Things Are Starting To Come Together…

 Spent the better part of the weekend moving things around, arranging the patio, deciding which of the old plants to keep and which ones to replace!!  Tomorrow I’ll be assembling 2 huge plant racks so I’ll have a place for my bonsai to nest.  It’s just been so hot!!  And hotter tomorrow!!!  I’ve been sweating like Dan Quayle at a spelling bee!!!  However, it’s rather cool under the patio roof with the ocean breezes blowing through, so I’ll be doing the assembling there!
 
We have eaten dinner every night on the patio since it was put up and it has been very pleasent.  We turn on some music and enjoy the cool of the evening.  My dogs seem to like it too!  I find them lying in it’s shade during the heat of the day.
 
Yesterday, Mrs S replaced ALL of the plants in our atrium and it looks much better!  My job is to keep them alive.  If any happen to die, I’ll blame her for ‘improper planting technique’! 
 
Bert the Turtle Update:
 
Old Bert (70 years old) has been very active recently!  I still haven’t placed his ‘girlfriend’ (the wood planter) in the yard yet and yes, we have had words!  I promised him THIS WEEK!!!  But in the meantime he has been pigging out!!  On a typical day he’s been eating 1/4 head of lettuce, 1/2 of a peach or nectarine and a few chunks of watermelon.  Not to mention the grass in the backyard!!  It’s difficult to tell if a turtle is getting fat but he sure seems happy!!  He still has his mind set on escaping though, no matter how well he is fed.  Whenever I open the back gate he comes ‘racing’ in an attempt to get out!!  He always has such a determined look on his little tortoise face, but a tortoise’s ‘racing’ is a human’s ‘slowly shuffling’, so his chances are nil!!  But darned if he doesn’t keep trying!  Maybe he just REALLY wants his ‘girlfriend’ back!!  My BAD!!
 
Maybe I’ll take pics of the atrium tomorrow and the patio with actual furniture on it!  Oh!!  And the new lawn seems to be growing!!  The schedule is to water it 3 times a day for a week, then twice a day for a week and finally once a day for the third week.  After that, a normal schedule of once every other day.  I have to wait a month until the first mowing and it should be pretty tall by then.  Now I have to find a mowing service.  One that only mows the same type of grass that I have.  It seems that there is a risk of seeds from other grasses being brought in otherwise!  And to quote my landscaper, "And we don’t want that now, do we??"  Now how ‘anal’ is that???  Anyhow, the search is on, but I have a month.  I’d do it myself except for my feet and my stoma which makes it very uncomfortable.  The backyard is enough for me…
 
So I guess that’s it!  An update from the Serious household!!!  Hope you all have a great week.  Try to stay cool and stay out of trouble!!!
 
Cya!!
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Things Are Starting To Come Together…

  1. Raven says:

    I have 2 tortoises (and a turtle), although the oldest of mine is only in her late 30’s.  How does Bert feel about younger women?  We could arrange a date for them.  I’m sure Tank would love a little somethin’ somethin’.  As for Gamera, well….it’s gender is as yet undetermined and Road Kill is a Red Eared slider, but possibly up for some variety in it’s life. 
    We don’t eat out on the patio as much as we’d like since Scout, the dog, is tall enough to rest his head on the patio table and pant dog breath all over our food…blech!
    I’m waiting on your jacuzzi…then I’ll bring the X-Rated and pineapple juice and it’ll be a party!!
    XXX~R  

  2. R U Serious says:

    Sounds good but I thought YOU were the X-Rated!!  Or was it ME!!  I get confused!  I have your riding crop around here somewhere!!  Mrs S has been practicing with it. 
     
    Let me give Bert some time with the planter firs!  It’s been awhile for the old guy!!
     
    xxx! RU
     

  3. Louise says:

    Hey Bob! Good to hear everythings going according to plan but you must get Berts bird sorted out for him cos you know what that sort of tension causes hehehehe. I think you ought to get an ad in the local paper for a female gardener, young fit and all that malarky and get her to use your equipment so then no seed transfer lol. Whens the hot tub coming eh??? I’d be tempted to nip roundif you had one of them and I could go see some of the sights while I’m there too lol.
     
    Jack the lads in Cocoa Beach right now jammy sod and he’s promised me he’ll get me some nice shells for me bathroom. Ohhh and me mums gonna go stand in front of the webcam on the pier so I can take some snaps of them to show them when they come back home lol.
     
    Hope you’re having a cracking week, gonna have to catch up soon ya know, missed that infectious laugh of yours. Hope me scruffy mates ok.
     
    (((BIG HUGS))) and bright blessings xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 

  4. Jane says:

    What a sweetie!  Thanks for the Anniversary card!  I am still baffled by how that has happened.  I mean I know I ramble but – 129 times?!
    We had a sweltering weekend, too!  98 – 100 degrees!  Ugh.  Nice and dry, though and pretty nice on the patio.  I’m a patio fan, too.  LOVE it out there.  But mine isn’t as nice as yours.  :o(
    Happy Monday! 

  5. EbonyWyvernDragon says:

    Awwww gee………… c’mon – put old Bertie’s girlfriend in the yard so he can play with her!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!  
     
    The atrium and patio sound so heavenly!!!!!!! Perhaps I shall lumber over …………………….
    The Ancient Winged One

  6. Jess says:

    Now see, you are just torturing Bert now, give him his woman back ! Ya big meanie ! Oh man I wish we could eat outside the damn heat index has been between 107 and 110 everyday, screw that ! Our lawn has needed mowing for a week now, but it’s too hot and then it keep storming so then it’s too wet ugh it’s just not pretty . I mean I guess I could get off my ass and do it now but, uhm, no.  

  7. Kat says:

    Berts gonna start humpin your leg if you dont bring his girlfriend back!!
    Or *gasp* your bonsai! 

  8. Kat says:

    Berts gonna start humpin your leg if you dont bring his girlfriend back!!
    Or *gasp* your bonsai! 

  9. Kat says:

    Berts gonna start humpin your leg if you dont bring his girlfriend back!!
    Or *gasp* your bonsai! 

  10. Kat says:

    oh gads..I think he humped my comment box! Look—->it had multiple orgasms!! 

  11. Kat says:

    oh gads..I think he humped my comment box! Look—->it had multiple orgasms!! 

  12. Kat says:

    oh gads..I think he humped my comment box! Look—->it had multiple orgasms!! 

  13. ♥ Aimee says:

     well much better than what i was doing…which was being hung over…can’t wait for the pictures…
    *~* :o) smiles are contagious… :o) so pass one on … :o) soon the whole world will be smiling… :o) *~*

  14. buttons says:

    OOh I’d love to eat out under the patio (well not under the patio!!!). But our lovely British summer isnt nice enough, we’ve had a few hot days (well hot for us anyways!) but the evenings get really chilly, if I sat out i’d have to put my vest on! When I say ‘vest’ its an under garment not a top! I know you lot call things differently over there!! lol.
     
    As for the tortoise sounds like the ideal pet to me, we have a goldfish (derek) and he is just as adventurous although he has been sulking at the back of his tank because I rearranged the bridge and stone thingy so now if he swims through it he bumps his head on the rocks! OOps!!
     
    Take care and hugs all round.
     
    Bert and Ethel have been upto no good, so have to blog about them again soon! 

  15. Cindy says:

    Is Bert a substitute for a lawn mower?
     
    Your whole spread sounds wonderful.  Glad you’re enjoying all the hard work. 

  16. Angie says:

    Sounds to me that everyone is rooting for poor ol’ Bert! ya know what they say Bob?!?! you are as young as you feel right? So buck up, and get him a little something something from something other than a planter box. How fun can that be getting splinters in yer bum?!? Or his case, his tail?!? LOL oh oh!!! get him a bunny rabbit! haha! that’s nice and soft! ha ha ha! LMAO! 

  17. Jane says:

    I thought gouchos were cowboys.
    I don’t know why you would entrust your ‘goods’ to someone with spurs. 

  18. Jane says:

    Oops, I mean gauchos.
    But probably I don’t know WHAT I mean. 

  19. Beth says:

    We used to have a patio, then we had a new porch added on the back.  There went the patio.  lol  Enjoy yours! 

  20. g says:

    Just thought I’d drop by to say hello.
     
    g.j. 

  21. MizAngie says:

     Poor Bert. After 70 years of captivitiy, though, he probably wouldn’t make it in the free world. Just like us humans, he doesn’t realize how good he has it!
     
    The patio sounds fabulous. One of these days I’m gonna build a back deck onto the house. But not today, and definitely not tomorrow…

  22. ZePp says:

    Well well… Maybe Bert just wants to get back out n sow some wild oats !!  He was MIA there for awhile. 😉
     
    Glad to hear the place is coming together.. a patio with ANY kinda breeze would be much welcome around here.  Been topping out in the high 90’s low 100’s all week. Suppose to be a lil break tomorrow with rain… but high 90’s or 100’s again the day after.  a brother cant get a break..lmao.
     
    Healing going along nicely. Figure only 8 more months or so to get my hand back to normal.
    And its ending in a lawsuit.. as much as I tried to avoid it.. looks like its in the hands of lawyers ( shudders )  I wont see any exttra money from it tho.. all the lady will have to do is declaire bankruptcy.. according to lawyers…  ( censored by MSN n the love of their lives.. COC )
     
    Thanks for dropping by !!!
     
    Peace
    ZePp

  23. Melissa says:

    you know… one day..the artard brought home a turtle he had seen crossing the highway while he was on route, we named him gooch…(i dont know why we named him that..but we did)…he was the most awesome pet ever…
     
    he ran away from home one night…..seriously…he had a lil place we set up for him outside, well part was outside..part was in a shed…but i mean, we had read all the books and made sure we did it right so that he wouldnt go and die on us…then one day..
     
    he was gone..just like that…
     
    i think..turtles are really fast..they just put on this "slow as a turtle " act to fool all of us…
     
    there really is more to the "turtle and the hare" story than we let ourselves believe…
     
    slow and steady wins the race..MY ASS!.. that turtle was packin some nos..i know it…
     
    sigh…
     
    *note to self*..stop drinking atleast ONE hour before posting comments…
     
    actually..i think this will be my only comment for today…
     
    LLET IT BE KNOWN!!
    this is the only comment melissa has posted on august…ummm…whatever today is..look up there or something for the date…
     
    yeah!..
     
    ill show myself out now…
     
    say hola to the mrs!
     
     
     
    *hiiiiiiiiii mrs serious!!!!!!*
     
     
     
    *grabs a piece of watermelon and walks out as RU Serious says somthing bout the watermelon belonging to …..*  (get it?? i didnt finish listening…hehe…)

  24. R U Serious says:

    Hiya Clep, it’s "Mrs"…oh heck y’all, just call me Becky…loved your blog you silly goose.  And you’re so right, them guys can haul!  (visual of me trying to tell the Spanish speaking workers  "Donde esta me tortuga???…es muy rapido…") when I found the gate wide open…Ok, new rule, you MUST drink before you blog or reply…hehehe…ok,ok…I know there’s some non drinkers out there!   But don’t you stay away so long, Melissa.  Cheers!  And to all the rest of you, love your comments…thanks for keeping my husband (oh, yeah, and me) so entertained! 

  25. Cheryl says:

    Poor Bert!  He just does not remember how bad it is out there in the real world.  He does not know how good he has it,  Well maybe he does not have it so good.  After all he lived under the house alone all that time.  Maybe it was not so bad out there after all.  I agree…you better watch out or he will be humping your leg.  Sounds like you have been keeping yourself busy and having cool nights.

  26. TheSpeedofLife says:

    You shouldn’t tease the poor turtle, give him girlfriend!!!  When you have a chance stop by and look at my photos.  I posted pics of my engine the stupid toyota people blew up! 

Leave a Reply

