Last Fire Update… I Hope!

 
Well, I’m hoping that this is my last wildfire update!  The fires are moving east, and south towards Mexico.  They have a much different policy there regarding wildfires…. Let It Burn!  Besides the fact that their houses are crap along the border, the idea is that there will not be brush to burn next year.  If you really think about it, it’s a very natural thing!  The problem here is that we in California insist on building our houses in places we should not be!!  And then we rebuild when they are destroyed!!
 
If we get alot of rain this winter, there will be many mudslides and more houses will be lost.  The weather ‘experts’ say that we are in for a mild winter, weathwise, so you know what that means!!  Torrential downpours!!
 
Anyhow, tomorrow I’ll be going back to my usual inane posts!!  I wish you ALL a fantastic weekend!!  Do something FUN!!!!
 
Love you guys,
Bob~
 
PS:  The Santiago Canyon fire near myself and Raven, in Orange County, have flared up again BIG TIME!!  DAMMIT!!  It was 30% contained but now it is out of control…. again!!  And the ‘Running Springs’ fire near our cabin has changed directions and is racing back to Crestline!!  I HATE this!!!!!  Crestline is OK for now but authorities are saying not to get too comfortable!!  ARRRGGGGHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
To be honest?  This whole ordeal is stressing me VERY much!!  I guess it’s because it’s hapenning HERE and I can see what’s going on!!  I’m sure that Raven would agree!  Plus I have family and friends who have been in great jeopardy!!  People who have lost their homes are saying that they are going to rebuild on the same property!  I know it sounds crazy, but since all of the brush is gone, they own the land and it will be 10 years, at least, before fires return, why not!!  Not that WE would!!  The thing is, WHY wouuld you live in an area where there is a big fire danger PLUS mudslides?  But then again, I live here, and know that a BIG earthquake will hit us eventually!  Wanna buy some oceanfront property in Nevada??  LOL!
 
I’m Gone!!  Nite!
 
Guess I’ll have a Day 7 Update tomorrow……  Hope you like the song..  Vince Gill
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Last Fire Update… I Hope!

  1. Shannon says:

    Incredible!
    Yet, we all continue to remain in the same "comfortable"places, unsure of where to turn.
    ~Shannon

  2. Isabelle says:

    No thanks for the Nevada proposition.
     
    I prefer my little island that can be subject to tsunami, volcano eruption and earthquake and cyclones.
     
    Still we are lucky here…. for the time being….
     
    Well, I just that Mother Earth has the right to speak her mind once in a while…. even if we disagree we are just humans.
     
    I guess there is not much to add.
     
    Just be careful with what you know should be coming up.
     
    Take good care of you and Mrs. S and the doggies and horny tortoise and bonsai…..
     
    Hugs,
    Isa

  3. Shannon says:

    Bob,
     
    You and The Mrs are constantly on my mind.
    Stay safe…as safe as possible.
    Hopefully the day will bring relief, finally??
     
    ~Shannon

  4. Sue says:

    We see RAIN in your future!  According to the weather reports up here in No. CA, there should be RAIN where you are and sprinkles coming our way as well.  We can only hope.  I personally think it is insane to rebuild on land where wildfires or floods or anything like that happens UNLESS you are able to build a weather-proof, earthquake-proof, and fire-proof dwelling.  I feel sorry for those people in New Orleans who are rebuilding, what with the dams still not guaranteed to hold back an onslaught of water.  Hurricanes will strike there again —almost guaranteed!  We’ve been looking into building a geometric dome here, which is great for all kinds of bad weather situations (esp. wind and rain) and nearly entirely fire-proof!  Sounds ideal, don’t you think?

  5. Raven says:

    I saw blue sky yesterday, the first time in 5 days.  The smoke from the fires seemed to part just momentarily.  This morning the dimwit weathermen predict rain…that falls into the "I’ll believe it when I see it" clause, but goddesss knows we need it!!
     
    I’m spent too….mentally exhausted.  I have family in San Diego and my best friend in Trabuco Canyon, and the Serious mountain escape cabin in Crestline, all of which HAD BETTER be safe!! 
     
    Now, I’m going to go outside and shake my fist at the sky.  I’ve done everything else I can think to do.
    XXX~R

  6. TheSpeedofLife says:

    Incredible pictures!!  I didn’t realize how busy you’ve been this past week.  For some odd reason I was thinking you lived in Arizona…..so it was a surprise to read about all the fire activity.  So is your cabin still standing??  Take Care!

  7. Laoch says:

    I wish was at Santa Anita’s Racetrack

Leave a Reply

