My 4th of July!!

Yeah!!  Had a good Independence Day!!  Had good food and drink but laid low on the socializing…  Did I tell you that my friends are Freaks???  Blowing things up is only cool for so long!! 
 
So Mrs Serious and I decided to stay home this year and do what WE wanted to do to celebrate…. like watch ‘Marathons’ on TV!!  She watched ‘Monk’ on USA while I opted for ‘Mythbusters’ on the Discovery Channel!  How patriotic are we??  LOL! 
 
But it WAS the biggest holiday of the summer so of course we had to grill something!!  This year we poo pooed the normal hotdogs and burgers and opted to upgrade!!  King Crab legs!!  They were on sale at our local market so I decided to go for it!!  Along with the ‘Legs’, we also had rice from Mr Serious’ Aunt!!  ( I’ll post the recipe!)
 
The crab was GREAT, especially with the ‘butter, lime, tequila’ dip that Mrs Serious made!!!
 
After dinner, the fireworks started!!  Since we live a mere 3 blocks from the the fireworks display, we get to watch them from our backyard!!  Of course, 2 of the dogs go crazy from the noise!! 
 
I’m gonna post the rice recipe because I KNOW you will love it!!  Also a few tips on ‘grilling’ crab legs1!! 
 
"My Aunt Pat’s Rice"
 
I swear you will LOVE this!!!!!  Trust ME!!!!
 
You will need: 
 
1/2 cup chopped onion
 
1/4 cup butter
 
2 1/2 cup instant rice
 
1 can chicken broth plus water to make 2 cups
 
2 stalks celery, chopped
 
1/4 cup parsley ( less if dried) 
 
3/4 tsp poultry seasoning
 
3/4 tsp salt
 
Then:
 
Saute onion in butter until golden, Add rice and chicken stock .
 
Bring to boil, cover and simmer for 5 minutes,
 
Add remaining ingredients, stir and mix!~
 
 
 NOW!!  For the Crab Legs!!  Lay the legs on a board, white side up!  With a sharp knife, cut the shells open so the heat can get inside. 
 
Place the legs on a medium-hot grill, covered, for 10 minutes  They are already cooked so all you’re doing is warmimg them up!
 
One last thing is the dipping sauce for the crab!!  Lime, Garlic Tequila Butter Sauce!!!  MMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!  Great on Chicken too!!!
 
Juice of two limes
1/2 cup butter
2 cloves of garlic, crushed
One shot of Good Tequilla!
 
Melt the butter and add the rest in!
Use it to dip the crab meat into!
 
 
So anyhow, Hope you all had a great day because I sure did!!  I’ll try to visit you all tomorrow!! 
Big Hugs,  Bob!!!~
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My 4th of July!!

  1. Jude says:

    Sounds like you had an excellent day!  We had lots of fireworks around town on Canada Day (you can buy fireworks at the store here)…..problem was they were shooting them off well into the night, my dog was going bonkers and I had to get up for work in the morning!!!Woke up this morning to find out that someone (ie a troublemaking kid I suspect) had continued their celebration by throwing an egg at my big picture window in my living room……now I don’t even know if my ladder will get me up there to clean it….might have to see if I can borrow the neighbours!Anyway, hope you’re doing well.  Take care and talk soon 🙂

  2. Lynn says:

    You are the SWEETEST guy, Bob!!!!   Thank you for coming by and checking on me again!  We had a most excellent 4th, thank you so much.  I’m gonna blog about it in a little bit, but we did have some bbq ribs, can’t pass up bbq-ing on the 4th of July, can you, it’s almost un-American!?  I’m so glad you and Mrs. Serious had a great day.  Oh, I spent part of the day Marathoning too…only the girls and I watched Project Runway, we’re hooked on that show.  We’re all couch-dreamer fashion designers-and SUCH personalities they all have-oy vey!

  3. ~Special K~ says:

    our original plans were to sit at home, grill some steaks and chicken breasts, have a few beers and maybe later sit outside and see what few fireworks are viewable from our yard….then his cousin called and insisted we go over there for a ‘block party’ kind of thing. We went. It poured down rain while the guys were bbq-ing. Then all the moms disappeared leaving his cousin to look after a zillion kids all setting off things that go bang. And we got tired, so we left around 6pm. Slept for a couple hours, watched some TV, stood out in the street when it got dark to look at some oohs and ahhs in the sky, then called it a done day. Next year for sure, we’re staying home. hugsKim

  4. Beth says:

    Hi Bob,
     
    Your 4th sound sizzling.  I sold all of my grills at my big garage sale so I guess bbqing is out for me.  lol  Anyway your feast sounds good.  I love seasoned rice.  I will have to try your Aunt’s recipe sometime.
     
    Take care.
     
    Beth

  5. g says:

    Yeah, we had a lot of teens and a few friends, and we had a good time.
     
    g.j.

  6. Raven says:

    Now Bob, did any of the tequila make it in the dipping sauce?  You posted each recipe twice, or am I seeing double?  I have issues with the 4th of July, so I boycott participating in anything of a "traditional" nature.  I’m such a pain!!  I did watch several episodes of Mythbusters though, can’t figure out why someone wouldn’t just lick the flag pole right off the bat, I would have!  Oh great, now I’m going to be known as a pole licker as well….
    I’m off to see what’s being cleared out after another misguided and historically incorrect american holiday…
    XO~*R*~

  7. Angie says:

    right on, right on!!! it’s good to know your spirits are still flying as high as the fireworks were last night!!!!

  8. Dr says:

    I will be trying the rice recipe! I’m always on the look-out for new stuff to cook! 🙂 And the butter lime tequillia dip sounds awesome! And as far as your 4th, sounds idea to me! Mythbusters and Monk! It can’t get much better than that! 🙂

  9. Jean says:

    Sounds like an excellent 4th! I had a good one, too! Hope your whole week is going well, and the dogs have recovered! What does Bert think?
    hugs,
    jean

  10. KatSoup says:

    Tequilla dipping sauce – i’m in.  sounds great.  You are right home improvment entries hold my interest much more that sports.
    Crazy neighbors yea, everybody has em’ – but the hillbilly comment i take personally 😛
    you know my neighbor is an Elvis impersonator.  what a riot.

Leave a Reply

