Wildfire Update – Day 3

 
Well, I suppose it was inevitable.  They have just ordered the evacuation of the small mountain community of Crestline.  That’s where our mountain cabin is located.  I hope it survives, but I’m afraid that the Southern California mountains will never be the same after this.  So far 100+ homes have been destroyed in that area.  I’ll be back after I’ve had time to digest this news.
 
Just so everyone knows, we live an hour’s drive from the mountains where Crestline and Lake Arrowhead are located.  We live several miles from the ocean so we are in little danger.  However, we have many friends and neighbors who do live in the mountains and we are worried about them.
 
The firefighters are unbeleivable!!  Many of them have been on the firelines for 48 straight hours and then get to rest for 8 hours before going back at it.  They look beat but say that they can’t wait to get back to the fire.  I was at the grocery store today and talked to a few firemen from northern California.  They are here to replace out town’s firemen who are fighting those huge fires in San Diego.  My BIL is a fireman but I’m not sure what fire he’s working on. 
 
Many of the high schools here are closed so they can be used as shelters.  As of now, 370,000 have been evacuated and that is only the ‘mandatory’ ones.  There are voluntary, precautionary and mandatory evacuations.  The mandatory ones are when the police go door to door and TELL you to leave.  Sadly, some people refuse and are sorry later.  Crestline just became ‘mandatory’!  If you are watching updates, Crestline (our cabin) is being approached by the ‘Running Springs’ fire!  During fire season, (and yes, we have an actual season), they name the fires because there so many of them.  
 
As our governor used to say, I’ll Be Back!!!  
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
 
R U Serious reporting: Back with an update
 
One of the fires (The Santiago Fire which is closest to Raven and myself) is making a run for the Cleveland National Forest!  NOT GOOD!!  Here’s some background…
 

The Cleveland National Forest encompasses 460,000 acres (1900 km²) (720 sq. mi.), mostly of chaparral, with a few riparian areas. It is the southernmost National forest of California. It is administered by the United States Forest Service, a government agency within the United States Department of Agriculture. It is divided into Descanso, Palomar and Trabuco regional districts and is located in the counties of San Diego, Riverside, and Orange.

The Cleveland National Forest was the site of the beginning of the Cedar Fire, the largest wildfire in California history.

If this fire reaches the forest from the south, they might as well let it burn.  Very difficult terrain and totally parched brush.  But at least no homes there!  The Cedar Fire!!  I remember it from about 3 years ago.  Just as everyone had given up on containing it, it rained!!  That’s what we need, but fat chance!  If that fire reaches the forest, it will not be stopped.

Check out the link to the ‘Cedar Fire’.  It was Bad and we were lucky. 

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Just got the word that Homeland Security has arrived!!  God help us all!!!  Michael Chertoff??  Just give us the money and we’ll take care of the rest!!  NOT another Katrina!

 

As you may remember, tonight was the night of the big dinner party!  Well, since the wind has died down a little, it’s still on!!  Outdoors!  Things seem to be improving a little here and hopefully tomorrow will be much better!  Our cabin is still standing so we will see how that goes.

I’m not a wimp!  I consider myself a pretty tough guy!  Two tours in Viet Nam , blah. blah..  But I have been crying the past few days watching these people lose their homes and all that they owned!!  It just kills me to see such a tragedy!!  Mrs Serious and I have opened our home to anyone in California who needs shelter!!  We have already contacted the Red Cross.

OH Crap!!  The fire in Orange County has gotten HUGE!!  BAD…………..!!

Just when it looked like the winds had changed and the fires were starting to lay down….  Nope!!  The Santa Ana winds are howling again and the firefighters are running for their lives in several locations!  I am at least 20 miles away and the sky is red!!!  Looks like another day  of homes being lost and lives being threatened.  Looks like there will be a day 4 update too……

Cool story!!  Two firefighters came up to a house that was burning but had no water!!  The homeowner had left his garden hose out and connected , so they used it to put out the fire!!!  GREAT tip for homeowners!!  They have also been using pool water! 

I’m keeping a close watch on this fire in Orange County… the Santiago Fire.

It looks really bad in San Diego County!  500 homes lost and 400,000 people evactuated!  Pray for them… not me!

I hope tomorrow is a better day here.  Nite…….!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Wildfire Update – Day 3

  1. Isabelle says:

    OMG I don’t know what to say…….
     
    Well a question is hammering my head.
     
    Are you guys far from that mountain? I mean I don’t have the slightest idea where you are guys. I mean in California, is it?
     
    OMG that’s really terrible. I once heard that dynamite were used to extinguish fire. Is that true??? Can it be used in these fires?
     
    Something has to be done for the fauna and flora….. and all those people losing everything. Gosh, I wish some rain could help by falling.
     
    Pffff…. here we’ve got mild and nasty showers for the past two days. Summer is deffinely here……and somehow we too will have a drought and then the cyclonic period will start.
     
     
    Ah that really frustrating not to be of any use!!!!!:(
     
    Oh keep your dogs in the house as well as the tortoise. They sense danger from really far and I would not want them to run away and you going crazy looking for them!!!!
     
    Take care,
    Isa
    Ok Bob post more news as you get there and please answer the above question!
     
    Take care,
    Isa

  2. Gin says:

    I will be praying for ya’ll. I have been reading your blog for awhile now. I got the link off of Omahamomma’s blog. Wish i could send ya’ll some of this rain we have been getting but i know thats impossible. I will check back several times daily for updates.Stay safe and my thoughtsare with ya’ll.

  3. Raven says:

    Howdy Bob,
       The wind just won’t let up out here…who do we speak to about this again?  Sorry to hear about the Crestline evacuations.  Here’s some postive energy and good thoughts *blowing sparkly dust off of palm*….
    Keep me posted~R

  4. Angie says:

    Bob-
    This is not fun news to hear. We (lena wayback and I) were thinking about you today. If something does happen (and lets hope not) her and I are coming out there and rebuilding one for you!!!
    we’ve decided that even though the rusticness of things…we’re building it out of steel for you. I’ll get the drawings up for you asap, and Lena can bang real hard, and i’ll melt away with the torches!!! We’ll put up a swing set and plants lotsa lotsa trees for you!!! we’ll need another fan similar to the one on your porch……………..
     
    No, seriously, I am so sorry that you have to go through this because of the neglect of others. Arson is not something to joke about. Especially when so many others are in danger of losing everything they have worked for. This is something that I hope that at least if anything the winds STOP. They make fires so much worse than they already are. If you could at least get some of this cool weather we’re having………………………
    This sucks for all involved. 😦

     
     
     
     

  5. Jean says:

    Oh, Bob.. adding you all to my prayers, even more. I’m worried about Kate, too. You all need to move back closer to here! Of course, then I’d have to worry about you in tornado’s, wouldn’t I? It’s always something. Just make sure you cover your throat. That stuff’s awful to breathe. I hope your cabin is spared, and your friends are too, of course.
    hugs,
    Jean
     

  6. Lena says:

     
    I’m praying as hard as I can for you guys, but someone’s not listening!  Again, please stay safe.  Material things can be replaced.  Your loved ones cannot.  Hold them close and keep yourselves safe.
     
    I will wait til you aren’t bogged down with pesky wild fires to berate you for rejecting my invite *sniff*
     
    Seriously Bob, take care!
     

  7. Gina says:

    Be safe Bob. Just had to come see what the news is at this point in time.
     
    Oh, and thanks… I can now see your updates when they post on my homepage. :o)
    weimie

  8. Twila says:

    Ok Bob, I’m watching you.  Well, I’m checking in on ya’ anyway.  Good to see all is ok so far.  I have friends on Cotorro Way, near Rancho Bernardo.  I’m thinkin’ they’ve probably had to evacuate.  Thought I’d try to call them tonight.  You and the Mrs make danged sure that if they say get out, that you DO it!  Just take those dogs, Bert and your computer and get OUT!  No arguments allowed!  I’ll be back later to see if you’re still around.  Watch for ya’ on chat.

  9. Twila says:

    And oh, by the way Bob.  Did your dinner party get canceled due to the fires?  Or are you trying to carry on regardless?  Just realized that your party was set for tonight. 

  10. Cin says:

    Bob, take care of yourself and keep us updated. 

  11. CAROL says:

    THANK YOU for the updates and letting us know where abouts you are. With so many fires going on at once. I was panicked thinking it was near you all the time. Please take care and sorry about your friends and neighbors, Glad your cabin is okay so far.. Such tragedy is just horrific. I saw the hour long thing on ABC tonight.. sounds like they have it well in hand in San Diego at the stadium. There was no Katrina type things going on I could see..all was calm
    and they are taken care of. The GOVT will be caught again with their thumbs up their #$%% ..they are moving ahead
    to take care of the people. I do not have cable but I am monitoring the fires on internet and the news. I think if I had to see it all the time I would be GLUED to the tv night and day. Too much going on here for that.. take care both of you.. prayers..  : ) ^J^

  12. Isabelle says:

    If anybody knows the rain dance, please show up and just do it!!!!!
     
    Well, am happy the mountain cabin is still standing up…. and I want it to stay this way.
     
    The dinner is still on? Mmmmm….. that’s interesting. You guys are really a piece! GOOD!! Hope you enjoy yourself!
     
    Waiting for more news.
     
    Take care,
    Isa
     
     

  13. ♥ Aimee says:

    very sweet of you to open your home to the people in need….
    *~* :o) if you don’t have a smile to give… :o) I will give you one of mine… :o) *~*
     

Leave a Reply

