Late Update!

 

I just want to say one more thing about our brave firefighters.  The majority of them work for small town fire companies and DO NOT get paid extra for fighting wildfires!  Replacements are brought in from up north to cover their jobs while they tromp off into the hills and canyons, carrying hoses, shovels and axes,  to fight these fires under extreme conditions.  Carrying ‘Survivor Tents’ in case they are over run with flames, which 6 of them were.  They were trying to keep the flames from jumping a highway!  They are fine.  When I see some of them interviewed I can tell how dedicated they are and how much they love their jobs! They are truly our ‘Guardian Angels’!!
 
I just heard that the police found some sleezeball trying to start another fire and shot him DEAD!!! GOOD!!!!!
 
They are trying to do water drops tonight over Lake Arrowhead and the San Diego fires but it’s a very risky proposition.  At night and lots of smoke. The only good thing is that it is a pretty full moon tonight.  It’s so sad to see the reporters doing reports on their own burned down homes.  Sadly, a few of these fires are starting to rage yet again!!  1800 homes destroyed at last count.  Watching Larry King interview some firefighters and they can barely talk!!  They are just so exhausted!
 
Updating my Space with this fire thing has been exhausting but I wanted you all to know what was going on here!!  I visited alot of you tonight and commented and I will continue tomorrow. 
 
1 Million people have been evacuated now! 
 
Holy Crap!!  Looking at the San Diego fire!!  WAY out of control, and the injured firefighter count is up to 35!
 
Take care MY friends!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Late Update!

  1. EbonyWyvernDragon says:

    I’ve been following these fires again this year. It seems they start every year ’round this time with devastating results….. Its sad to hear that there are people that actually start MORE fires to add to the disaster Mother Nature has wrought. We have a large data center in San Ramon – many people I work with work in this building – so we also get updates from them – and we worry about them – two years ago, the wildfires burned literally in the back yard……….very, very scary! It is good to know you and Mrs Serious are safe! Praying for all the Californians affected / potentially affected by this devastation.the OtherDragonWe have a large data center in San Ramon

  2. Isabelle says:

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! That’s the population of Mauritius! So it was true!!!! OMG!!!!!
     
    Well, I sincerely hope that guy was insane to do such a nasty thing!!! I’m sorry he was shot dead but may this help the example!!!!! Crazy some people are just crazy or SELFISH AND BITTER!!! No other explanation for such an act!!!
     
    Yes those firefighters are guardian angels and YES they DESERVE ALL RESPECT!!!!! BRAVO BRAVO!!!!!
     
    I wonder what all these people will do now. That’s terrible!!
     
    I simply wish I could do something to deserve all the THANKS you’ve sent me….. Well I hate to be helpless…..
     
    At least you could do something by hosting the some people and helping Red Cross. From here that is so difficult to help!!!! Grrrrrrrr
     
    Only thing I can do is to pray for all the people and the animals……

  3. Steve says:

    Thanks for the update.  I know you too are tired and worried.  Many of our friends are going to your blogs for an update post on the fires.  I would like to offer, for me, that id the fires are stressing you, not only you but your friends and neighbors, to take time out for yourself.  Do you know if there are any other spaces friends out I your area that are blogging as you are?  If so, I would like there URL I foe their spaces to keep up of their information on the fires that are not being covered by the TV and other media news.  My hat goes to you and other bloggers for staying I touch with all of the other bloggers.  Thank you.  Stay safe and take care.  Peace  J

  4. KatSoup says:

    Hi Bob, This song is much better 🙂
    I come here several times a day for an update on things.  My friend in woodland hills hasnt answered her phone in 2 days.  Do you happen to know about woodland hills?  She lives on Ventura Blvd.
     
    I am glad to hear that you and the pets are safe,  so far.  I know there is still a long battle ahead to get them under control.  I’m sure you are exhausted keepeing up with updates and worring about friends of your own. 
     
    You and Mrs. Serious take care.

  5. Sue says:

    Great news that your cabin survived and that you are still all OK.  Hope the weather does indeed cool down and the winds give up.  I know several firefighters who headed from our neck of the woods down south to the fires.  We’ll keeping hoping they all come back safe and sound!

  6. Angie says:

    Yes Bob,
    That is me with the tea cup- But that is a picture taken in 1997!!! I have been used to my hair being long, but yes, last night choppy chop!! It’s short now!
    I’m so sad over this fire crap. and then an earthquake too!! F**king HEll!!! when will it end???
     
    (((((hugs)))))
    I hope you’re safe!

  7. Jeanie says:

    Bob,  It’s been a while since I’ve been around, but good to know that you and Mrs. Serious are okay.  I have to say that I’m glad the officers shot the potential arsonist.  Twisted minds think alike.  I applaud the firefighters also since I’m married to one. Take care, okay? 

  8. Jane says:

    Wow… one million people.  I don’t even know what to say anymore.

  9. scarlette says:

    Hi Bob
    I’m glad you are ok, but I’m so sorry about the fires. IT must be really awful for you.
    Thinking about you all
     
    Lots of love
    Scarlette
    xx

  10. Isabelle says:

    Any good news?
     
    Take care,
    Isa

  11. Jess says:

    You guys have been in my thoughts every single day ! I am so glad that even though your cabin os gone, that you are still safe ! My sister in law and family live in Carlsbad and have been keeping us updated as well. I’m thinking of all of you in SoCal, especially the firefighters who are working so hard and relentlessly !
     
    xoxo
     
    Jess

  12. Raven says:

    I’m DONE!!! Done done done….can I come up and sit on your new porch now?  I’m sick of being indoors and we have so much smoke down here it’s like living in an ash tray.  Our visibility is non-existent…ashes everywhere, lungs burn, schools are closed today…
    ok, sorry to vent. I’m ok now, thanks for listening.
    XXX~R

  13. Linda says:

    Hi!
    Found you via another blog
    I agree with you about the fires/firfighters/smoke jumpers, etc…
    2 of my FF friends from Winepeg, Manitoba spent the summer of 2006 in California fighting fires.  I have a ton of pictures they took & sent to me…pretty harsh conditions & long days….smetimes they slept on the ground in sleeping bags without tents – they said it was frightening when you hear the aimals screaming as the woods burning – then there was the guy who dosn’t like snakes;he was worried about one gettig into his bag!!!

  14. Shannon says:

    Bob,
     
    I appreciate for your kind words. 
    I am glad you are safe and will be checking in often to see if there is an update. 
    Stay safe,
     
    ~Shannon
     

  15. Lena says:

     
    WTF?  As if the fires weren’t bad enough, Mother Nature decided to rock what’s left.  Shake and Bake 😦
     
    ‘Tween you and me, Bob, Mama Nature hasn’t been getting it lately.  She’s horny and bitchy and she’s taking it out on California.  Give that bitch some chocolate.
     
    Seriously……what makes people tick?  Who would sit and watch all of this devastation and decide, wow, that’s not enough, I think I’ll go start another fire.  I’m glad he was shot dead.  I just hope the fuckwad suffered for a few minutes first.  I hate people.  I’m running away.  Fly me to the moon….
     
    Take care of yourselves!
     

  16. Laoch says:

    Very scary.  Be careful

Leave a Reply

