A 4th of July Recipe

 
Since Wednesday is the 4th of July here in the U.S…….. Wait!!  It’s the 4th of July everywhere!!  Sheesh!  Let me start over.  Since Wednesday is Independence Day here in the U.S., I know that alot of you will be outdoors barbecueing.  Lots of hotdogs, hamburgers and maybe chicken.  But my favorite thing to grill has to be Baby Back Pork Ribs!!  Now I’ve read all of the recipes and most of them call for a long cooking period over a low temperture with special attention being paid to the spices being used on the meat.  There’s the dry rub method, marinating, basting for hours, etc.  All of these are really time consuming and there’s no guarentee that the ribs will turn out juicy, tender and flavorful.
 
But all is not lost!!  For I, RU Serious, have decided to at long last reveal my secret recipe to you!!  It’s so easy and soo good that it’s almost not fair!!!  I made it tonight for Mrs Serious and she actually renewed her wedding vows to me…. almost!
 
Here goes!!  (should serve 4 people):
 
You will need:
 
2 to 2 1/2 lb baby back rib slab, cut into 4 rib sections. or whatever!
 
2 bay leaves
 
A small handfull of black peppercorns
 
2 tablespoons of ‘Old Bay’ seasoning
 
A large pot (8 quart)
 
One 16oz can of Guiness Stout (optional)
 
Your favorite Barbeque sauce
 
 
Next: 
 
Fill the pot 3/4 full with water and add the rest of the ingredients except for the ribs and barbeque sauce
 
Bring to a rolling boil and add the ribs
 
Let the water return to a boil and lower the heat so they simmer, uncovered, for 45 minutes
 
Remove the ribs and place in a pan, covered with foil, until you are ready to place them on the grill
 
 
Start up your grill and set it to a medium heat
 
Place the rib sections BONE SIDE DOWN and cover the meat side with BBQ sauce
 
Let them cook (heat up) for 15 minutes and then turn them over and cook them for another 10 minutes
 
Turn them back over, slather with more sauce and cook them for another 10 minutes
 
Done!
 
Cut the sections up into indvidual ribs and serve with more BBQ sauce on the side!! 
 
The meat will fall off of the bone!
 
The whole process should take no longer than 90 minutes.  Beats the heck out of 6 to 8 hours and they will be VERY tender and tasty!
 
And if you don’t have a grill, you can do it in the oven at 450.
 
 
Oh!!  And to go with those ribs??  How about grilled corn on the cob!!  Simply peel back the husks, remove the silk, replace the husks, soak the ears in water for 30 minutes and grill them on high for about 30 minutes!  When te outside of the husks begin to burn, they are done!
 
Enjoy and have a great holiday!!
 
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A 4th of July Recipe

  1. Raven says:

    That sounds like a good recipe.  I can’t eat meat, but my hubby and son love ribs!  I grill corn, but I like mine with a teeny bit of butter and a buttload of chili powder!  I do like things HOT HOT HOT!!!
    As for the staying out of trouble, the spouse always works Saturday night, so that alone makes the world a little safer….but just a little!
    Kisses~*R*~

  2. Jude says:

    I think I’d need a bbq to do that……..and since I don’t own one, well…..not gonna happen lol.Hope all is well with you and I’m hoping my kids don’t lock us out of the car….again! ;)Take care and talk soon 🙂

  3. Charlotte M Simonsen says:

    Thanks for the recipe.  Ribs are one of mrguppie’s favorite.  I will pass on the corn-highly allergic, but I could dig into those ribs…  The best recipes are the tried and true ones…  Have a wonderful 4th of JUly..  hugs, lottiemae

  4. Beth says:

    The recipe sounds wonderful Bob!!!   Thanks for sharing with us all.
     
    I have lost my file host (www.filehut.com).  Will you please share with me who your file host is for the media player?
     
    THANKS!!!

  5. Jòi§eÿ says:

    How about if you come HERE to make those ribs for ME?  I got my arse kicked at work again today thanks to yet another thunderstorm that dumpt 1" of rain in less than an hour.  FLOODING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I’m too pooped to cook.  So, would ya?  Huh?  Huh?  Pweez?  🙂

  6. Litespreader says:

    Thank you for the tips!  I am a bit jealous..

  7. g says:

    So when you coming over to cook this?  Sounds YUMMY!
     
    g.j.

  8. DragonBoy says:

     
    Hi Bob… still no sign of any milk over this way and I’m really starting to get cranky.  STILL NO COCOPOPS!!!!!!!…
     
    Anywho’s… I did want I promised.  Went to bed and thought about what I’d done… In fact I gave it so much thought I didn’t get out of bed til gone noon on saturday… and on sunday as well.  No matter what anyone else tells ya, it wasn’t because I’m just a lazy bum… I was seriously considering what I had done… honest… no word of a lie… well… perhaps a little lie… y’know… one of those teeny-weeny, iddy-biddy lies you have to tell sometimes… certainly not one of whose hum-dinging, rip-snorting bare-faced lies that some other people have a tendancy to tell… no siree… not me… I would say that atleast 87% of the time that I was in bed I was giving serious though to what I’d done… okay… maybe high 70%’s… certainly no less than 65%… 58% at a push…
     
    So no more jokes about toes… straight down the line honest to goodness, wholemeal, skinny, low fat, no added preservatives or artificial colouring comments from me.
     
    And now I want a BBQ… thanks BOB!!!!  Cheers  ***rolls eyes***  Just rub it in why don’t you… ooooooooo… we’ve got a day off… we’re going to be BBQ’ing… sheeesh… If we have a BBQ we have to wear wellingtons and sou’westers… aaaaaaaaaaaaaahh… the good ol’ British summer.
     
    Right… I’m outta here.  Hope you had a good weekend.  Enjoy the festivities and have a couple of those ribs for me.
    ***Crazy wave***
     
    DB

  9. Sanne says:

    Those ribs sounds SO good…I’ll definitely be trying that recipe when I get back from my trip.  I’m outta here for the next 2 weeks and when I get back I better not hear (read) any bad crap about those feet of yours…got it Mister???  LOL  Glad to see things are finally better! 
    Have a great 4th!
     
    Sanne

  10. Steve says:

    I am back, Bob.  Sounds like a great bbq recipe for the baby back ribs, my favorite ribs I have eaten in my life span.  LIFE SPAN?? What a terrible way to say I love baby back ribs.  Here in Missouri here is the dry rub and the KC ribs, slathering the ribs.  I hope you have a great Fourth of July.  Hope to hear from you soon.  O By the way, when you are through going around cooking the ribs for everyone can you come around on the 5th.       

  11. Silver says:

    July??? It feels like October out there! 😦
    Sorry I’ve not been here for so long.. been a tad busy. Glad ur good tho, that recipe sounds yummy, just a shame I can’t cook 😦
    xx

  12. Jude says:

    Dropping by to say hey….hope things are going well with you…only a few more days to Independence Day now….Take care and talk soon 🙂

  13. Lily says:

    Sorry to hear about you not being able to add comments to my blog.  As far as I know, I haven’t had any other trouble with it – I even got rid of a bunch of extra stuff just to make sure that it would load up mostly trouble free for whomever visited.  Hmm.  Third time is the charm, I guess?
     
    Have a fabulous fourth – because nothing says "patriotism" like alcohol and BBQ.

Leave a Reply

