Wrong!! yet again…

Yes!  Our weatherpersons have outdone themselves yet again!!  Remember my last blog about the HUGE winter storm that was on it’s way???  Well, we ended up getting 1/16th", and that’s being generous.  OH!!  And these same weatherpersons are now patting themselves on the back because they somehow kept the rain away!!  WHAT?????  IO want their jobs!  I can lick my finger, put it against the wind and do better than they do!
 
Thing is, I was planning to do lots of winter cooking today:  Homade soup and bread, tiramisu…  But I decided that even though it’s not rainy, I would cook anyhow!  The bread recipe is a secret one, but the soup recipe is posted below.
 
I’m SOOO glad that I took the time to paint that threshold under the backdoor!!  Those 7 drops of water that landed on it would have rotted it for sure.  I wanna move to Montana!!!Crying
 
I moved our ‘fake’ Christmas tree into the family room today.  Mrs Serious is in charge from here on, but I have to say that the angel at the top is bigger than half of the tree!!  I’ll take pics when it’s completed!  I thought that the dogs would be all over it but it seems that my Santa hat is really what they crave!! 
 
So here’s that recipe!!  (It’s REALLY good!)  Makes 4 servings as an entree and 8 as a soup
 
Ingredients:
 
1lb ground beef( or 20oz ground turkey) browned and drained
 
1 medium onion, chopped
 
1 cup celery, larged diced
 
1 cup carrots, sliced
 
2 cups potatoes cut into 1" chunks
 
2 (11.5oz) cans of V8 juice (one can Spicy, is desired)
 
15oz water
 
2 tsp salt and 2 tablespoons of sugar
 
 
Brown the ground meat in a large Dutch oven and drain.
 
Add the veggies and the liquid
 
Add the salt and Sugar
 
Bring to a low simmer and cook for 2 to 3 hours, barely covered, until veggies are tender.
 
 
At this point I like to add other ingredients such as chopped kale, corn, peas, etc!  I suggest kale!!  It’s a very healthy food!  As usual, it’s even better the second day!
 
Now how easy is that????  Now I want to know what your favorite winter meals are??
 
 
OH!!  The news is on!!  They are now saying that there MAY be some more rain tonight and tomorrow!!  PFFFFT!!!!!!
 
Have a great weekend!!  I’ll be here doing my Serious rain dance!  Here I go!!  Ungh!! Ungh!!  Wadda wadda!!!  Snerk!!  ‘OUCH!!"  ….. maybe tomorrow
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wrong!! yet again…

  1. Raven says:

    I don’t know what’s going on up there, but it has been raining really hard down here for the last two hours.  Of course I am responsible again seeing as I am having a blue kind of night.  But…I do love to fall asleep listening to the rain. 
    Head south!  Bring soup and secret bread!! 
    XXX~R

  2. Cindy says:

    Hi Bob,
    I make a stew with the same ingredients you use for your soup, but instead of dicing the potatos I mash them and pour the stew over them…..so yummy and comforting!

  3. Isabelle says:

    Bob when you make the Rain dance just give the right address!! That half rain dance got the rain hard in Raven’s section!!!LOL!! Now hey get rid of the coffee table in the lounge before swinging that hip of yours!!!! I would not lwant you to have another leg problem at this time of the year.
     
    Well, I’ve just found out that other guys could actually COOOOOOK! I can now drop my boyfriend and look for a smoke-free one because this is surely pissing me off so high when the little lies comes flying aroung as accompaniments to THE MAIN LIE!!! $#$*%$^%$^%&
     
    Ok Bob, If you know a nice smoke-free guy just give me his address. I’m about to do smoething here

  4. Laoch says:

    Best winter meal is cheese fondue!

  5. Sue says:

    Well, you should be getting some of that rain we had a couple of days ago.  It was working it’s way south.  We had quite a downpour for most of a day and night.  Hope you get some of it.  That soup sounds great!  Never thought about using V-8.  Will give it a try.  We have tons of Turkey stock from Thanksgiving to start with….

  6. Tracie says:

    Rain here, this time of year, makes ice which is not fun. 
     
    But it is snowing here today maybe 2-3 inches.  I’ll trade you states

  7. Becca says:

    Your soup sounds delicious! I love meatloaf and mushy (mashed) potatoes when it gets like this. We survived the rains and flooding weather and now the sun is out. I’ll take it!

  8. Cindy says:

    Tiramisu!!!  My fav!!
     
    I made a similar soup yesterday and we would have has biscuits with it but Dad sprayed oven cleaner in the oven and then forgot about it.  I come in and heat up the oven … then I open the door … a huge vapor cloud of poisonous fumes emerged.  Weird thing … it’s a self-cleaning oven. 
     

  9. Ice says:

    Oh YUM!
    I cannot wait to try this one.
    Favorite Winter Recipe?
    All comfort foods….but mainly soups and stews.
    ~Ice

  10. Ice says:

    Oh YUM!
    I cannot wait to try this one.
    Favorite Winter Recipe?
    All comfort foods….but mainly soups and stews.
    ~Ice

Leave a Reply

