Better!!

Feeling MUCH better today!!   I guess 12 hours sleep and a few quarts of water works!  Mrs S is in Laughlin, Nevada until Monday for the annual family reunion but I stayed here because I wasn’t sure how I would feel today.  And besides, I was supposed to drive for 5 hours across the desert.  The way I’ve felt for the past 4 days…..  NO WAY!!!  Oh yeah… and she left at 5AM!!
 
BUT!!!!  Guess who gets the 350Z for the weekend??  Woooo Hoooo!!!!!  So the party is HERE!!!
 
Not sure if you know this but the weekend after the SuperBowl is traditionally the WORST sporst weekend on TV!!  I guess to make us pay for our overindulgence LAST Sunday!  At least Mine!
 
I hope you are enjoying the female artists I am playing.  It will continue all weekend.  Jodie Messina tonight, who I love!
 
Cracking up at 2.5 Men!!!  LMAO!!  HAHAHA!!!!  Too funny!  sorry………..
 
Now as for that ‘musical background’ thing, I took up the trombone as a freshman in high school and within 2 years I was first chair.  Along the way I learned tuba (Sousaphone), baritone and trumpet.  After graduation I auditioned for and was accepectd into the Navy Band.  I attended the Navy School of Music in Little Creek, VA for 9 months, which meant playing at least 8 hours a day, and was then transferred to a unit band in San Diego.  From there, off to VietNam for two tours, hopping from ship to ship, and after that back to Long Beach, CA. 
 
Before my discharge from the Navy, I joined a ‘horn’ rock band (kinda like Chicago or Blood, Sweat and Tears) and played with them for 2 years.  After that I went out on my own, did studio work for 2 years and a short stint with the Buddy Rich band. 
 
Then, throat cancer, which basically ended my trombone playing career.  But it was a blast while it lasted and I have no (ok, a few) regrets.  I would probably still doing it today!  But that’s water under the bridge and I’ll always have my memories.  As for how I got into Country?  No Idea!!  Just like the stories the songs tell.
 
Have a GREAT weekend…… Y’ALL!!!!!  lol
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Better!!

  1. Gina says:

    So glad you are feeling better Bob. Some nasty bugs floating around in the world lately. Everyone I know has been sick…

  2. Cindy says:

    More sleep and more wate and don’t forget a couple of spins in the Z … you’ll be just peachy!
     

  3. nodope says:

     
    Bob, you old salt you! I think you been holdin’ out on us. Who knew you were a rocker. The more I read your words of wisdom the more I like you.
     
    Take care,
     
    Joel

  4. Isabelle says:

    Bob was sick? Huh?
     
    Oh poor darling? Hope you are feeling better….was that an excuse NOT to go to Mrs.S family reunion? LOL….just asking
     
    I agree with nodope! How new that you were a rocker!!! You are an amazing guy!
     
    Take care,
    Isa
     

  5. Holly says:

    I was so happy to hear that you are better .
    I hope tomorrow you are best.

  6. Beth says:

    Hiya Bob,  So glad you are feeling better.  You know I love the country music so keep it up!!

  7. Jill says:

    you have the Z and southern california has the beach weather…..pch time for Bob!  *grin*  
     
    glad you’re feeling better — enjoy some sunshine today!

  8. Tracie says:

    Glad you are feeling better!  I love all country! 

  9. Angie says:

    You too Bob a roonie!

  10. Jude says:

    I forgot to drop by last night 😦
     
    But….I’m taking in a live sporting activity tonight – hockey!!!!  Now, we don’t have any NHL teams here, but our Junior team is offering retro pricing so I can take myself and the kiddies to the game for $21.75 total….not too shabby pricing wise.  Mind you, I know they’re gonna get me at the concession!  LOL
     
    Take care and enjoy your weekend 🙂

  11. Ice says:

    …anything to get outta hanging with the in-laws, huh???
    Glad ur back to your cheery self
    ~Ice

Leave a Reply

