It Is Finished!

Today went very well.  Actually much better than expected!  I was able to walk, unassisted, from the car to to the dental chair and back again.  I thought that this was pretty amazing until it was revealed to me that during the first visit (unbeknownst to me) I was given 2 EXTRA pills while I was in the chair!!  Apparently I looked nervous.  No wonder I had to be dragged to the car and then slept for 7 hours!!
 
Anyhow, today everything went smoothly.  I did wake up during the last half hour but by then the heavy lifting had been finished.  The root canals have been performed and the tungsten tubular implants have been… well, implanted.  They are threaded on the inside and will eventually have posts screwed into them onto which the dentures will snap on to.  They also thread into the jawbone.  He decided to add two additional root canals/implants at NO CHARGE so the the dentures will be held in place even stronger.  Something about Merry Christmas! LOL  This dentist is sooo cool!
 
Now it’s just a matter of waiting for my gums to heal and shrink until I get the permanent ones, both top and bottom.  For some reason these lower gums are hurting ALOT more than the upper ones did… my jaws too!  (must have been the four root canals).  But he prescribed Vicodin (YAY!) and it seem to be working very well.  I have temporary dentures but at this point they don’t fit all that well and tend to flop around quite a bit (The upper ones are fine since I’m able to use adhesive).  However he insists that I wear them 24/7, yes even to bed, but there is no way I can eat while wearing them.  So it looks like lots of yogurt, oatmeal, soup, etc for the next week or so.  I just hope I don’t swallow them in my sleep!!!! 
 
I’m taking it easy this weekend and will be around to visit all of you
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It Is Finished!

  1. Cindy says:

    Hi Bob,
    I’m glad it well for you, sorry about the pain though.
    I hope it goes away for you sson.
    Take care and have a great weekend.
    (((Hugs)))
    Cindy

  2. Cindy says:

    Sorry about that you know I meant SOON, right?….LOL!

  3. Louise says:

    Hi Bob! Well I’m sure you’ll be looking even younger when they are all done and healed and fixed and complete and no more messing about. The things we do eh lol. You take it easy you hear! I’m dropping to bits atthe moment and feeling proper ugh but I think it’s me age, me mums 60 today and lordy only 102 days until I am 40. I’m sure instead of life beginning then the bottoms gonna drop out lmao.
     
    Have a relaxing weekend nd enjoy the jelly and icecream pmsl.
     
    (((BIG HUGS))) and loads of bright blessings xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  4. Jade says:

    Remember "Jaws" from the bond movies? You will have bionic chompers, able to bite through anything!

  5. Sue says:

    Just be glad they put you under for all that work!  Having trouble keep my little cat, Caruso, off my lap while I’m at the computer—I think he wants to say HI.  He’s a real lover, this one.  So, if you’re going to have to drink your meals for a while, ask for the good stuff—-ice cream, milk shakes, floats….yum!  Happy healing!

  6. Lynn says:

    Hooray for Vicodin!  Boy are you going to get the Google hits now, Bob.  I hope it keeps the pain at bay.  Take it easy, really, not just when you aren’t feeling so great, I know doc’s orders are to stay down for a while, or at least they always are for my extractions and dental work.
    Hey, there are lots of soft, yummy foods.  Spoil yourself a little, think of how many pounds of teeth you’ve probably lost!  A couple at least! ;]

  7. ♥ Aimee says:

    lol…you will feel better in no time…
    *~* :o) because you shared your smile… :o) someones day got brighter.. :o) *~*

  8. Lena says:

     
    make sure ya post a pic when all is healed!  Give us a pearly white toothy cheesy grin, will ya?
     
    Hugs!

  9. David says:

    I am going to get Vicodin (maybe) when they gouge out my eyes – had it once before and it was way cool.  Glad it all went well – it is so good to get something like that out of the way.  Wearing the dentures 24/7 sounds like Hell.  I am not sure i could sleep with something in my mouth like that.

Leave a Reply

