Good Day / Bad Day…..

 
GOOD:
 
#1  We got our camera back!!  Our waiter found it and locked it in their safe.  So I have pictures to show you.
 
#2  I drove them to Hollywood where they took photos of the Hollywood Sign, parked at  Grauman’s Chinese Theatre and they got to see the Stars in the pavement.
 
#3  We made it to the airport on time!!
 
 
BAD:
 
#1  Driving from Orange County THRU downtown L.A. to Hollywood is usually a nightmare anytime.  But during morning rush hour??  Egads!!!   Now, I have this thing…. When someone does something stupid on the freeway (like cutting me off!!) I always say "DUDE!!".  Well today I must have said it 33 times!!  The girls think it’s funny!!!
 
#2  I got lost in Hollywood!!  Don’t laugh!  It’s easy to do!!!!  But Sayuri whipped out the map that Becky printed out online and we made it back to the freeway
 
#3  We get to the airport (LAX) and the lanes for the departing flights are blocked off!!  No idea why, but had to drop them off at the ‘arrival’ terminal!!  All of this security crap is a real pain!
 
But all in all??   A sad and tearful day!  It always is when one of our students leave.  Dammit!!  I’m such a wimp!  I cried most of the way home!  Plus, this visit was way too short.  But I know that they will have fun visiting the Grand Canyon and seeing shows in Las Vegas.  They really don’t want to gamble.  In another 3 years or so I hope she can come back again. 
 
Anyhow, here are the pictures from our dinner last night.
 
Becky with the girls
Sayuri 2 051
 
The Restaurant
Sayuri 2 052
 
Table shots!!
Sayuri 2 053
 
The ‘Group’!
Sayuri 2 054
 
Margaritas!
Sayuri 2 055
 
Check out that food!!!
Sayuri 2 056
 
BEST Tacos ANYWHERE!!!
Sayuri 2 057
 
Taco!
Sayuri 2 058
 
Maiko munching away on a Jalapeno Pepper!!  YOW!!
Sayuri 2 059
 
It was a GREAT final night!!  Oh yeah…  and I have the leftovers!!!!  LOL
 
And……. Thank you all for your wondeful comments!!!  The girls loved all of them!  How did I meet such wonderful friends here???
 
 
You know? I like this silly song so much, but I’m posting a song by my favorite female singer….  Jo Dee Messina!
 
That’s all I got!!   Plus, the hammock is calling my name!!  ‘I’m doin’ Alright!!’
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Good Day / Bad Day…..

  1. Beth says:

    Bob, the pictures are wonderful.  The girls are adorable, Becky included, makes me long to be young again.  Great! you got your camera back.

  2. HEDGE says:

    I can tell you all had a great time!  Everyone looks so happy in the pictures!   🙂

  3. Bridget says:

    Very cool, I miss good ol’ cali, lol…. managed a trip out there a few years back. The traffic…hmm, thank goodness I was on a bus, omg…crazy. Loved the beach, even if the water was COLD! One of these days I’m gonna have to think about a west coast road trip…. Thanks for sharing ‘your girls’ with us, it was fun. Take care, ***hugs***

  4. Jaysey says:

    Looks like tons of fun!!

  5. giggles says:

    I remember a few years ago when we went to California for vacation and I hated the traffic. I thought it was bad here… but what scared me the most was the way the motorcycles can go in between the cars. They dont do that here..THANK GOD.
    The girls are so cute. it sure was nice of them to come visit you guys. Sounds like you had a wonderful time with them. Thanks for sharing it with all of us.
    Giggles
    ps.
    Glad you go the camera back..you must be a GOOD tipper..hehe

  6. Gina says:

    So glad you got the camera back! What fun…. I hate that their visit was so darn short too… just think of all the fun stuff you could have posted if you were going WITH them to LV. ;o)  But the surely don’t want an American dad tagging along on their girls’ trip!
    Maybe Sayuri will start her own blog once she gets home. Ya think?

  7. Tracie says:

    When someone does something stupid in front of us (in the car), we usually say ASS HOLE.  SHH But don’t tell anyone, I don’t want to ruin my good girl reputation!  LOL
     
    Glad you had a good time with your old students!  Love Sammy!

  8. Stephanie says:

    Visits with loved ones are always too short.
    So glad you got the camera back, that’s pretty unusual!
     
    As far as getting lost… you need GPS! lol I loved having it on my rental car.
     
    Now I’m hungry for Mexican food and… TOO LATE! I got the hammock! hehehe! BIG HUGS, Steph

  9. Stephanie says:

    OH the song playing on my space is as country as I get, and it’s in your honor… enjoy.

  10. Stephanie says:

    OK NOW the song playing on my space is in your honor… I had a problem with fileden. Go listen…

  11. MizAngie says:

    Ahhhhh, hammock napping. My grandmother had a killer hammock on her patio in Aransas Pass, TX. There was always a breeze blowin’ in from the Gulf except from 4:00-6:00 am. I don’t know where it went but it was calm and the mosquitos went NUTS. If you stayed out you would be anemic by 5:30. Whew.
     
    So glad y’all had such a good time with your visitors this week. You are SO SOCIAL. I really am a hermit compared to you and Mrs. S.

  12. Laoch says:

    I so want a big drink now!

  13. renay says:

    looks like you had a good day.

  14. Born says:

    Hey Bob,
    what a trip . nice pictures and please no more pictures of food. im trying so hard to lose weight. i even dreamed of myself trying jeans several sizes smaller. It was so unreal i woke up. LOL. i showed hubby your blog yday all your pictures and guess what he liked the most. The hammock!!!!  Hehe you seriously have a kingsized hammock. have a nice evening Bob . My work day has already begun so it best i get back to work. see ya around bye.

  15. Cindy says:

    Hi Bob,
    I sent you an email but I’m not sure I actually have your proper addy…..
    Anyway Tessa my sister and I are here in Anahiem, looking forward to our first day in Disneyland (we have 5).
    Just popped into say "Hi nieghbour!!!"

  16. ♥ Aimee says:

    oh those margarita’s look so good….
     
    as for the baby…it’s not Chuck…it’s Chuck’s cousin….lol….
    ♥~♥ :oD most smiles are started by another smile… :oD ♥~♥

  17. Jade says:

    What a wonderful crazy visit- the best type!!!Great pictures and I am SO glad you got the camera back.

  18. Anjali says:

    Hey Bob
     
    I love your space…..few things I like rather absolutely love about it are….the Pictures!!!
    And I simply adore your dogs….I have always had a dog growing up except after I moved to Canada( I have a cat there).And I totally understand when u say you cried when your students left.I am visiting home after 2 and a half years and wil be going back soon…..and thinking about it alone makes me sad….I know I am going to be crying all the way back too:)
     
    take care
    Anjali

  19. Isabelle says:

    Ahhhh Bob they will come again!!!:O)
     
    Well the pictures are great and thanks God the camera is back!!
     
    One thing…..are all the portions of food that huge? Don’t think I am the "pea-size eating" type, but I must admit I was like "WOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAOOOOOOOWWWWW!!!!!"
     
    The Hollywood expedition was kind of funny……
     
    Take care,
    Isa 

  20. Abby says:

    Hi,Bob..
    Is this a change student?Oh…You are very happy.
    Oh…That’s good.   So beautiful….
      I admire at them.
    HOHO….

Leave a Reply

