..A Hard Rain’s Gonna fall….

Even more rain than from  the one last week.  This one is being labeled as an actual, bonifide ‘Winter Storm’!  No snow here of course, but LOTS or rain.  Looks like Thursday night into Monday. 
 
So yesterday was ‘batten down the hatches’ day:  moving plants around, covering things up, turning OFF the sprinklers, etc.  But my biggest chore involved actually getting off of my a$$ and… Working!  You see, we had a new backdoor installed last weekend.  It’s much better than the one it replaced.  Vinyl, insulated, double glass with blinds between the panes that tilt and raise, etc…   One problem though was that a new wood frame and threshold were installed too and they were unpainted wood!!  So I spent the day spackling, sanding, priming and painting.
Backdoor 001
 
Backdoor 003
 
But it turned out to be a perfect day for it!  Sunny, slight breeze and 75F… much nicer than it will be for the next 5 days.  So let this storm bring it’s worst!!!  And I’m sure it will.  Especially for the people in mudslide areas.  I know that they are getting prepared as best as they can but there’s only so much that can be done.
 
Today I  will be shopping for supplies, food for the weekend, a few Christmas gifts, scuba gear, Oh, and Christmas lights which will be put up AFTER the rain.  Now that I think of it, this would have been a good weekend to be snowed in at the cabin!  Maybe after the whole cable TV/computer connection problems are repaired.  I’m not going through that again!!
 
Stay safe and warm, and for all of my Jewish friends, Happy Hanukkah!!!
 
Hope you all like this song!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ..A Hard Rain’s Gonna fall….

  1. Lena says:

     
    I need to install a door like that with the lil doggy door…..for my son.  He’s the PRINCE of leaving doors open, and oil at $3.29/gallon it’s gonna be one long, expensive winter. Burrrrrrrrrrrrrr.
     
    Stay dry!  No, better yet…..live on the edge.  Go out in the rain and jump in the puddles.  It’s liberating!
     
    Hugs. 

  2. Jòi§eÿ says:

    You went shopping for Christmas gifts?  Whatcha buy me?  Huh?  Tell me!

  3. Jude says:

    Wanna swap???  Your rain for my snow and cold……c’mon it’s a fair trade 😉  LOL
    Batten down the hatches and stay dry, my friend!
    Take care and talk soon 🙂

  4. ♥ Aimee says:

    hey i will gladly give up our snow for your rain….
    *~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*

  5. Lynn says:

    Good luck with your weather this weekend, Bob.  Take Mrs. Serious and go out singing in the rain before it comes down too hard!

  6. Jade says:

    I don’t wanna be trapped in this 400 square foot place.
    It just started to snow here… sigh*

  7. KatSoup says:

    Snaaa-zzzzy door.  I’m still looking for rain here.
     
    I love the slippers emal.  LOVE IT! 
    I’m going to make you a pair.
    🙂

  8. Angie says:

    AWE-
    rain rain….go away…come again some other day………………………….***singing***
     
    ***********SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHWOOOOOOOOOOSHHHHHHHHHHHHHH******************
     
    zoomin by my friend Bob-a-roonie for a quick hello before the rain actually hits me in the face!
    Happy Friday –
     
    many hugs!

  9. MizAngie says:

    I wish Timber had a doggy door. I’m not sure he could figure it out, though. I have a baby gate between the utility room and the kitchen that he could step over if he chose to, but he doesn’t realize it. Ha!! My [really dumb] bulldog trained him before he died and it works to my benefit.
     
    Enjoy your rainy weekend. I recommend some candles, the sound of the rain on your new roof that doesn’t leak, and some quality time with Mrs. Serious. Ahhh, brings back memories of an old hay barn I once knew (sans candles)…

  10. Cindy says:

    Did somebody say ‘mudslide’?  Yummy!
     

  11. Raven says:

    YES!! Wait, what was the question?  Oh yeah…rain.  We had rain all night and off and on ALL DAY!  I DO control the weather, which is why the rain was over my house while I was at the beach taking a buttload of photos!  It’s good to be me.  Now, how are we coming on those Disneyland plans?  I NEED to see the holiday decorations!
    XXX~R

Leave a Reply

