In Memorial

 
 
A beloved singer/songwriter passed away yesterday at the young age of 56. Yet another loss of an icon of the 70’s and 80’s music scene.  Dan Fogelberg was a great inspiration to me with not only his music but because he was just a wonderful man.  His songs were in the same vein as James Taylor and Jackson Browne.  He will be missed but always remembered.
 
So for one night, rather than Christmas music here, I’m playing the song about which he said:  "If I could have only written one song in my life, this would have been the one".  It was dedicated to his dad.
 
Enjoy, my friends, and rest in peace Dan.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to In Memorial

  1. Cindy says:

    So beautiful, and so sad.

  2. _ says:

    I’m not familiar with the song he was talking about.  Which one is it?

  3. Angie says:

    We must be feeling the same exact thing!! Hence we practically have the same blog. Mine was Sunday though!
    Isn’t it just horrible? I will miss his spirit. Thank god he gets to live forever though right? This is one of my favorites of his.

  4. ♥ Aimee says:

    very sad…
    *~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*

  5. CAROL says:

    YEp those memories come back really fast and furious to my youth in the 70’s when I hear him sing. Prostate cancer I HATE IT!!  : (

  6. Jean says:

    I loved Dan Fogelberg. The music world will miss him. I love this song, too. Personally, I think you should leave it on for another day!!
    hugs,
    Jean

  7. Jamie says:

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS SONG.  I never knew who sung it or even what the name was, but I remember hearing it when I was little and I would sing along with it.    I am glad that you shared this with us!!!!

  8. Cin says:

    So sad.  :…(

  9. KatSoup says:

    I am typing as I wipe my eyes.  My dad is here visiting.  I heard about this last night.  What an awful loss.  I have a memory of my life for every one of his songs.
     
    He was dear friends with Jimmy Buffet 🙂

  10. The says:

    Ok, I know I’m here a day late, but I thought since it was sooo early in the morning surely it would still be here……where o where has that song gone?  o where, o where can it be? (*wink, wink)  that’ll teach me not to put off a good blog!

  11. The says:

    Ok, I know I’m here a day late, but I thought since it was sooo early in the morning surely it would still be here……where o where has that song gone?  o where, o where can it be? (*wink, wink)  that’ll teach me not to put off a good blog!

  12. The says:

    Ok, I know I’m here a day late, but I thought since it was sooo early in the morning surely it would still be here……where o where has that song gone?  o where, o where can it be? (*wink, wink)  that’ll teach me not to put off a good blog!

  13. Sue says:

    Yes, we surely will miss Dan F.!  Although I’m not a big rock fan, I did enjoy his music.  What a shame prostrate cancer took another great one away…what a great song too!

  14. Sue says:

    Yes, we surely will miss Dan F.!  Although I’m not a big rock fan, I did enjoy his music.  What a shame prostrate cancer took another great one away…what a great song too!

  15. Beth says:

    Dan Fogelberg was born and raised in the Peoria area and a couple of the songs he has written told of his ties to Illinois.  He attended the University of Illinois.  Our papers have been full of the story of his life, and rightly so.

  16. Jane says:

    Sad.  But I get nothing.  No music.  I must’ve missed it.  Typical… a couple days late and one song short.
     

  17. t i m says:

    I cn’t say I’m familiar with him at all, but may he rest in paece.

  18. EbonyWyvernDragon says:

    That is my absolute favorite song by him – it reminds me of my dad…………  The music world has suffered a great loss………..
    ChristmasDragon

  19. elana says:

    Guess this is the wrong place to say that I thought his stuff was kinda lame.  Now, the passing of Warren Zevon a few years back…THAT was one that made me a bit weepy.
     
    Have a fabulous holiday, Bob!

  20. Ice says:

    I only read about his passing yesterday.
    I had no idea the cause until I read thru your comments.
    I grew up listening to Dan.
    What a loss for the music world.
    ~Ice

  21. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need advertising displays, screen advertisings, digital sign, digital signages and LCDs? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[icaddbfjbgfcjj]

  22. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you have used LCDs, second hand LCDs, used flat screens and used LCD monitors? Please go here:www.sstar-hk.com(Southern Stars).We are constantly buying re-usable LCD panels and working for LCD recycling.The re-usable panels go through strictly designed process of categorizing, checking, testing, repairing and refurbishing before they are re-used to make remanufactured LCD displays and TV sets.Due to our recent breakthrough in testing and repairing technology of LCD, we can improve the value for your LCD panels.
    website:www.sstar-hk.com[ccgacggfiigdja]

Leave a Reply

