All Quiet on the Eastern Front…

As in the East coast of the U.S…  New Jersery specifically…  where my mom and dad live.  I just got off the phone with them and are both doing great!  They finished putting up the storm windows this past weekend and spent the past few days winterizing the yard.  Tomorrow it’s back to remodeling the bathroom and finishing up some painting.  Not bad for being 87 years old!!!  I’m soooo glad that I have their genes!  Being alone, my mom wasn’t in the mood for cooking a turkey this year so they went to a diner… Yes, a diner!!  I used to love eating in those old diners and apparently their turkey dinner was pretty good. 
Diner
 
Back in California, things are returning to normal after the cabin trip.  More Santa Ana winds today but so far no fires.  Mrs Serious’ company has been begging her to take more vacation time before the end of the year.  Nice, Huh??  So she is leaving tomorrow to visit her sister in Phoenix (Yes, driving the Z!) until tuesday.  As for me, I have a ‘honey-do’ list in one hand and my party hat in the other… Hmmmm.  Decisions, decisions!!
MVC-002S
 
To prepare for her trip across the desert, she took her Nissan in for an oil change yesterday and since we only have one key for it, she decided to buy a spare one.  And it only cost $175!!!!!!!  WTH???  Apparently there is a computer chip built in to it and if it would have been lost, the cost for a new key AND a new ignition would have run around $750 so I guess it needed to be done.  Whatever happened to the good old days when you could have a spare car key made at Sears for $.50?  Now I feel 87!!!  LOL
 
I posted some cabin pics in a new photo album.  Hope you enjoy them!  As for me, I’m off to find a way to ‘accidently’ destroy that honey-do list!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to All Quiet on the Eastern Front…

  1. ZePp... says:

    Seriously… I dont believe this !!!!  I am the FIRST to post on one of your blogs for ONCE !!   LMAO
     
    All I can say I hope I am HALF that spry at 87.  Believe it or not its some of the old Truckstop food that I miss.
     
    Ahhh vacation .. I remember those … 😥  lol
     
    I hear you on the key thing… cost me $50 for each of my spares to my Harleys .. and $125 for a key to my moms Parkville.  I think the olny reason they still do house keys at Sears is because noone can "drive off" with your house  😉
     
    Psst… write out something for the Mrs Serious that she HAS to take with her…. accidently on the back of the honey do list   😉   😉
     
    Peace my friend
    ZePp

  2. Jude says:

    Hey there you…sounds like you might be a little busy this weekend, hey?  *cough, cough* lol
     
    Hope all is well with you and that you don’t get into too much trouble while the Mrs. is gone 😉  hehe
     
    Take care and talk soon 🙂

  3. Jade says:

    Doesn’t that woman ever stay home???!!!I saw something about new jersey & thought you better not come this way without seeing ME!!!The battery in my key died & the dealer was going to charge me $20 !! I went to the store & bought a new one for $4 & did it myself.-jerks.Ya! write her a "I’ll miss you, love you" note on the back of the list-! LOL!HUGS!

  4. Gina says:

    Decision? Really? I say go for the Party Hat dude!!! hehehehe

  5. Jill says:

    pretty sure that it’s suppose to be windy again today…….oops! there goes that list….and just when you were reading it on your porch trying to decide what you were going to tackle first….bummer!
     
    you should go to disneyland!  =D

  6. Beth says:

    Now Bob, you be good and do what is on your list.  Otherwise Santa will not be good to you!

  7. Sue says:

    Sometimes you can get keys done cheaper if you go through AAA, if you are a member.  Know how expensive they are, though.  Glad you’re back and your place is safe and sound (from the fires).  Come visit me sometime….

  8. Jane says:

    It’d be a shame if you accidentally flushed the list.  I’m sure MaDukes could give you some tips on that.

  9. CAROL says:

    HEh heh.. tell her the dogs ate the list or even better BERT took off with it.. .. too rich.. hah!  I will take a gander at your pics now and see what is what at the cabin.. OH BOB now you can live it like a KING in that houseall by yourself and don’t even have to get dressed up unless you want to…… fun…   HOLY MOLY a key costing that much well.. those olden days are longgggggggg gone!! Ours cost 99 cents.. SNOW due here tomorrow night.. YUCKO.. :  (

  10. Twila says:

    So she’s off and runnin’ and leaving you behind huh?  Well, ya’ know what they say…While the cat’s away…Here, gimme’ that ‘honey do’ list, I’ll flush it for ya’!  On second thought, maybe not.  ‘They’ also say ‘Idle hands are the Devil’s playground’.  I think she just wants to keep you busy so you don’t have time to get into any trouble.  Don’t you?  She’s just watchin’ out for you.  😉
     
    Love her Z car.  Truly I think Nissan makes some of the best cars on the road today.  I owned one years ago and it never gave us a bit of trouble until….we figured out the hard way that the timing belt should have been changed about 110,000 miles earlier!  Long story, expensive lesson.  😦  Anywho, I’d own another in a heartbeat if my budget would allow.
     
    Have a great weekend and don’t work too hard, cuz after all, ‘they’ also say, ‘All work and no play, makes Bob a dull boy!’  🙂

  11. ♥ Aimee says:

    ya those new keys get you everytime!!
    *~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*

  12. Isabelle says:

    5 ways to accidentally destroy a honey-do list
     
    (1) Leave the Honey-do list near the stove and near the fire outlet. It would be merrier to make a Feu de Joie out of it! Hihihi!
     
    (2) Spread a thick coat of dog on the list and let the dogs take care of the rest.
     
    (3) A do list makes an excellent kite! A create way to make your problems fly away. Ehrmmm…… use a rotten string!!!!
     
    (4) Slip the list in the luggage of Mrs. Serious and Bon Voyage!
     
    (5) Post the do list to your worst enemy!
     
    Hope you enjoyed! Could have found more senarios to help you get rid of your list but I will need to think about it!

  13. Isabelle says:

    5 ways to accidentally destroy a honey-do list
     
    (1) Leave the Honey-do list near the stove and near the fire outlet. It would be merrier to make a Feu de Joie out of it! Hihihi!
     
    (2) Spread a thick coat of dog on the list and let the dogs take care of the rest.
     
    (3) A do list makes an excellent kite! A create way to make your problems fly away. Ehrmmm…… use a rotten string!!!!
     
    (4) Slip the list in the luggage of Mrs. Serious and Bon Voyage!
     
    (5) Post the do list to your worst enemy!
     
    Hope you enjoyed! Could have found more senarios to help you get rid of your list but I will need to think about it!

  14. TheSpeedofLife says:

    Wow there really is a computer chip in there???  Just wait until John hears about THAT; he’ll be ranting and raving about "the good old days–cheap keys" in no time!

  15. Emmanuel says:

    nice car.

  16. Ice says:

    SWEET car!
    ~Ice

Leave a Reply

