Buzz’s Birthday!

 Well, as close as we can tell.  We think he’s like 4 or 5 but to us he is still 3.  As you may or may not know, Buzz is a rescue dog that we got from a city shelter two years ago.  When we got him he was totally covered with ticks, had a serious ear infection, and was infected with parvovirus and corona-virus.  He was in BAD shape! 
 
Our Vet encouraged us to give him back to the shelter because of all of his problems but we refused!!  He was just too nice of a dog a deserved another chance in life.  So we took him to our vet, but he refused to let Buzz enter thru the front door and instead made me enter him thru the back door.  Some Tick removal, some medications and much love later and Buzz was back to being a normal dog. 
 
At the time we still had Baker, who was a beautiful 13 year-old Sheltie who unfortunately was slowly dying.  He and Buzz became best of friends  but within a few months it was obvious that Baker needed to be put down.  The wonderful Vet that we have arranged it so that we could have the ‘putting down’ performed in our home.  Of course it was sad, but we felt it was much better for Baker and us!!  Buzz just sat and watched, not quite sure what was happening,
 
Fast forward 6 months.  Buzz wakes up and jumps out of bed.  We hear this horrible HOWL!!  Buzz cannot stand or move!! We gently bundle him up and rush to our Vet!!  After a thorough evaluation he tells ud that Buzz has ruptured 6 disks in his spine and blood is seeping into his spinal fluid!!  He gives us the address of an animal hospital, calls ahead and sends us on our way!
 
By now, Buzz is in great pain and howling!!   We get to the the hospital and are met by a very nice English doctor.  He performs a few X-rays and a CAT scan and comfirms that Buzz has indeed ruptured 4 or mose disks.  He then informs us that he can ‘repair’ Buzz’s spine with a "Spine Transplant" using plastic disks to replace the ruptured ones.    Hmmmm…..
 
Do we really want to do this??  And if so, WHY??
 
It’s only a dog that we have had for less than a year!! 
 
And the cost will be $4000!!! 
 
Are we crazy???????????????
 
Guess so…!
 
 
 
The surgery went perfectly!!  It took Buzz 4 months until he could even THINK about standing.  In the meantime he would drag his hind legs around so that his ‘knees’ (do dogs have knees?) and the top of his feet were always a bloody mess!  Our job was to hold his butt up in the morning and late afternoon so he could poop.  The wrap a towel around his waist, hold it up, and walk him.
 
After  4 weeks, not much progress had been made, although his doctor beleived that Buzz was healing nicely.
 
 
Then we had a brainstorm!!!  Mrs Serious’ cousin lives a few blocks away and he has a POOL!!  With hispermission, we took Buzz there and literally threw him in the pool!!  Amazingly, Buzz began swimming, and using his hind legs!!!  We let him swim around for 30 minutes that first day and when he came out, he Walked!!
 
Since then he has walked almost perfectly, although there’s still a little hitch in his giddyup!!
 
So today we are celebrating Buzz!!  For not only his birthday, but for being for one of the toughest guys I have ever known!!
 
Happy Birthday BUZZ!!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Buzz’s Birthday!

  1. Raven says:

    Now, I don’t speak dog, but Scout has assured me that this noise *ooooooohhhh  woof ooooooooohhhh* is Happy Birthday in dog.  So, Happy Birthday you tough little bugger!
    XXX~R 

  2. Raven says:

    Now, I don’t speak dog, but Scout has assured me that this noise *ooooooohhhh  woof ooooooooohhhh* is Happy Birthday in dog.  So, Happy Birthday you tough little bugger!
    XXX~R 

  3. Raven says:

    Now, I don’t speak dog, but Scout has assured me that this noise *ooooooohhhh  woof ooooooooohhhh* is Happy Birthday in dog.  So, Happy Birthday you tough little bugger!
    XXX~R 

  4. Raven says:

    No way!! I only touched the button once!! I swear!! 

  5. Laoch says:

    This is great stuff.  Well done.

  6. EbonyWyvernDragon says:

    What a DOG!!!!!!!!!!!
    Go Buzz!
     
    Funny he should recuperate in a pool – after a car accident a few years ago that did some damage to my back, that is exactly how I recovered full leg function – in a pool. Swimming is absolutely the best thing anyone with back trouble of any kind can do!
     
    BIG BIG hugs to Buzz

    the Other Dragon

  7. Cindy says:

     HAPYY BIRTHDAY BUZZ!
    What a tough little guy…
    And I promise to wear a hat when I go to the beach.
    (((Hugs)))
    Cindy

  8. Stephanie says:

    Happy Birthday Buzz! I hear you had a fun day with your mom and dad!
     
    He really is a very sweet dog, and so lucky that you guys found him. I tend to think things like this were meant to be. BIG HUGS, Steph 

  9. ♥ Aimee says:

    oh how sweet….happy birthday!!
    *~*   :o) smiles are very contagious…  :o) not to mention free…  :o)  so pass one on to anyone every chance that you get…  :o)  before you know it the whole world will be smiling because of you… :o)   *~*  

  10. Twila says:

    Happy BIRTHDAY BUZZ!  You deserve all the special treats that Dad will give ya’!
     
    We had a little dog, that we got from the pound years ago, that apparently did the same thing.  We don’t know how or when she got hurt, but she was MONTHS just draggin herself around the house.  She began to look like a sumo wrestler from using her front legs to pull herself around.  Anyway, long story short, several months after she got injured, we took her to the vet.  No $$ to do a surgery that would be iffy at best, so we took her home.  A month or so later she raised up on the couch one day, stretched, and just jumped down, quicker than I could stop her.  She was fine!  Just like that!  Amazing.  But it didn’t last long.  A few weeks later, she lost her back legs again and this time she just went down hill.  We finally had to have her put down.  Twas a sad day for both of us.  Took us weeks to come to grips with the decision that had to be made.  Haven’t had a pet since.  Well, except for the cats.  That’s another story.
     
    Regardless, just wanted to wish Buzz the VERY BEST on his big day!

  11. Jane says:

     Happy birthday, Buzz!! Tell your daddy that it’s customary for birthday dogs to receive a birthday filet mignon.  Don’t let him tell you that I made that up, either.  He’s just trying to be a cheapskate.
    Go Buzz!

  12. Sherrie says:

    Happy Birthday Buzz!!!!!!!  You and your wife are such warm loving people.  To give him such a happy home.  We had to put our Sarah girl down.  Wow, I think it’s been two years now, she used to lay at my feet when I was at my computer, she was the most beautiful, gentle girl, I’d listen to her quiet breathing, or sometimes her little noises as she’d dream her dreams……….I miss her terribly.  Oh dear………okay see it makes me weepy to think of her. She was 14, and had gotten very ill, after many dollars, and a month of trying to get her well, we realized that no matter what we tried, it was time to let her go.  For at least six months I couldn’t even go out my back door.  I avoided it like the plague, only using my front door.  We kept her in the backyard when we were at work, and the first thing I’d do upon coming home at the end of the day, was to let her in. 
     
    The other day, our son who just graduated high school, and is planning on attending college in March, asked us if we’d allow him to purchase a husky dog (our Sarah was a cross of Samoyd/Golden Lab).  Seeing how he is still living with us (thank goodness, lol I’m not ready for him to move out), he felt he should get our permission, as we’ll be the one caring for the dog while he’s away at school.  He started with his Dad, knowing full well he can pretty much wrap me around his finger.  His Dad agreed to allow it, but when he asked me I inquired "so tell me, once you’re done school, and ready to move away, will you take the dog?"  To which he replied that was his plan as long as he could find somewhere that allowed pets.  So I asked………"and what if by then, we have fallen in love with this dog…………..could you honestly take her away from us?"…………that was two weeks ago LOL he hasn’t answered me yet, perhaps she’ll remain his dog………..but always live with us………now THAT would be the answer to all our dreams 🙂
     
    Hope you are having a wonderful weekend ~hugs~ 

  13. Jade says:

    You and your wife are truely amazing people.
    The reason he is having a birthday is because of you.
    Big hugs !!!! 

  14. CAROL says:

    Sniff sniff what a swell wonderful story. Congrats to you all for being a great family and pet lovers to the nthhh degree. Rarely would people put out so much for a pooch they have hardly known that long. HAPPY BIRTHDAY to BUZZ for his fortitiude and luck at finding you and making you his master!!!    TAke care..   : ) 

  15. Kat says:

    Awwww, Happy Birthday–Buzz!!
    And a big hug to your wonderful parents 😀 

  16. נσℓιє мαє♥ says:

    Oh my gosh! That must have been such a tough time for everyone! How was his spine injured? Just jumping up from sleeping? 
     
    …………………………~:D

  17. Cin says:

    Something we have in common Bob.  I was so amazed when I started reading your story.  I knew I liked you.  Our female dog Charlotte ruptured a disk in her back a year ago this past June.  We took her to an emergency vet hospital.  The surgeon told us she had no feeling in her back legs or tail.  Northing in her hind quarters at all.  He said that even if he operated on her and removed the disk, she probably would never walk on her hind legs again.  We also are nuts…nuts about dogs that is, we of course went ahead with the surgery, ours was only $2800.  I stayed home with her for two weeks after the surgery…it was very sad.  She also wanted to start dragging her back end around.  The vet told us to try to keep her from doing this.  It was unbearable when I had to return to work after two weeks.  But life must go on.  We crated her while we were gone, so our other dog and her did not try to play together, plus we didn’t want her to move around on her own.  We also started her with a physical therapist and eventually starting swimming too.  The swimming was great, even though she wasn’t very fond of it.  Long story short she started walking on her own in October of last year.  It was slow progress, and we still have to help hold her up when she goes to the bathroom, but she is walking and for the most part doing her business outside.  She is not as active as she once was, but the miracle dog that nobody thought would walk again is walking.  We love her so very much as well as her brother, Bramwell.  They are litter mates and we have had them for four years.  They are five years old.  I have said this before and I will say it again…nobody loves you like your dog does…nobody.Damselfly Lady

  18. Jude says:

    Happy belated birthday to Buzz!  Hey, did I ever tell you that was my old cat’s name??  Mostly because she acted like she was ‘buzzed’ all the time!!! ROFLMAOHope all is well with you hun and that you’ve had a good weekend.  It’s been a weekend around here, that’s for sure. lolTake care and have a great week 🙂

  19. Cin says:

    It’s amazing…the photos of Buzz’ shaved back is exactly like my Charlotte looked when she had her back shaved. 🙂

  20. Gina says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Buzz! I’m a few days late, but the wish is still the same!
     
    What a great story Bob… Buzz was sure lucky to have you and your wife in his corner! :o)
     
    weimie

  21. Tracie says:

    Happy Birthday Buzz!  ANd many many more!   You are one lucky dog!   

  22. Tracie says:

    Happy Birthday Buzz!  ANd many many more!   You are one lucky dog!   

  23. Sanne says:

    Poor sweet Buzz…I’m glad that all turned out well for him.  He’s very fortunate to have you guys :o)
     
    Sanne

  24. Jay says:

    Hi Bob,
    I knew I liked you from the first time I popped into your space. Now I like you even better. I just read the story about Buzzs surgery. How lucky he is to have found people like you guys. I am a dog lover myself, and know that they are a very important part of the family. I used to keep a sign in the back window of my car that read  THE MORE I KNOW PEOPLE, THE MORE I LIKE MY DOGs. I had to add the s at the end, because we usually live with multiple dogs. At one time, I had four.  Three good sized, and one Yorkie. They are my kids. Usually shelter dogs. Each one has a different story. I once asked my husband which one he thought I loved the most.  He tried to guess.  I told him that it was which ever one I was cuddling at the time. Because when I hold any one of them, I just feel so much love for that animal. It’s wonderful that you had a vet kind enough to come to the house to gently take the life of your sheltie.  When my last friend Scruffy passed, the vet was kind enough to do the same for me. I didn’t want her last few moments of life to be in a cold unwelcomming environment. I wanted her to be comfortable and to feel safe. Dogs truly are our best friends. They love us unconditionally, they don’t care whether we are rich or poor, and they never judge us. And shelter dogs seem to know that they have been given a second chance. And they seem to know how lucky they are to be in a better place with people who truly love them. What they don’t know, is how lucky we are to have them in our lives. I hope Buzz lives a long, healthy and happy life. To a dog, I don’t think it is how long, but the quality of the time they have been given. If it has been good, I don’t think they mind saying good-by when the time comes. I hope that Buzz enjoys good health for a long, long time.
    Jay
          

Leave a Reply

