Christmas Music… and none too soon!

Well, after all of this music talk, I thought it was about time that I actually put some Christmas music on my space.  But by now, you know me.  Not just ordinary Christmas music but obscure caroles from little-known artists!! 
 
Tonight is a familiar song performed by a Country singer that you or may not remember, or have never heard of.  John Berry has one of those voices that most male vocalists would kill to have!  I’m sure that he could have chosen whatever genre of music that he wanted too.  Unfortunately he injured his vocal cords permanently and has retired….. at 40!  My favorite non-country-sounding Country singer.
 
Mrs Serious and I finally got the tree put up and I would send you a photo, except she is embarassed because it’s a fake one and only about 4ft tall!!  But what do you expect from two people with no kids and hating the thought of a dead tree sitting in our living room, although I’m sure that the dogs would just love it!  I’ll take a photo when she’s asleep or not looking, which means pretty much anytime!
 
Dinner tonight was awesome!!  Actually , the whole thing started yesterday when I roasted a whole chicken-in-a-pot for dinner!!  With mashed potatoes, peas and gravy, it was VERY tasty on a cold night.  But my secret plan was to save the chicken carcass and make stock out of it.  Nothing like homemade chicken stock as a starter to another meal.  And that other meal tonight was Chicken and Dumplings!!!  My favorite!!  And SOOOO easy!!  I simply simmered the carcass in water with chunks of carrot, celery, onion and whatever herbs you like.  Strain out the broth and add new veggies along with chunks of the leftover chicken and you have a party in your mouth!!  When everything is cooked and tender, make up your dumpling mix (I use Bisquick) and simply drop spoonfuls into the pot!  Cook them for 10 minutes uncovered and the cover the pot for another 10 minutes and it’s DONE!!!!  It’s a great winter, one pot, meal!  You can add a little canned chicken broth too.  As an aside, Bisquick to me is like Duct tape and WD-40!!  Always there in a emergency, makes things easier and has so many uses!!
 
I guess I’ve rambled on enough, plus I have blog walking to do, so I’ll leave you all with one last thought: 
 
"Weaseling out of things is important to learn. It’s what separates us from the animals … except the weasel."
 
On that note….
 
Nite all!!!
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Christmas Music… and none too soon!

  1. Raven says:

    Oh just you wait until I put up my version of holiday music!!  Doomed!! Dooomed I say!  Did I say doomed?  Well….just making sure you know.  I stopped reading when I saw the word carcass.  Now, off to harrass some poor chap from So.Cal on messenger.  
    XXX~R

  2. R U Serious says:

    Raven:  I suppose that ‘chap’ would be ME????  LOL

  3. Cindy says:

    I love, love, LOVE John Berry’s voice on this song…..it brings tears to my eyes every time.
    Thankyou for palaying it for us.
    (((Hugs)))

  4. Isabelle says:

    Is anybody stress-fress or happy these days during this festive period for all the blogs i went to doesn’t seem to have fun!!! Weird!!!!!
     
    Byt hey the smell of that excellent dinner did drag me here!!!!! I know a lady who must be really happy to have here own personal chef at home.
     
    Take care,
    Isa

  5. Lena says:

     
    We have a fake tree too.  It’s the environmentally friendly thing to do 🙂
     
     

  6. Kat says:

    My tree is fake too! Beats the heck outta watering a tree that keeps falling over–spilling the water and needles everywhere!!
    and you KNOW you are Soooo going to pay for these words "I’ll take a photo when she’s asleep or not looking, which means pretty much anytime!"  when Mrs S. reads them!!! ha ha ha ha ha–now THAT I want a picture of!!
     
     

  7. Kat says:

    My tree is fake too! Beats the heck outta watering a tree that keeps falling over–spilling the water and needles everywhere!!
    and you KNOW you are Soooo going to pay for these words "I’ll take a photo when she’s asleep or not looking, which means pretty much anytime!"  when Mrs S. reads them!!! ha ha ha ha ha–now THAT I want a picture of!!
     
     

  8. Kat says:

    My tree is fake too! Beats the heck outta watering a tree that keeps falling over–spilling the water and needles everywhere!!
    and you KNOW you are Soooo going to pay for these words "I’ll take a photo when she’s asleep or not looking, which means pretty much anytime!"  when Mrs S. reads them!!! ha ha ha ha ha–now THAT I want a picture of!!
     
     

  9. ♥ Aimee says:

    ya…we really need to put up our tree…
    *~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*

  10. honeytex says:

    Out of lurking to let you know that song is my favorite, and John Berry is the voice I think of when I hear it by any other artist.  Thanks Bob

  11. Lynn says:

    I’ve always loved John Berry, and this song is just a showcase for his talents.
    I haven’t made Chicken and Dumplin’s in a while…gonna have to get on that, it IS a glorious one-pot meal, and Bisquik ROCKS!

  12. Jane says:

    Nothing wrong with a fake tree OR a 4′ tall tree.  Be proud, Bob!
    I love chicken and dumplings AND bisquick… never thought to use bisquick to make the dumplings, though.  Sheesh, I learn so much at Spaces.
    Don’t forget to rock around the Christmas tree!

  13. Jill says:

    chicken and dumplings — yummy!  my gramma made the BEST dumplings ever!  we had your soup last night…..thanks for sharing!

  14. _ says:

    My mama would make chicken and dumplin’s the same way.  I just stocked up on Bisquick yesterday.  To make sausage balls for the holidays.  It just ain’t Christmas without sausage balls.  P.S. great shots of the cabin.

  15. Greg says:

    Hi Bob …Yeah … Bisquick is like duct tape. It will fix a leak in a boat too. Well maybe not.I have a fake tree too less mess and besides they also now come lighted.Merry Christmas … I’ll be around before then … Go Utah Jazz!!!Greg

  16. Becca says:

    My tree is fake too, but it is beautiful, you see it on my blog, don’t be embarrassed! And chicken and dumplings sounds really good!
    Hugs,
    Becca

  17. g says:

    No tree for us this year.  Not in the mood.
     
    g.j.

  18. Laoch says:

    My cat likes to eat my artificial tree!

  19. Ann says:

    Okay, well, this is why I don’t like to cook.  I mean, I truly like chicken & dumplings, but something about a carcass and chunks just is, well, eeyyywww.  lol  I really came over here from Weimies’ to laugh about you "watching your wife decorate the tree and telling her where to place the ornaments"… my husband tried that…once… 😉

Leave a Reply

