What a DAY!!

Well,  The palm trees are gone and the sand man dumped his load!   Oh!  And the pics are in my photo album.  Also, the old spa is halfway filled with sand (waiting to be concreted over), the shed is almost up, the patio deck is finished and they will be starting to build the patio structure tomorrow.  Of course my backyard look like a bomb went off, but I’m hoping that by next Tuesday, the backyard will be completed.
 
Now back to the palm tree removal.  It was REALLY COOL!!!  They arrived at 7:30 and were gone by 12:30.  Neighbors lined the street and I was bouncing around like a madman taking photos!  They did an excellent job and were very friendly and professional.  The foreman was a no-nonsense ‘stud’ and his two helpers were unbeleivably strong!!   What a show!!  They even had a picnic in my front yard!  Thankfully, they cleaned up after themselves very well.  And the two crews did NOT fight!!  lol 
 
The ‘Sand Man’ was very cool!!  He parked his rig in the MIDDLE of the street, lowered his forklift so he could unload FOUR 1 cubic foot containers of sand and challenged  motorists to try to get around him!!   Needless to say, there was a huge traffic jam in front of the Serious house!   And btw, I think my contractor overdid it a little when he ordered the sand because the is ALOT left!!   I’m sure I’ll find someplace for him to put it!!
 
The next adventure will be having sprinklers and sod installed in the front yard, but because my ‘lawn-boy’ wants to spray Roundup on the existing lawn once a week for 4 weeks, this project will take awhile to get started.   We even considered synthetic grass because:
 
1)  It looks GREAT
 
2)  NO watereing or feeding
 
3)  NO mowing
 
4)  NO insects or disease
 
Problem…..  Costs $15,000!!  So sticking with the sod.
 
Enjoy the photoshow!  The pictures tell the story.  And I’ll be back tomorrow to post about my third dog,  Bonnie the Cairn Terrorist!!!
 
  
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What a DAY!!

  1. Raven says:

    NEXT TUESDAY!!  When we redid our yard it took months and months…..who did you have to sleep with to get that kind of service.  Shows us how much faster things get done when you pay for sex, I mean service.
    XXX~R

  2. Dr says:

    dang!! $15K for plastic grass?? That’s crazy! I’ve heard stories, too, about HOAs getting all angry when members change over to astroturf – I can’t figure out why… you’d think they’d be happy that someone in the association had a nice, green yard that always looked nice. pfft.
     
    I’m off to check out the tree removal pics! 🙂 (and looking forward to the "after" pictures of the yard as well!)

  3. Jude says:

    Wow!  Those pics were cool.  I initially thought the palm trees were much closer to the street than your house!!!!And there’s absolutely nothing wrong with foremen being "studs", I’ll have you know 😉 LOLHope you’re having a great week! 🙂

  4. Sue says:

    Wow, with all of that sand you’ll be the envy of all the cats in your neighborhood — they’ll think it’s a giant litter box!  There, that’s your happy thought for the day! HA!  Enjoy your new yard look! 

  5. Jade says:

    why take down the palms ?  so sad to see ’em all chopped up.
    Nice yard though!

  6. Stephanie says:

    Sue is right, my cats would LOVE all the sand.
    That huge chipper, shredder thing looks fun! BIG HUGS, Steph

  7. Jane says:

    You must be exhausted from taking all those pics!  😉
    Better than being exhausted from working too hard.
    Looks nice!

  8. Jess says:

    It was so sad seeing my tree get cut down….*sniffle*Soo…about how old is a 100 year old palm tree ya think ?
     
    I bet that they all thought you were nuts for taking so many pictures of them lmao .

  9. Steven says:

    I say YAY for getting rid of the palm tree…they just dont belong inland…and I’m especially glad SOCAL is down one palm tree there is about 5000 too many down there

Leave a Reply

