Better late than never

Finally the rains have found the Serious house!!  It’s not like we were hiding!!  It must have been because the rain gods and goddesses were waiting until Mrs S had a fancy party to attend.  Or just maybe it was Raven finally letting go of the ‘rainfall powers’ that she possesses??  Whatever, it started with the wet stuff this afternoon and it is expected to continue off and on throughout the night! 
 
See???
Rainbow 002
Told ya!!!
 
Rainbow 003
 
Lucky neighbors… living at the end of the rainbow!
 
So tonight it’s just me and my crazy dogs, living high on the hog!!  Oh, hang on!  My TV dinner is done!
 
You know, TV dinners aren’t that bad nowadays, especially the ones from Stouffer’s and Marie Callender’s but I’ve yet to find a fish one that hasn’t made me gag!  I tend to stick with the pastas.  Now where was I??  Oh yeah, rain. 
 
No matter what the weatherman says, it always seems to elude me.  Like my little town is enclosed in some sort of rainproof bubble. And being the sucker that I am, I ALWAYS beleive what they say!  Dangle that carrot out there and ol’ Mr Serious will follow, and then listen to the sniggering that is sure to follow.  Just the slightest hint that there might be rain coming sends me into a frenzy of activity to insure that the dry things stay dry and the plants are positioned to receive their maximum rainage.  And of course, there’s nothing like the earthy smell of a wet dog!
 
But come to think of it, it might not be the actual rain that excites me but the glimmer of hope that our boring weather will actually change!!  I know what some of you are thinking… is he nuts???  Southern California has beautiful weather, it seems, nearly every day!  But as with everything else, too much of a good thing eventually gets B O R I N G!!!!  I was raised in New Jersey where the weather was always a crapshoot but at least there was variety and there were SEASONS!  Rain in the spring, changing leaf colors in the fall, snow in the winter and a summer that lasted the normal 4 or so months.  I miss that but not enought to move back there.  Maybe somewhere north but not too far east.  Any suggestions?  Seriously….
 
Enjoy your Sunday everyone
 
 
One more thing, for any of you who receive the Discovery channel, the series Planet Earth is an excellent and very entertaining program.  It was a tossup for me tonight between that and The History of Sex on the History channel.  But I beleive that at my age I can learn more by watching Planet Earth.  And besides, there is more than enough sex happening on this show!  Crazy lizards……
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Better late than never

  1. Raven says:

    I cut you a break with the rain seeing as I was at the Bren event center watching the UCI men’s basketball game with my kids and my dad.  I LOVED it!! But come on, a court filled with men over 6 feet tall…it was like my own personal paradise!  So you can thank me for the rain, but NOT with those slippers.  I will think of something….rest assured.
    XXX~R

  2. Louise says:

    the history of sex, typical lmao, mind like you say the other shows better for sex anyways, saw some slugs getting it on once on one of them shows and it was gorgeous to watch hehehe. Well I think I oughta send all this rain that weve been having Bob. Ohhh and you can have the cold and the biting wind too if you like hehehehe.
     
    Hope you have a good sunday Im working grrrrr.
     
    (((BIG HUGS))) and loads of bright blessings xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  3. Lena says:

     
    Let the sun shine
    let the sun shine in
    the sun shine in
     
    Beautiful rainbow though 🙂
     
    Hugs!!!
     
     

  4. Seth says:

    Hello to you from across the many miles… and snow banks!!!  Sorry that I have not paid your space a visit in a while.  As soon as I unthaw from these -36°C temps, I shall return to check your space out some more. 
    In the mean time… keep well my friend!
     
                     .——-.               ( #-. . . .’`\                \  #          |             _  )"====" | _           (_`"======"`_)             /`""""”’"""`\            |               o _o\            |                 (_>|             \            ‘.___/—#               ‘.          ;-._:’ \                 )`===| <)_/     __      .—""`==== `–‘ \__.’   `|            I made myself a snowman    /                       ()\            /            As perfect as could be.    \___ .. —               \ _  .-‘                I thought I’d keep it as a pet           |                    () |                      And let it sleep with me.              ;                         ;                      I made it some pajamas            \                  ()/                       And a pillow for its head.              \             ‘.  /                        Then, last night it ran away.          _.’`\             `;                   But first — it wet my damn bed!        (        `\            \_         \       .-`\            `\           \___)   `.______.’

  5. Jamie says:

    Hello there Mr. Serious.  Sorry I haven’t been around lately.  Things have been pretty busy and stressful.  I will have to blog about all that later.   If you want variety and change then you need to move to Kansas.   It can be 70 degress one minute then 30 minutes later drop to 30 and rain then another 20 minutes later it is 20 and snowing.  Then a couple days later it is back up to almost 70.   No wonder everyone in this state has sinus issues. 
     
    The year that my husband and I got married (April 17, 1999) the day before we were decorating the church and getting ready.  It started raining and I didn’t mind that.  Then a few minutes later it was sleeting.  I thought that was kinda wierd, but oh well.  Then we had about an inch of snow.  IN APRIL, SNOW.  Can you believe it.  I am so glad that I changed my mind from having an outdoors wedding to a church wedding. 
     
    Enjoy the rain and enjoy those TV Dinners!!!!
     
    Hugs!!!!

  6. Patsy says:

    Hi , just was out blog walking and through Janes site I found you.  Enjoyed your site.  I liked the rainbow, beautiful. Have a good week-end Pat
     

  7. CAROL says:

    WELL hey ho..move to MIchigan hehhehe. I know I know it’s too cold and too humid and well we got LAKES..
    lots of them and we are close to another country..Canada and oh yeah…the weather changes every dang five minutes it seems. What a wonderful place for variety… I think if I were you I would go to HAWAII now there is some really neat place to live…. Glad your roof is holding up in that downpour.. ; )    Take care..  : )

  8. CAROL says:

    WELL hey ho..move to MIchigan hehhehe. I know I know it’s too cold and too humid and well we got LAKES..
    lots of them and we are close to another country..Canada and oh yeah…the weather changes every dang five minutes it seems. What a wonderful place for variety… I think if I were you I would go to HAWAII now there is some really neat place to live…. Glad your roof is holding up in that downpour.. ; )    Take care..  : )

  9. CAROL says:

    WELL hey ho..move to MIchigan hehhehe. I know I know it’s too cold and too humid and well we got LAKES..
    lots of them and we are close to another country..Canada and oh yeah…the weather changes every dang five minutes it seems. What a wonderful place for variety… I think if I were you I would go to HAWAII now there is some really neat place to live…. Glad your roof is holding up in that downpour.. ; )    Take care..  : )

  10. CAROL says:

    WELL hey ho..move to MIchigan hehhehe. I know I know it’s too cold and too humid and well we got LAKES..
    lots of them and we are close to another country..Canada and oh yeah…the weather changes every dang five minutes it seems. What a wonderful place for variety… I think if I were you I would go to HAWAII now there is some really neat place to live…. Glad your roof is holding up in that downpour.. ; )    Take care..  : )

  11. CAROL says:

    WELL hey ho..move to MIchigan hehhehe. I know I know it’s too cold and too humid and well we got LAKES..
    lots of them and we are close to another country..Canada and oh yeah…the weather changes every dang five minutes it seems. What a wonderful place for variety… I think if I were you I would go to HAWAII now there is some really neat place to live…. Glad your roof is holding up in that downpour.. ; )    Take care..  : )

  12. CAROL says:

    WELL hey ho..move to MIchigan hehhehe. I know I know it’s too cold and too humid and well we got LAKES..
    lots of them and we are close to another country..Canada and oh yeah…the weather changes every dang five minutes it seems. What a wonderful place for variety… I think if I were you I would go to HAWAII now there is some really neat place to live…. Glad your roof is holding up in that downpour.. ; )    Take care..  : )

  13. MizAngie says:

    Try the Tony Cachere Cajun bowls. Mmmmm… I especially like the crawfish etouffe.
     
    And please, sir, don’t embarrass me again by talking about your lizard…{blush}

  14. Cindy says:

    The ‘Planet Earth’ series is INCREDIBLE.  Truly amazing, beautiful world we live in.  I highly recommend it. 
     

  15. Jane says:

    Here our rain has been white and fluffy… won’t slide off the driveway at all!  Lucky you – no shoveling!
    I LOVE microwave dinners.  Especially since I don’t have to officially cook.  What?  It requires work to open the boxes!

  16. Cheryl says:

    I can relate.  I live in perpetual summer 9 months of the year and then spring like weather but usually summer in the afternoons.  Now if you move here you will go through 6 months of looking for the hurriciane that will destroy everything you own and then you can live in a shelter and wait for FEMA to come to your aid and then get all worked up about the government and the beat goes on from there.  Maybe you should swap houses with another blogger and we can start something new to break the boredom.  I mean we would take on each others problems, families and friends during the awap.  I think they did a TV series on such a thing once.  I am not willing but there may be some who are.  I would love to go to Alaska but not for to long.  Only 6 hours of daylight there.

  17. WINDOW LIVE says:

    I remember when I lived in Long Beach 27 years ago.  It was hot and awful and it never rained that summer.  I went home to Kentucky for a visit in September and stepped off the plane and it was raining.  I had on cutoffs and a t-shirt and flip flops.  People thought I was crazy because I just stood there and let the rain fall on me.  Nice space btw.

  18. ZePp... says:

    LOVED Planet Earth on the first run of the series.. watched it every night !!
    Thinking of having Santa drop it off for me   😉
     
    Glad you finally recieved the the rain you have all been needing,
     
    Peace
    ZePp

  19. Cindy says:

    I’m sure others have said this too, but if you want some exciting weather, come on over to Wisconsin!  Man, we have about a foot of snow on the ground and it looks like there’s some kind of freezing rain coming down right now.  I will admit I love the changes in weather we have here…you could never describe it as boring!
     
    TV dinners…do you know of any good Mexican?  I’ve looked and looked and can’t seem to find anything except for frozen burritos…which aren’t too bad, but I want beans and rice and the rest of the stuff.
     
    Good luck with the music.

  20. Maribel says:

    nice pic of the rainbow, definitely much better than the one that showed up on my side of the world.

Leave a Reply

