Bonds Rallies to Become an All-Star

 

OK OK!!!  I get the message!!  I’ll post something YOU all like to read tomorrow!!  After all, it IS all about what my friends want to read!!  I’ll keep the sports crap to myself!! 
 
Which brings up an interesting thought!  What kind of blogs would you like me to post?  Really, I want to know!  I’m sure that whatever subject you choose, at my age, I’ve been there and done that!!  So let me know!
 
I promise, no more baseball blogs… after this one!
 
A late surge in All-Star voting spared National League Manager Tony La Russa and Major League Baseball a thorny dilemma.

With the equivalent of two strikes and two outs against him, Barry Bonds earned the third NL outfield spot in fan balloting for the July 10 All-Star game at AT&T Park in San Francisco. He inspired enough fascination or pick-him-so-we-can-boo-him revulsion to erase a deficit of nearly 120,000 in the last few days of fan voting — but he wasn’t in the top five in the players’ vote, a telling note.

If not for the late rally that allowed him to overtake the Cubs’ Alfonso Soriano in the fan balloting and finish with 2,325,391 votes, Bonds’ All-Star fate would have been determined by a last-minute fan vote, La Russa, or baseball Commissioner Bud Selig, with all the hand wringing that would have caused.

Bonds finished third in the fans’ outfield voting behind Ken Griffey Jr.’s league-leading 2,986,818 and the Mets’ Carlos Beltran at 2,511,391. Soriano got 2,202,513 votes but was selected to the team through player balloting.

And so, everyone will get what they deserve.
 
In every sense.

Fans in San Francisco, mobilized to stuff the ballot box after the Giants launched a public relations campaign, will get to bestow some love on Bonds, who is five home runs from tying Hank Aaron’s record of 755.

Bonds will get to share the spotlight with his godfather, Giants legend Willie Mays, the guest of honor in a pregame tribute. But he will also get more questions about his alleged involvement in the BALCO steroid scandal, which has oozed from baseball to track and field and beyond while investigators continue to explore its scope.

Even in what should be its finest moments, baseball can’t avoid the fallout of its old, don’t-ask-don’t-tell implicit tolerance of performance-enhancing substances, an attitude that is only now vanishing after Congress pressured Selig and the players’ association to adopt vigorous testing and sanctions with teeth.

In the eyes of most fans outside San Francisco, Bonds is tainted goods. No one has forgotten the grand jury testimony leaked by an attorney to a pair of San Francisco Chronicle reporters, in which Bonds said he had received and used clear and cream substances given to him by his trainer, Greg Anderson, though he said he didn’t know they were steroids. He’s still under investigation for perjury.

Purely on numbers alone, it’s not difficult to justify Bonds’ spot on the NL All-Star team. He’s batting .304 with 16 home runs and 40 runs batted in and he leads the league with a .516 on-base percentage and 84 walks. His .603 slugging percentage is second to that of Milwaukee’s Prince Fielder.

If Bonds will be the man of the hour next week, so will Selig. Whether Bonds passes Aaron before or after the All-Star game, Selig will be second-guessed for his handling of the occasion and his assessment of Bonds’ legacy.

Aaron has repeatedly said he won’t shake Bonds’ hand, but he hasn’t elaborated. Aaron told reporters last month that "I don’t have any thoughts about Barry. I don’t even know how to spell his name," an ambiguous response that made him appear churlish.

Selig hasn’t divulged his plans, but he will surely be pressed for a commitment during the All-Star festivities. His response will be seen as a reflection of whether he believes Bonds should be applauded for his exploits or condemned for his alleged attempts at better hitting through chemistry.

 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bonds Rallies to Become an All-Star

  1. laura says:

    Yawn… huh? Oh hey Bob.. sorry must have dozed off somewhere there…
    Haha,,, kidding. I’m not much of a baseball fan unfortunatly. I watch my kids play but that’s about it. Sorry!
    So glad you made it back safely from your trip. Take care.
    Love Laura

  2. t i m says:

    This baseball sure sounds like fun, but I’d probably need a pillow to watch it.
     
    Football (soccer) is the only sport I know.
     
    Happy 4th July for Wednesday.

  3. Beth says:

    You know I love baseball.  I tolerate the Cubs but I am madly in love with my Cards.
    THANKS for stopping by and leaving the website for me!

  4. Cin says:

    It makes me sick to think he will [in the record books] reach or surpass Hank Aaron’s home run record.  It is a symptom of a greater problem we have in America these days…winning is the most important thing…and if you have to cheat to win then that’s okay.  :..( so sad.  So very, very sad.On an aside I was living in Wisconsin when Hank Aaron came back here to finish his career where he started it, in Milwaukee.  We are very proud of him here.Thanks for dropping by my space.  We have traveled to Wisconsin for a week of visiting family.  The weather is beautiful here.  In the 70’s and no humidity.  We drove and brought our two wonderful puppies with us.  It is so nice to not have to worry about them back at home and to have them here with us.Have a great Fourth of July. 

  5. Raven says:

    I’m with Laura on this one Bob!  I’m not much one for watching sports on tv unless it’s something like that Stanley Cup play off game.  I do love to watch Ultimate Fighting though, it’s a sickness.
    Hope your week started off well!
    XO~*R*~

  6. laura says:

    Awww Bob.. (((Hugs)))
    Blog about whatever you want! I’m sure some of my blogs don’t tickle your fancy.
    Just because I may not be interested in what you have written about doesn’t mean that I won’t leave a comment. Keep on writing about what you love! It’s the easiest thing to do isn’t it?
    But if you want to do a hot sex blog.. I’d be up for that too! ;p
    Love Laura

  7. Angie says:

    hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm………. lost me there Bob? who is on first? and What is on second? and I lost because a long time ago!
    The only thing that is more boring to watch on television is GOLF! i like contact sports meself! Gotta love da ice! hmmmmmmmm….Ice sounds nice right now with all this over 100 degree heat. whoa baby it’s a toasty one out here, and my swamp cooler is BA-roke! bastards are taking their time to fix it too. ASsHOLEs
    happy to hear you can be outside mowin’ da lawn in bare piggies and all! keep it up kiddo!
     

  8. Lynn says:

    I just like to read YOU, Bob.  Your love of the game is fun to read, even if it is the dullest game in the world next to golf to watch.  I love to play baseball, just hate to watch it.  Now football…that’s MY game. 
    I’m interested in learning more about Bob.

  9. Raven says:

    Now Bob…don’t let a couple of gorgeous women’s boredom with men in lycra pants hold a penile extension alter your blog.  I can find something in each entry to comment on, or I can leave a completely off topic and even more off color comment about seemingly nothing.  I’m flexible…so very very flexible ;-D
    Kisses~*R*~

  10. Angie says:

    I’m so bored…………don’t wanna work anymore……………you have nothing new to read as of yet today…………………………………………………………………. 😦
    oh well!!!
    LOL!
    maybe I’ll just play hookie!!!! 😉

  11. Jean says:

    *Yaaawwwn*… Oh, sorry Bob..how come we all get to blog about what we want, but you have to blog about what we want, instead of what you want?  Well, you might lose all your readers if you continue with baseball…:-) sorry, I’m not a fan.  But you go right ahead and enjoy it!lol
    hugs,
    Jean

  12. Stephanie says:

    You know me, when you talk sports, I hear…. Wah wah wah, wah wah wah wah….
    Just like the Charlie Brown Teacher! lol I love ya anyways! BIG HUGS, Steph

Leave a Reply

