Big Spender…. That’s Me!!

We were invited to an inpromptu dinner tonight to celebrate a cousin’s birthday.  Luckily it was at our FAVORITE Mexican place so I was SO THERE!!  The food, as usual, was Great!!  Although the Chili Rellenos were way El Scorcho!!  Their refried beans are to kill for but I’m kinda bummed that I wasn’t able to bring any leftovers home for breakfast.  I’m sad to say that I broke my ‘no-alcohol’ pledge tonight and drank a margarita, but after 42 days I think I had one coming!!  I’ll be back on the wagon tomorrow.
 
But the funny thing was that on the way home, I zipped into ‘Big Lots’ (Mrs Serious’ Favorite place to shop! Although I’m sure that she will be posting a disclaimer here tomorrow!) and we went crazy!!  Well, sorta!!   She was shocked!!  Not that I took her shopping but that I took her THERE!!!  Our big purchases were a measuring cup, Poinsettia plant, dog treats and a cheap bottle of wine.  Not much, but we had a blast running around and laughing at all of the crap that they had on sale!  Big Lots even sells furniture now and it was pretty darned comfy!! 
 
But the bestest part was that it made Mrs Serious happy that I thought of it and we really did have a great time!  Especially scaring all of the other customers out of the store!!  Picture me weilding a shopping cart around in a giddy mood!!  Oh!  And we also bought a box of chocolate covered cherries that were ‘on sale’ and they were AWFUL!!  We think they forgot the cherry part!  My wife disputes this and swears that there was something crunchy and cherry-like inside but she is soo spoiled by Sees!!
 
All in all it was a fun night with tons of laughs, great food and the woman I love by my side sharing it all!   Who could ask for more? 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Big Spender…. That’s Me!!

  1. Raven says:

    You’re awesome Bob!!  I have a visual of you two, although I’m not sure if it’s endearing or disturbing!
    It’s still cold!!  I think I will hibernate until it’s warm.
    XXX~R

  2. Jude says:

    Crunchy and cherry like is not a good combination!!! LOL
     
    Sorry I didn’t get back online last night, eventually I’ll be able to stay up late, once I’ve recuperated from my earlier sleep deprivation hehehe.
     
    Sounds like you guys had a wonderful night out, and that’s the best part about it, isn’t it?
     
    Take care and talk soon 🙂

  3. Tracie says:

    Sounds fun!

  4. J says:

    Good for Bob & Mrs Serious. Sweet’taters & I have done gigglefest at Big Lots before as well! "Delightfully tacky, yet unrefined", have a good time, get out on the cheap and make the ladies happy. What else is there?

  5. Jill says:

    it’s the little, silly moments that make life memorable……good for you two!

  6. Cindy says:

    I always steer clear of those chocolate cherries on sale.  I know they just pulled them out of storage from last year.
     

  7. Ann says:

    Bob, seriously dude, your comments on my space cracked me up!!  Thanks, I needed that!   Oh, and your pics made me a bit homesick…I grew up in So.Cal, spent many happy hours at Lake Gregory and other mountain climes.   You know what I’m craving right now?  There was this market in Blue Jay, just a grocery store, they sold this big tub of butter cookies – I’ve never tasted any like them anywhere else….mmmm…. weird, I know!

  8. Lena says:

     
    awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!  Isn’t love wonderful?  Hugs to you and Mrs. S!
     

  9. Becca says:

    Sounds like a fun time was had by all, and no chocolate is really ever right after Sees! Come on there is nothing better than Sees!
    Hugs,
    Becca

  10. KatSoup says:

    awww that is so sweet.  are you trying to get laid or what?
     
    I love the snazzy song! 

  11. Sue says:

    Yeah, you gotta beware of those cheap chocolate covered cherries!  You never know what you’ll get….Glad you had fun at Big Lots!  Enjoy the holidays….Ho, ho, ho….

  12. Bridget says:

    I do need to do the ‘big lots’ thing more often…. it was fun at halloween playing with all the stuff!!! Its fun to be able to share those laughs with someone special, congrats to both of you***Hugs***
    oh the memories 😉 and the silly little secret laughs…. I find my friends and I have that funny line that brings back all the good times.

  13. Xu says:

    What A good day you have!
    hey ,I wonder know what your msn address is and do you often go there ?
    Waiting for your reply
    Yours,
    Caroline Hsu

  14. ♥ Aimee says:

    sounds perfect to me…
    *~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*

  15. CAROL says:

    Sounds like a  fantastic day  BOB.. I know anytime I get to a BIG LOTS I am a happy camper!!  Hope you two have a great weekend!!   : )

  16. Jane says:

    Fruit and chocolate should never be mated.  Ever.
    Now you got me hankering for some Mex food.
    Gotta go to lunch!

  17. Jade says:

    HAHA– KATsoup– I agree-LOL!I used to love zooming about happily freaking out the shoppers

  18. David says:

    See’s – the best chocs EVER!  I never go to Big Lots because I never think of it.  I don’t think the dstufff I want is usually there – or at best only some of it is, and I have to go to some other place anyway.  It seems like a place to go when you don’t want anything, just so you can buy something you never wanted in the first place.  My downfall is Border’s or B&N’s.  I come out with books on stuff i never thought of before.  Casual shopping when I don’t really need anything tends to bring me to Pier One.  Well, you made the fair one happy..

  19. Ice says:

    Big Lots ROX
    ~Ice

Leave a Reply

