Lawn Boy… And The Rib Recipe

Ronaldo, aka Lawn Boy, arrived this morning with his crew to begin the long awaited sprinkler installation and sodding of our front yard.  Unlike DAD, on time and ready to work!  (Speaking of DAD, I’ve hired him to do another job, but nothing major!)  I’ve taken ‘before’ pics of the yard and will continue to until they are finished.  Hopefully they will be finished by the weekend, but who knows!
 
Now, the ribs Mrs Serious made yesterday were TOO GOOD!!!!!  We ate the remainder of them tonight and they were just as good!  They also are so easy to prepare and you don’t need a bbq!!  So here is the recipe from Gourmet magazine.
 
 
footnote:  Serves 4 to 6 as an Hors D’Oeuvre or 2 to 4 as an entree.  And if there is a more satisfying investment of 15 minutes, I have yet to find it!!
 
 
Orange Soy Baby Back Ribs
 
 
2 Racks baby back pork ribs (2 to 3 lbs total), cut into individual ribs
 
1/4 cup fresh squeezed orange juice
 
1/4 cup soy sauce
 
1/4 cup dark brown sugar
 
1/4 cup honey
 
1 teaspoon ground cumin
 
 
 
Put ribs in a large sealable platic bag.  Stir together orange juice, soy sauce, brown sugar, honey and cumin in a bowl until sugar is dissolved, then pour marinade over ribs in bag and seal bag, pressing out excess air.  Marinate ribs, chilled, turning bag after 30 minutes, for 1 hour total.
 
Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 375F.
 
Transfer ribs and marinade to a 13 by 9 inch baking dish and arrange ribs in 1 layer, not touching.  Roast ribs 30 minutes, then turn over ribs with tongs and continue roasting until they are tender and well browned and marinade is thick and syrupy, about 20 to 30 minutes more. 
 
 
I PROMISE that you will love them!!!!!
 
Have a Great Tuesday!
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lawn Boy… And The Rib Recipe

  1. Louise says:

    Hi Bob. Ohhh no internet connection and a smashing meal into the bargain lol, some things you can just do without eh. Now like good food cooked by a loving wife lets face it lol.
     
    Sorry I have been a bit quiet lately, lots of things going on and such and it’s not been easy to say the least. Have you sorted that livewriter thingy out yet cos you need to install the .NET framework thingy depending on what you are using before you can install that. Can’t remember if I had to on me toyboy but I know you have to on XP and what have ya, not that I could use it on me old man cos that was ancient and wouldn’t install it so I could never have livewriter lmao. If you go to the livewriter space then it should tell you on there I think if not gimme a yell cos I think I have some links in my faves someplace on me toyboy lol.
     
    I hope youre fit and well and you’re watching em lay that sod with a long cool glass in your hand. I’m having an entertaining day looking at a mass of toys strewn acroos te house and it’sd a nice sunny glorious day would you believe. Ohhhh the joys.
     
    (((BIG HUGS))) and bright blessings my friend xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 

  2. Jòi§eÿ says:

    How ’bout you just ship me pre-cooked ribs?  Sounds good to me.  We’re going to sod the back yard in the spring.  It’s a desert out there from 3 years straight from drought-like conditions.  All the rain this year won’t bring back dead grass, unfortunately.  Glad you’re doing well.  Stay out of trouble, now, ya hear?  Stay safe.

  3. ♥ Aimee says:

     oh way to go…now i am hungry…stomach is rumbling…i am never hungry in the morning…
    *~*   :o) smiles are contagious…  :o)  so pass one on …  :o)  soon the whole world will be smiling… :o)   *~*

  4. Kat says:

    Dude!! *wipes the drool off the computer* yer killin me with this recipe! gawdddddd i want ribs now….. 

  5. Angie says:

    oh- You’re just flat MEAN!!! LMAO~! love ribs! now- didn’t for quite some time- being a veggie head and all- gettin pregnant 6 years ago was the best thing for me! now I enjoy all sorts of things I was missing! 

  6. Cindy says:

    The ribs…actually the whole meal sounded wonderful.  We were just talking about doing ribs again so I copied the recipe for those Mrs S. made.  Too bad it’s just too hot here to even think of turning the oven on…but come winter, and we want ribs, I’ve got your recipe all tucked away in my trusty Word recipe file. 
     
    Have a good one!  C 

  7. Jane says:

    Good grief.  I get busy for a few days and I miss so much.  Love the Cabo pics.  What the heck – I LOVE Los Cabos!
    Also LOVE the fountain.  I can see that that was worth making the center of her decorating scheme.
    I am also impressed with your hard work while the cat was away.  I’m going to have to remember that next time I go on a chick trip – leave a LONG list of honey dos!  🙂
    And the ribs sound awesome.  My type of sauce, definitely.  Gad, I’m hungry all of a sudden.
    Good luck with your lawn and sprinkler system.  I’m sure it will look as great as the rest of your renos! 

  8. Sue says:

    Great sounding recipe—and I finally got it copied onto my recipes page.  I WILL try it, when it cools down some here—can’t even bake cookies in this heat.  Sounds like a winner, though…can’t wait to try it.  Love the fact that it is baked instead of barbequed.  Yum yum! 

  9. g says:

    Hi there!  Popping in to say hello.  Hope your week is going well.
     
    g.j.  

  10. TheSpeedofLife says:

    Well, I had to copy the recipe to try.  You made them sound so heavenly, we just have to try them!  I even posted a comment about it on my blog.  I figured out how to post via email let’s just hope I don’t get caught LOLOLOL

Leave a Reply

