A Visitor From The East

 
We found out today that out very first Foreign Exchange Student will be arriving on Monday for a visit from Japan.  When Sayuri first came here in 1995 she was a shy, scared 15 year-old who spoke little or no English.  She is now a 27 year-old woman who has graduated college and is an English tour guide.  She has been back for visits several times but we have not seen her in about 2 years.  As you can imagine, we are excited!!
 
Over the years we have hosted 12 students (7 from Japan, 3 from Morocco, and one each from France, Sweden and Norway) and have had many return visits from most of them, and sometimes their parents and friends.  We were even invited to visit two of the families in Morocco and stayed there for 3 weeks!!  It was fabulous!!  They eat 4 or 5 huge meals a day but the food is so healthy (Lots of fish, fruit and veggies) that I LOST 10 pounds!  As you may know, Medhi is working at the University of Southern California on a research grant and we see him and at least one of his brothers monthly.
 
If you ever have the opportunity to host an exchange student, DO IT!!  It’s the adventure of a lifetime, educational and you will make a friend for life.  You can find many agencies online.  As I said, we are very excited but Oh Crap!!!  I have to clean this house!!!!!
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
 
Our ‘window guy’ Larry (the shirtless guy!) returned today to install new windows and a door for my neighbors!!  We also received quotes on more work and I can’t beleive how reasonable his prices are!  More on that in another post.  But he has this huge house right on the beach in Sunset Beach, CA, AND….. he wants to borrow the 350Z for a trip to the mountains.  We might be making a deal!!  3 days at the beach house for 3 days with the Z!!  Hmmm….
 
More Brad Paisley!   Not sure If I’ve played this one recently, but….. If I did??  (Which I did!!)  I’ll change it!  How about some Clay Walker??
 
Does anyone watch ‘Deadliest Catch’ on Discovery??  BEST reality show!!  It’s about King Crab fishing in the bering Sea of Alaska.  It’s the deadliest job you can do.  They say that one life is lost every week…..  but tonight’s episode was the worst!!  A ship rolled over and sunk in the 34F water with a crew of 10..  There was ONE survivor!!  The only reason he survived was a because a Coast Guard rescue swimmer jumped into the freezing water with him.  He was lucky, but so sad…..  And now??  ‘man overboard’ on another boat!!  Why do I watch this??  I’ll take a desk job!!
 
BTW….  I will try to get Sayuri to post a guest blog!!
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Visitor From The East

  1. Jaysey says:

    That’s very exciting!

  2. Beth says:

    I want to know if he has been working on toning up his abs.
     

  3. Gina says:

    Oh fun! Enjoy the visit! And get busy cleaning… ;o)

  4. HEDGE says:

    Cool!  I hope you guys have a great visit with Sayuri 🙂   I remember when I was but a teenage lad, and my family hosted a beautiful foreign exchange student for the summer.   And that’s when I knew I wanted to work in international relations  :))    

  5. Cindy says:

    Enjoy your visit!I’m going on my way to California in FOUR DAYS!………YAY!

  6. Tracie says:

    Yeah, I think you have played this one already, but it’s a good one so it doesn’t matter!

  7. nodope says:

     
    Heck, if it’s that easy tell him I’ll let him use your Z for a month if I can have his beach house for a week. C’mon, it a steal!
     
     

  8. Cindy says:

    We have our Disneyland Hotel booked for the 9th I don’t know what it’s called because my sister booked it but I’m guessing it’s close to the park.

  9. Jane says:

    Awww, I thought it was going to be Carnack!
    Have fun with your visitors and get that house clean!
    Sorry I can’t help you on the tv show… my cable broke… 20 years ago.
    Happy, happy Bobberooni!

  10. CAROL says:

    I don’t know I think old larry boy has got himself a sweet deal going on.. I mean he must be wanting to impress someone with that snazzy car of hers. Sounds like a deal will be brokered and away you will go.. Don’t forget the sunblock and your camera etc. WE WANT PHOTOS!! Company coming always means cleaning is due.. I bet you have your hands full with all the dogs etc leaving their hair abouts or do they shed?? Anyway.. Hope you have fun with your
    JAPANESE first "BORN"   GOD Bless you both for being soo goood to the children of the world.. : )

  11. Isabelle says:

    Host me too Host me too!!! LOL!!
     
    I hope you enjoy the hosting of your foreigh student,…..what lucky girl!!
     
    As regards the documentary…… I sometimes don’t know why I watch some docs….well may be to know that we are damn lucky after all in life…..
     
    Take care,
    Isa
    P.S thanks for the not you left at my space! Well, it’s deffinitely not your fault!!;O) CSW has already hit me……
     
     

  12. Tracie says:

    Thanks Bob!  Clay’s a hottie and this is also a good song!

  13. Sue says:

    Exchange students are great!  When I was growing up in Michigan, we had two boys (my brother’s age) who came from Mexico (two different years) and we stayed in contact with them afterwards too.  My brother went to Mexico one summer as an exchange student and came back speaking spanish in his sleep!  What a great way to learn a language and about a foreign land!  Hope you guys have a super visit with her!!!

  14. Kat says:

    Hey bob-a-roo! I love that show–the deadliest catch! I can’t believe how those men work in those terrible conditions day after day!
    I was actually talking about that show the other day as its a very short salmon fishing season here and the river was PACKED with fishing boats for a week.
    It was a little unnerving at points as we live right on the water and these people were right outside our doors/windows/…namely bedroom windows!! EEK! How’s a girl supposed to wander around in her Hello Kitty neglegee when she’s got peepers outside!!  *blush blush*

  15. Jess says:

    Oh I’d take him up on that deal too !!
     
    Hey have you seen the new one called "Ax Men" ? It’s on history and it is wicked cool ! I bet you’d like it since you like Deadliest Catch !
     
    Oh yes get Sayuri to post that would rock and maybe we can get more blackmail material on you !!! Hehehehehehe

  16. Jill says:

    foreign exchange student programs are sooo fun…..so many of my friends have made life-long relationships with their students.  we’ve never had the honor of participating….our life has always been too hectic to fit the schedule requirements.   have an awesome visit!!!!!
     
    my 16 year old would love to work out a vehicle exchange…..he says you can drive his hyundai and he’ll take "very good care" of your Z….hehehe

  17. jannaj says:

    Exciting company! Have fun, don’t worry about the house. I know she’s not coming to see if your house is clean. Deadliest Catch is one of my favorites. So glad it’s time for the new season.   Jan

  18. ♥ Aimee says:

    oh i like the idea of a guest blog…not that i dont like yours…
    *~* :o) a smile is a universal welcome… :o) *~*

Leave a Reply

