanity and to learn how to blog again like I really should be doing without worrying about who’s gonna take a strop and moan the life outta me or owt like that. Someone took all my reams and then had the cheek to moan about it to me marvelous eh, so that’s why I am going private for a while to get my life back to how I want it, not how someone else thinks I should be doing it.
     
    I’m sorry your feet are playing up again honestly I think you must be going out in your sleep dancing non stop or summet lol. Hang in there my friend ok, know it’s crap but it’ll be ok and I know how much it gets you down (((BIG HUGS))) I have a blooming toothache grrrr, started the other day and I stuck it out thinking I might just have a bit of cod in it and all that but naaaa up and down like a yoyo all week so far and after that ever so boozy fab weekend I had I am well worn out lol. Could do with a J actually right now but I am working soon so………………….. Will have a foot long one when I get home and listen to some music and relax and stuff, natter with the bad busman hehehehe. Amazing what ya find out ain’t it when you natter to someone hehehehe.
     
    I hope me scruffy mate is doing good shame I dont live closer Bob I’d come and walk em, could even stick you on a skateboard and haul you along for the ride too hehehehe, course we’d have to stop for a bevvy and a J along the way and it might take me a while to drag you up the road laughing me tits off but hey, needs must and all that and it feels so good to roll about laughing sometimes now don’t it.
     
    (((BIG BIG BIG HUGS))) and loads of bright blessings xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  11. elana says:

    Hi Bob..
     
    Geez..I don’t comment for a couple of days and look what happens – you fall apart.  It must be from the stress of not seeing my name in any of your blog comment sections – your body rebelled and your toes exploded.  All kidding aside, I truly hope that you’re on the path to recovery (no pun intended.  Get it…"path"…"walking"…"feet…."…*ahem*..anyway…)
     
    In answer to your question, "safety items" are the little non-essentials us adolescent girls would also purchase whilst grabbing our feminine hygiene products.  Apparently, in the mind of a 15 year old girl who is absolutely horrified that she bleeds once every 28 days (even though it’s been going on since we evolved from monkeys and the woman behind the counter at the pharmacy also bleeds), a little packet of dental floss is going to take their attention off of the brightly coloured box of tampons/pads that is like, five times the size of the dental floss.  And it’s not just girls that have their safety items – I’ve heard stories of guys buying condoms and a packet of Tic Tacs..as though the person behind the counter is going to be more impressed with their oral hygeine and not the fact that they’re taking precautionary measures.  People are funny.
     
    Congrats to the Ducks, by the way.  They just wanted it more.  They didn’t need to beat the Red Wings to get there, though ;o)
     
    Take care, and get well soon!

  12. Twila says:

    Holy cow Bob!  Leave ya’ alone for a few days and look what happens!  Hope that you’re doing better by now.  I realize I’ve been mia for a bit, but too busy with life to sit at the computer very long.  Anyway, I’m in and out some, so I’ll be checking on ya’.  Get Better!

Leave a Reply

