Chicago Transit Authority

Does the name ring a bell?  And I don’t mean the transit system in the fine city of Chicago.  I’m sure that most you have heard music from the group Chicago, but way back in the mid 60’s their first album came out and their name was indeed Chicago Transit Authority.  That first album is a classic but unfortunately the City of Chicago sued them and made them change their name to just Chicago.  (Loach!  Did you have something to do with that??)
 
This band was one of the first ‘horn’ bands along with ‘Blood, Sweat and Tears’ and ‘Tower of Power’.  But CTA was special for their musical abilities.  Especially the guitar player who could have played with any band he chose!
 
So this week I’ll be playing a few of my favorites from this album.
 
So, sorry if I annoy you or  drive you crazy but I plan to put selected songs from that album on my space this week. This was 60’s music at it’s best!!  And it could have been good 70’s music too. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Chicago Transit Authority

  1. Sanne says:

    Hmmm…nothing from Chicago yet…still Jimmy buffett.  That was an interesting piece of trivia though…I didn’t know that they started as Chicago Transit Authority.
    Hope your day is good…
     
    Sanne 

  2. Jess says:

     Ya know I think I’m one of the luckiest Moms in the world, my kids have taken a liking to some good music, 60’s 70’s included !
     
    I think we’ll BBQ today too, although I do have to buy more charcoal since Jay had a blast with the other bag and I spent 40 minutes picking up charcoal briquets out of the yard yesterday.

  3. Jade says:

    Chicago is still HOT!! They still got the moves onstage. 

  4. Stephanie says:

    Chicago was very hot in the late 70’s when I was in high school. I still love their music!
    Most of their songs bring back soooo many good memories. BIG HUGS, Steph 

  5. Stephanie says:

    Yep still Jimmy playin…. 

  6. Laoch says:

    Nice one.

  7. Jude says:

    I love Chicago!!!!  I’ll have to come back in IE and hear what you’ve got playing!Take care and talk soon 🙂

  8. Stephen says:

    Hi there Bob hope things are ok in your neck of the woods. Many thanks for the comment, much appreciated. I remember something about the lead singer accidently shooting himself or something like that in the seventies, is this correct or was it somebody else? Have a enjoyable week xx 

  9. EbonyWyvernDragon says:

    I remember the CTA…. they were very hot in the very late 60’s and all through the 70’s (as Chicago) and even the 80’s. "Color My World" was considered a standard for piano players like "Proud Mary" (Credence Clearwater Revival) was a standard for guitar players………. Loved BS&T too…… (David Clayton-Thomas era – "And When I Die").
    Thanks for the trip down memory lane…….
    Hugs
    the OtherDragon

  10. Stephanie says:

    I can hear it! Good choice!
    Ebony’s comment reminded me of all the dances I went to that played that song. It was a good "slow dance."
    I have some peaches left, but I’m thinking of making a fresh peach pie, instead of more jam… easier! lol BIG HUGS, Steph 

  11. Jane says:

    Wow, loved Chicago but never knew about the CTA phase.  I guess in the mid-60’s I was too involved with my fingerpainting to pay much attention to popular music.  I was more of a hokey pokey girl.  ;o) 

  12. Kat says:

     chicago rocks!

  13. Kat says:

     chicago rocks!

  14. Kat says:

     chicago rocks!

  15. Steve says:

     Thank you, thank you, and thank you.  The picture in my head is me sitting in my bedroom with my headphones (bulky) on. Listening to the very song on you blog.  I loved their horn section; it was my introduction of horns in rock and roll.

  16. Angie says:

    I’M BACK NOW!! AND BOY HAVE I BEEN MISSING OUT ON THE BOB BLOGS! BUT, SORRY TO SAY, AS MUCH AS YOU ARE LOVED, THE MOUNTAINS WERE INCREDIBLE THIS WEEKEND. COLORS CHANGING ALREADY (EARLY) AND HOW SAD I AM THAT SUMMER IS COMING TO AN END.
     
    MAYBE A TRIP TO CALI WHEN IT GETS TOO COLD FOR ME TO HANDLE HERE??? **WINKS**
    SO GLAD THAT YOU DIDN’T TAG ME LMAO!!!
     
    HOPE YOU ARE WELL SWEETIE! 

  17. Jean says:

    mmmmm. One of my fav CTA songs today. So many groups changed their names slightly back then, I didn’t know it was because they had to. Hope you had a good weekend!
    hugs,
    Jean 

  18. Beth says:

    Not too bad. 

  19. Greg says:

     
    Hi Bob,
    Thank you for stopping by my Bloggerville home.
    Well you have a pretty nice space too. I toughly enjoy the music by Chicago. Actually, went and put my headphones on to listen and enjoy.
    Yes, I can see how you have seen me out and about in Bloggerville. We have some of the same favorite spaces.
    I shall go read some more…
    Be well Bob come by and visit anytime, Greg
      

  20. Angie says:

    BTW Bob a roonie- I absolutely LOVE Calvin and Hobbes! One of me favorites for comics!!!!! I think my child might end up just like him!!! ** and that’s okay, right?**
     
    saw you came by- sorry I was at lunch- and not online to chitty chat chat with ya~! hope yer doing fantastica! 

  21. Mercy says:

    I miss Chi-town!!!hugs,Mercy

  22. Jane says:

    My back was dang skippy all weekend! Yay!  Four ibuprofens and an icyhot patch did the trick! 

  23. Bridget says:

    gotta love the songs that bring back memories…. have a great week!! 

  24. MizAngie says:

    Mmmmm…Chicago…Colour My World… GREAT music. I listened to CCR, Chicago, Bread, Eagles, and Peter Frampton alllll the time in the 70s.  Thanks for playing this music!!!

  25. Jude says:

    Hehehe…that was a good one, wasn’t it???  You’ve got to like a comedian who’s so…….expressive! ROFLMAOHope all is well with you.  Take care and talk soon 🙂

  26. Raven says:

    well Bob, to be honest, being a young thing of a mere 38 as of tomorrow, I do not remember the band you mention…PLUS…I like hip hop, metal, funk and anything to which I can dance dirty!  But thank you for the music history lesson just the same.  Did you enjoy the nice break in the heat we had today? It was gorgeous down here in Stepford.
    As for the sparring partners, they love it when I hit them, so I think I’ll continue even after the green belt is finally fastened around my waist!
    I’m a giver, what can I say?
    XXX~R 

  27. Louise says:

    Hi Bob, I remember Chicago too so all that must mean is I’m knocking on a bit lmao. Hope you’re fit and well and enjoying lifes joys. Still ain’t caught up with ya and I have a new cam too grrrrr. Maybe oneday eh hehehehe.
     
    (((BIG HUGS))) and loads of bright blessings xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx 

Leave a Reply

