Cabin Update

 
So far, so GREAT!!  We are having so much fun doing absolutely NOTHING!  Well…. at least Mrs S (Becky) is doing something.  Cooking and dishwashing, but my job is the ‘heavy lifting’, so to speak.  In fact, our Moroccan friend Medhi is coming here for dinner tonight so she is making a big pot of chili and baking corn bread!  YUM!!!
 
It was a bit warmer today but we might be getting a little snow tonight.  A little is fine, as long as we don’t get dumped on.  An inch or so would be perfect!  Tomorrow I will be driving down to the lake (Lake Gregory) to take a few photos.  Crestline is a very quaint little town with a population of about 1500.  I had to run some errands ‘downtown’ today and everywhere I went, the people were VERY friendly.  Compared to Los Angeles it was refreshing, to say the least. 
 
Our cabin is situated alongside a steep, winding mountain road about 5 miles from Crestline in the small community of San Moritz, and to say it’s secluded is an understatement.
 
In fact, last night we had a power outage here and upon going outside, it was pitch black!  I literally could not see my hand in front of my face!  And the only sounds were howlings of the wolves and the wild mountain dogs.  Eerie!!  From what I’ve heard, the recent wildfires here have driven much of the wildlife much closer to the uneffected areas, although I have yet to see a wolf, black bear or mountain lion… YET!!  Nonetheless, I don’t leave my dogs outdoors alone for any length of time.
 
I will try to do another post before we leave on Sunday but who knows, we may decide to stay for a few more days.  We LOVE it here!
 
I hope you all have a Great weekend and I promise to post a new photo album as soon as we get home.  Bye for now…..
 
 
Our friend Mehdi finally found his way here and we served him Becky’s chili and cornbread.  We sat around and relived old times, but then they both made a BIG mistake!!  I was challenged to a game of Scrabble!!!!  I kicked both of their butts and sent them to bed with their tails between their legs!  How DARE they challenge me!  Becky just came in looking for her book and I suggested that she take the Scrabble dictionary to bed and study up!!  LOL!  (I KNOW I will pay for this later ‘but it was sooo much fun!! ) Despite what they say, I don’t think that FU is a word!
 
I took some great pics today that I will be sure to post! 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Cabin Update

  1. Angie says:

    Yeah, Okay BRAT! I wanna be in the mountains away from everything. Funny- You say how secluded you are- but yet you have internet and cable!
    You are still killing me with that!
    Growing up with my Cabin in Idaho- that was the main thing we did not have- TV!! just the radio to dance to. And how much fun we had! Although- I do understand- The exboyfriend’s dad had a microwave set up at his place! LOL!!!
     
    Okay- Had my christmas today! and now we’re awaiting Chinese food and watching a flick. My place is a disaster- and I don’t feel like cleaning it up yet! I’ll wait till next year!!! Ha ha har har har snort!
     
     
    Big kiss to you and Mrs. S fa sure! k
    MUAK!

  2. g says:

    Looking forward to seeing the photos.
     
    g.j.

  3. J says:

    Hello pilgrim, sounds like your surviving pretty good in them thar hills. Jeremiah Johnson is one of my all time favorite movies. Wish I could say "looks like ya still got ya har" nonetheless, look out for griz. Good to see your post.
    Have a great time!
     
    J

  4. Cindy says:

    Sounds like heaven on earth!  Go out on some clear night and try to count the stars.  That’s the best thing about being away from the city lights.  STARS by the millions!
     
    Enjoy your time there and Happy New Year!

  5. Xu says:

    Happy New Year  🙂
     
    Caroline Hsu

  6. Isabelle says:

    Yes Fu is a word…… ehrrr….. from Kung FU!
     
    Oh yes you pay for his later, and for the next week!!!
     
    I hope you get the best from that little get away!
     
    And yes don’t leave the doggies out!! Wise decision!
     
    Take care,
    Isa

  7. Sue says:

    Sounds like a great time.  The perfect place to play a Scrabble tourney…ha…wish I was there.  I LOVE that game!  We used to play it all the time…but we’re into chess now…usually three games a night.  We take turns winning.  Have fun and stay indoors away from the wildlife at night!  Are there really wolves up there???  Coyotes make as much noise as wolves…and with that full moon…bet they sang their brains out!

  8. Jade says:

    Heeeheeee!! With DSL & cable & the puppies, why leave?!Good food & friends-perfect!!I like "speed scrabble" myself = Dump all the letters and RACE to fill as many wordsas you can!!

  9. Jane says:

    Sounds like heaven to me… nothing to do… hanging out… playing Scrabble. 
    Judging from that picture, you haven’t had to shave either – you’re starting to look just like one of you dogs.
    I hope you don’t run into any mountain lions… you have indoor plumbing, right?

  10. Jess says:

    Oh man I cannot wait to see all the pics , really I am jealous we get snow here but I really wish I could be out in the middle of nowhere in the fall or spring in a cabin…ahhhhhhhhh to dream ! Hope you are still having a great time and NOT seeing any creatures of the wild kind !
     
     

  11. Bridget says:

    Snow…ohhhhhhhhhhh, ggrrrrrrrrrrrrrr….lol, last year we only had an inch for the month of December, this year…18!!!I wish I were a kid again so I could enjoy it more than now when I get to work in it…. maybe this afternoon…I"m kid-sitting and he got a real cool sled for Christmas, just might have to check out how well it works!!!!
    Happiest of New Year’s to you, stay safe and be good…and if ya can’t be good, be good at what you’re doing 😉

  12. Cin says:

    I can’t wait to see the pictures. It sounds like a wonderful place.Happy New Year Bob.Damselfly Lady

  13. CAROL says:

    YEOW coyotes, wolves and bears oh MY!!   Hope the doggies stay safe and you too. Just to be safe .. don’t go out after
    dark!! I know those wolves can sure howl..  I bet it just echos up there. sounds wonderful BOB I am all for stay as long as you can.. The city can wait!!  : )

  14. ♥ Aimee says:

    sounds lovely…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  15. Ice says:

    CHILI!!!!
    I love that stuff..
    I have become known for my chili..it is not really the chili, but the extra "toppings" I serve with it.
    SO many choices for different palates..
    Bacon
    Sour Cream
    Lettuce
    Tomatoes
    Onion
    Crackers
    Fritos
    Rice
    Cheese – gotta have THAT
    and CORN BREAD w/butter!!!
    YUMMY
    I am going to have to break down and make some this week!
    ~Ice

Leave a Reply

