Staples Center Fun

We just arrived home from Staples Center and yes, although the Lakers game started at 6:30 and it is now 11:30, we all had a great time!  It was a much longer drive than usual and Downtown L.A. was even worse than usual.  It seems that Staples was overbooked tonight.  Not only was there a basketball game there but also the American Music Awards and a car show.  I was driving along, bumper to bumper in the in the extreme right lane when my trusty navigator (Mrs S) informs me that I need to be FIVE LANES to the left.  So after ticking about 30 other drivers off and making it there I hear the dreaded words, ‘Oops!!  You were in the correct lane to begin with!!’  Angry   So after ticking another 30 drivers off I make it back to my original lane… only to find that our lot has been taken over by the Music Awards and our ‘temporary’ lot is 3 blocks THE OTHER WAY!!  The reason for the long drive was all about logistics.  Normally we can drive from our beach community to Staples in 30 minutes, but tonight we invited Mrs S’ mom and dad and thay live in the dreaded Valley.  Beach to Valley to Downtown, as it turns out, is a 90 minute drive, one way. (I don’t think I want to be the designated driver anymore Sad  
 
But once we got there it was a blast!!  Her folks hadn’t been to Downtown in decades and had never been to Staples ever.  Great food, good company and a table overlooking the court.
Staples 007
 
Here is a view from farther back.
Staples 008
It really is a beautiful arena.  For dinner it was juicy, tender steaks all around along with some appetizers and huge side dishes that we shared. Note the 4lb baked potato!!  And those brown crispy looking things in the center were the BEST Deep fried onion rings EVER!!
Me and FIL
Me and FIL
 
Staples2 012
Mrs S and MIL
 
Staples 005
Group shot
 
After dessert (carmalized pineapple upsidedown cake that we shared… YUM!) Mrs S insisted that I pose for a few ‘toothy grin’ pics, so here goes.
 
Staples 006
 
Staples2 024
 
As you can see, I’m still not quite comfortable with these teeth OR smiling but that will come in time, I suppose.
 
All in all we had a fabulous time but once a monty or so is enough for me.  Mrs S however will be returning
tomorrow with customers in tow for a Clippers game.  I’m just glad that I’m NOT driving!
 
Oh, and the Lakers won 106 to 78
 
 
This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Staples Center Fun

  1. Raven says:

    What a great way to spend a gorgeous California evening!  And..the teeth are FAB!  Looks like fun was in abundance tonight, what’s not to love about that! Anything else I can end with an exclamation point?  No? Ok then…I’m off to bed! (couldn’t resist, I do love my bed)
    XXX~R

  2. Jude says:

    Holy crap!!!!  I’m amazed that the Staples Centre has enough space to fit three events!!!!!  Sheesh, I really do live in the boonies, don’t I???  LMAO
     
    Glad to hear you had a wonderful time (aside from the traffic, of course!)
     
    Take care and talk soon 🙂

  3. Lena says:

     
    Looks like lotsa fun.  Ya smile looks mahvelous, Bob!  Get comfy with smiling, cuz ya do it well.
     
    Hugs.
     

  4. Xu says:

    It is so enjpyable to watch a match with delious food and drink :   )

  5. Kat says:

    Ugh. The drive sounded hellacious–but your smile with yer new chompers looks fantabulous! 😀 WOO!
    Were you able to chomp on steak??? Dang…*sigh* now I’m starving for baked potato and steak! *cries*
    You KNOW those are my favorite! 😀

  6. Kat says:

    Ugh. The drive sounded hellacious–but your smile with yer new chompers looks fantabulous! 😀 WOO!
    Were you able to chomp on steak??? Dang…*sigh* now I’m starving for baked potato and steak! *cries*
    You KNOW those are my favorite! 😀

  7. Kat says:

    Ugh. The drive sounded hellacious–but your smile with yer new chompers looks fantabulous! 😀 WOO!
    Were you able to chomp on steak??? Dang…*sigh* now I’m starving for baked potato and steak! *cries*
    You KNOW those are my favorite! 😀

  8. Jess says:

    Bob ! You are looking phenomenal ! Really I mean it ! I love the oops part, I do that too then I talk in circles until I get hubs believing that he made me mess up lmfao…DO NOT tell him I told you that dammit !
     
    I would love to go to a game and havee dinner and drinks at the same time…it’s like the best of both worlds !

  9. Angie says:

    Bob,
    You DO live in California- land of traffic hell!!!! LMAO! That sounds exactly like something I’d do! C’ept they’d be even more pissed off at the fact of seeing a Utah plate dive in and out of 12 lanes!!! tee hee!
    What fun though to have those seats! What a lucky man you is to have Mrs. S scoring the big deal! How fun! I’m lucky if I can afford a "pizza" and a "beer"!!
    Glad to see you smile- see- everyone loves that smile! says so below!!!
     
    cheers kid!

  10. Lynn says:

    Bob,
    WOW!  What a great smile you have!!!  Your dentist is a genius!!! 
    Sounds like you had a de-lovely time with the in-laws even if the drive was a nightmare, and oh, how we all envy you your dinner-side seating!  Lucky man!
     
    Thanks so much for the advice about the barking collar!  I’m getting one some day this week, Jack is driving us all mad, the bass-voiced bossy pants!  I really appreciate it!

  11. DragonBoy says:

     
    Mr Bob…. how the devil are you?… I feel like the prodigal son returning after a long trip away doing naughty things but then thinking….  there’s no place like Bob’s…. and returning again… hoping that I shall be received back with open arms and perhaps a plate of those onion rings that you had at the Lakers game cos they look good.
     
    So in recognition of your fine blogging skills I’m currently practicing my ‘Turn Around And Jump’ shot while typing this… It’s not going too well if I’m honest as I keep getting caught in the mouse wire and falling flat on my face… Bet Michael Jordan never had this trouble…
     
    Looks an amazing evening…  Good food, company and some sports… nothing could be finer than to be in carolina… except being at a Lakers game by the looks of it…
     
    Now I’m just waffling so I shall scoot but I shall try and return more often… I kinda miss the place…
     
    DB
     

  12. Jane says:

    ‘Once a monty’?  What the heck are you thinking about?  hehe
    Keep smilin’ Mr. Bob!

  13. _ says:

    Great pics.  Is Mrs. S’s company hiring?  I wouldn’t mind taking clients to the Verizon Centre here in town (DC).  But to go that often, I’d need to be on the company’s dime.

  14. MizAngie says:

    Your teeth and smile are beautimous! Congratulate your dentist for me.
     
    And, well, I WENT TO STAPLES, too!! Ummm…Staples Office Supply. Dammit!

  15. Laoch says:

    Looks like a great time!

  16. ~Special K~ says:

    Damn, Bob… that was a nice set-up! Um, it’ll take slightly longer than even 90 minutes for me to get there, but…ah.. if you have an extra ticket next time????Fantastic smile! Looks great.Have a great Thanksgiving! Enjoy the vacation.hugs and loveKim

  17. Twila says:

    WOW!  What a trip!  Good food, good folks, and a game too?  Couldn’t get any better could it?  Oh yeah, and a GREAT smile!  Loved the story of the trip to get there.  LMAO!  Especially since I did the same thing to David this past weekend, except we didn’t have 5 lanes of traffic to cross, just 3.  🙂  What would you expect?  It was Sheboygan for crying out loud.  🙂  Have a very happy and safe Thanksgiving Day!

  18. Isabelle says:

    What a charming smile!!!! What a charming guy!!!!
     
    Well, seems you had a great time to me apart from the lane episode! But hey it did made what came up worth the ride.
     
    Take care,
    Isa

  19. EbonyWyvernDragon says:

    You and the Missus look GREAT!!!!!!!!!!! Love your new choppers! (keep smiling!!!!!!!!!!!) I wish you and Mrs S the very best of Thanksgivings!Hugs,TurkeyDragon

  20. Sue says:

    Great Grin!  Sounds like you had great fun!  That stadium looks fantastic!  Does the restaurant go all the way around it?  Amazing.  No surprise about the traffic, though—good thing you are one of our great CA drivers!  Have a great Thanksgiving.

  21. CAROL says:

    Sounds like you had a blast.. about time too!!  HEy you look so happy stitting there. Nice to see the faces that go with the people. You all look so wonderful. Hope you have a ball up north. Prepare for some turkey too I bet you can eat it now! Safe trip!!  : )

  22. Silver says:

    HI bob ,looks like u had  a fabulous time there! the food looked good too! And sexy chompers!
    xx

  23. Cindy says:

    Nice smile! 😀
     

  24. Nooner™ says:

     
    Happy Thanksgiving, Bob
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  25. Beth says:

    Looks like you had a wonderful time.  The smile looks pretty good too.  I hope your Thanksgiving was peaceful and happy.

  26. Cin says:

    It sure looks like fun. I love basketball and to sit and eat while you are watching the game…wonderful. By the way, you look great with your new teeth…handsome even. Mrs. S. is a very lucky girl.It’s nice that you can spend time with your in-laws. I used to watch the Bucks back in the early 70’s on TV. Back in the day of Oscar Robertson and Lew Alcindor (Kareem Abdul-Jabbar). They were something.I also played basketball in high school. Loved it. When I first started playing, the girls rules were a little different than the boys basketball rules. We had a 30 second shot clock and we never took the ball out underneath the basket, even when it went out-of-bounds there, we took it out from the side lines. I think the rules changed when I was a junior in high school. Oh, and now the girls play with a smaller ball…we used the same size as the boys when I played.

  27. CAROL says:

    HI Bob.. saw about the fires on the news.. sending prayers that you and your place will be safe and that it wil be over quickly.  Take care..  : )

  28. George A says:

    Hi Bob hope you dont mind us dropping by uninvited we were jusy visiting our good friend Zeynep and decided to visit some of her friends,we have enjoyed our visit here,and will call again if thats OK with you,all the best from Maida & George,

  29. TheSpeedofLife says:

    Sometimes I forget while traveling not to count the time traveled by the miles.  Here, if you drive 20 miles it will take you about 20 minutes.  Sing with me "Wide open spaces………."

  30. Ice says:

    I am so glad to finally have you on my new blog!
     
    What fun you must have had this night.
    And 4 lb potatoes???
    YUMMMMM
     
    ~Ice

Leave a Reply

