Christmas Cookies!! Who Knew!

 
It was another joyous pre-Christmas night at the Serious household!!  Mrs S decided that just one( or two!) more batches of Christmas cookies needed to be baked tonight and of course, being the wonderful, loving husband that I am, I volunteered to help.  How hard can baking cookies be??  OK!  I take that back!  What the heck is ‘tempering’ chocolate??
 
Hey Ho,,,it’s Mrs. S’ turn now.  I asked Mr. to stop at 6 batches of cookies, but he insisted that I must make the "peppermint patties"…yeah shut up, they’re so much better than yorks.  You guys are going to die laughing when you see the pics of him "tempering" chocolate….hehe and whoops, need to run and put on a panty liner…
 
Hmmmm!!  NO panty liners in these cookies!!  But we DID have fun!!  Espesially her watching me tackle the tempering thing.  I always get the easy jobs!  The peppermint paties came out so well after I TOOK OVER!!  But that darned chocolate was HOT!!  80F!!  Don’t think so!  But then, as an added surprise, she brought out some previously made cookies and wanted THEM dipped in chocolate too!!  ALL 256 OF THEM!!!!!!
 
80 degrees is too hot??!!?…heck, sugar we used to swim at Captiva and 80 would be cold!!  Sheesh, men have no idea about those details.  Ok, yeah Mr….you are the king of dipping and, yeah, I brought it on!!!  Sissy boy, what’s a few hundred more (they’re really meranges but for his sake we’ll call them "cookies"…geez what a homer)…
 
Don’t listen to her!!  Not HOT???? Wait until the next time she wants cookie help!! 
 
 
Warm?
 
Thinking maybe 180F !!!  But that’s beside the point!  The third degree burns have already been taken care of!!!  The point is, we had a great time and shared a wonderful Christmas experience. 
 
K, g’nite all.  The old man is snoring…or will be soon.  Tuck in your loved ones.  XO’s
 
She has confused snoring with something else!!   Quitter!!  I’m still here tempering chocolate and burning my fingers to the bone!!  She has a BIG surprise timorrow!!  Temper THIS!!!!  And by the way??  The cookies came out perfect!Cookies 001Cookies 002Cookies 003Cookies 006Cookies 008Cookies 010
 
I wish she would get her own space!!
 
But I would have no friends!!!!
 
I think maybe you would!!  Now go to bed and get off of my space!!  You’re scaring people away!!  But your cookies are fantastic!!!!
 
Isn’t married life GREAT??
 
Here are the horrible pics she took!
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Christmas Cookies!! Who Knew!

  1. Louise says:

    Ohhh would you look at that, I’d have had to run for a tennalady watching that too pmsl. I keep outta the kitchen when mr g is is there cos I hear all these swear words and bumping and clattering, it’s so funny when the gas won’t light in the oven pmsl.
     
    So Bob did you take my advice and get mrs S something fun for christmas???? Ohhh and I hope you got my mate summet cool as well!
     
    Hope you all have lots of fun and laughter over christmas and a happy new year full of the brightest of blessings.
     
    (((BIG HUGS))) xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. Jude says:

    LOL – you are too funny!!!!!  I have to say, you look like you’re having fun in the pictures, regardless of what you say!
     
    I hope you are enjoying the holiday season (sure seems that you are!  hehe) and all the best to you and Mrs S during the Holidays.
     
    Take care and talk soon.  🙂

  3. J says:

    Serious cookie time! Wish I was there.
     
    J

  4. Jade says:

    😀 You guy’s are typing like you’re high on sugar!!Aw, I love the pics!! You can’t go wrong yer so dam handsome!Now, I want cookies!!

  5. Tracie says:

    LOVE this pics, especially the one with your tonge sticking out. !  LOL
     
    THe cookies look awesome!

  6. DragonBoy says:

     
    Hi Bob.  Hope the festive season is treating you and Mrs S well.  Hope you have a very Merry Chritmas and all best wishes for 2008.
     
    DB

  7. ♥ Aimee says:

    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm….mint chocolate…
    *~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*

  8. Angie says:

    ****giggle giggle snort snort****
     
    OH my GOD! The two of you are killing me! can most definately see that you guys do love each other and have been married forEVER!!!! LMAO! you guys sounded like my parents- except my father was a total whimp- and never helped out my  mother with her chocolate dipping! But he sure did help out on making them disapear so she’d have to make more for gifts! i should have paid better attention! (whoops- i forget what tempering chocolate is too!)
     
    Well…..
    merry christmas to you both-
     
    and if Mrs. S wants her own space- she’d have probably more friends than you!!!!! (((giggle)))

  9. Jill says:

    absolutely precious……..the love between you two just oozes out in the cyber world and makes us smile…thanks for sharing your fun times with us.
     
     

  10. Laoch says:

    Merry Christmas

  11. Kat says:

    I just have one thing to say….Is that batch yer coating in the pics…for me???!!
    ha ha ha 😀
    Tell Ms S that she SHOULD get her own blog (so we can get the real good gossip straight from the Mrs mouth) 😀
    I’d read her!!
    Mrs S, yer a hoot!
    Big *hug-a-roos* to you both!

  12. Jean says:

    You two are a case.. Becky should get her own space.. we’d make sure she had more friends than you!!LOL Just because we could! Be careful with that hot chocolate…be sure to let it cool before you use it on something lickable!!hugs,Jean

  13. Lena says:

     
    OMG LMFAO @ you two!  How many blissful years have you been married?  How ever many it is, it shows! 
     
    Y’all are still madly in puppy love.  Gotta love it!
     
    Merry Christmas Mr. & Mrs. S.  Hugs!
     

  14. _ says:

    First off… you should try making Christmas candy with your two teenage daughters WITHOUT a candy thermometer. But they know what a soft ball stage is now.
     
    Secondly… 256 cookies isn’t a lot of cookies. If a recipe makes about three dozen, that’s about seven batches. In my house, all seven batches would be different kinds of cookies.
     
    Third… tell Mrs. S that when she gets her own space she’ll have lots of friends, and I’ll be the first.
     
    Fourth… has anyone told you that you’re awfully cute in the kitchen?
     
    Fifth… if you need a hint on what to get Mrs. S, what about a double-boiler? Hubby gave me one a few Christmases ago and it’s great.
     
    And last but definitely not least… Merry Christmas, Mr. and Mrs. Serious. And Happy New Year.

  15. Becca says:

    Your wife is named Becky, I should have known! Now you have a handful for a wife, too, right? My husband says that about me, but I have no idea where he gets that from!
     
    You look like you had a blast doing that!
    Hugs,
    Becca

  16. Cindy says:

    You look just like a pro!  Soon we’ll be seeing Mr & Mrs S with their own cooking show. 
     
    Merry Christmas to both of you!

  17. Twila says:

    ROFL!  You got chocolate where?  Oh never mind.  I’m not sure I want to know the answer to that one.  Cookies look fabulous though!  YUM!  I still have one batch of fudge to make.  Either tonight or tomorrow.  Since this is the 5 POUND batch, I think I’ll do it tomorrow when I’m rested.  Takes way too much stirring to tackle it tonight.
     
    I love that you two ‘work’ so well togther.  David used to be in the kitchen with me, helping out at Christmas, but anymore he’s just not up to it.  So, I’ll just live vicariously through your eyes.  Mrs S, you really should get your own Space.  We’d all follow and keep you company!
     
    Merry Christmas to both of you.  Hope you have a great time at the cabin!  Oohhh, and I’m so jealous about that new Dell!  WOOHOO!

  18. Isabelle says:

    Did anyone talk about cookies and chocolate………..and peppermint?
     
    These look damn so good! Yummy!
     
    My favorite pic is the one you are dipping the meringue in the chocolate!! So meticulous…… yes that’s an art not to get your finger burn!!

  19. Isabelle says:

    Did anyone talk about cookies and chocolate………..and peppermint?
     
    These look damn so good! Yummy!
     
    My favorite pic is the one you are dipping the meringue in the chocolate!! So meticulous…… yes that’s an art not to get your finger burn!!

  20. Jamie says:

    Hey there!!!!  You guys are tooooo cute.  I am sure you probably left some chocolate for later after the cookies for some extra dipping didn’t you!!!!! LMAO.     Anywho….. I hadn’t been by to say hi in a while so HI!!!!!!!!  You guys have a very Merry Christmas and a safe and Happy New Year.  Enjoy your peace and quiet at the cabin!!!!  Much Love,
     
    Jamie!!!!

  21. Jay says:

    You guys are too much. I absolutely love the pictures! Send some to me. I love thoses.I hope you both have a very Merry Christmas, and it looks like it is off to a good start.
    Jay
     

  22. Stephanie says:

    I’m jealous! Becky always makes the best goodies!
    You two crack me up. I need panty liners whenever I’m around you guys!
    Love ya! BIG HUGS, Steph

  23. Ice says:

    What fun you two have together!
    Now I am craving chocolate.
    THANKS!
    ~Ice

Leave a Reply

