Odds and Ends For A Thursday

 
Well Hell….  The girls are gone and a dark cloud has fallen over our house…..  We had SOOOO much fun with them!  But I’m sure that they are havin a great time in Las Vegas!!
 
The NHL Hockey Playoffs begin tonight for my team, the Anaheim Ducks ( Defending Champions!!) so I am excited!!  They play the Dallas Stars HERE……  15 minutes away!  But getting tickets?????  I’ll be watching on TV!
 
Today was beautiful!!  Sunny and 75!!  But by the weekend??  90!!  UGH!!!!!!  No rain in sight.
 
Now, here are a few Sports tidbits:
 
Apparently, David Beckham ‘bent’ his automobile the wrong way.  A day after he was named Major League Soccer player of the week, Beckham earned a ticket from an LAPD police officer for making an illegal left turn at Sunset and Fairfax.
 
The Lancashire Evening Post reported that Beckham "was really cooperative" and celebrity gossip websites were abuzz with photos of a smiling Beckham accepting the ticket and it’s accompanying $160 fine. 
 
It shouldn’t be a problem, however, because Beckham this week regained his spot as the world’s highest-paid soccer player, earning $48.8 Million a year!!  Now if only he would actually PLAY!!!!
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
 
The Detroit Tigers’ 0-7 start before winning Wednesday baffled many observers, especially after the team went on an off-season spending spree and now has the second highest payroll in the majors.
 
ESPN.com’s Page 2 suggested that it’s time for manager Jim Leyland, a notorious cigarette smoker, to get serious.
 
"Somebody hide Jim Leyland’s smokes." the column suggested.  "It’s time for the kind of fire-and-brimstone speech only a relentless nicotine fit can provide."
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
 
I am betting against a certain Tiger Woods at the Master’s this weekend after Detroit started 0-7 in baseball and Memphis lost the NCAA  championship game.  It’s NOT a good week to be a Tiger!!
   
Watching the Ducks/Dallas playoff game!!  NOT going well!!  F*&%!!  4 to 0, Dallas!! My God!!  All Dallas!! Sh*^!!  Please excuse the language, but REALLY!!  I think there is something wrong here!!  Ducks penalties=12, Dallas= 1??????  WTH!!  I see a HUGE fight in the third period!!  It’s how Hockey works!!  DAMMIT!!!  I am SOOOO glad I didn’t tickets to this game!!  But you know??  Still a period to go!!  Yeah…. Right!
 
Sorry…..  Yeah I’m still awake!!  But I needed to play the "OFFICIAL" R U Serious theme song tonight!!  SOOOO My Song!!!! 
 
I promise to be the ‘nice’ Bob tomorrow!!  We have an aunt with cancer who will be dying any day!   Hopefully we will be able to see her tomorrow morning!!  Dammit!!  Life sucks sometimes…..!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Odds and Ends For A Thursday

  1. Becca says:

    Stop by and see me…..

  2. giggles says:

    Cheer up …they will come back n see you… and think of all the fun you had….
    Play a happy song..hehe
    Good Luck Ducks!!
    Giggles

  3. Jade says:

    yes….it can be so depressing after such light & life has left your home.

  4. Gina says:

    Guess what? Our grass is starting to get GREEN! I don’t have to come ogle yours in the pics now! hehe… Cheer up, bucko. You still have us….   ;o)
     
    Whaddya mean, it’s just not the same???

  5. Rambling says:

    Know the feeling Bob.  It is quiet and downright depressing isn’t it?  BUT they’ll be back…and you have that to look forward to.It will be interesting to see what Tiger Woods does.  I will remember you when we see how it all plays out.  🙂

  6. Beth says:

    I love Joe Nichols too.  I saw him in concert a couple of times when he was first starting out.
    I know you miss the girls.  Sorry I missed you on IM.  I had something happen with my connection and when I came back on you were gone.

  7. Tracie says:

    Thanks for the sports update!  LOL  LOVE Joe Nichols

  8. nodope says:

     
    Mmm…I got nuthin.
     
    Bracing for another snow storm (weeee)
     
    Your tune wouldn’t even play for me tonight.
     
    I’m goin to bed
     

  9. Twila says:

    Well, you may not have rain, but WE certainly do!  And SNOW tomorrow!  DAGNABBIT!  Can’t seem to get Mother Nature to cooperate at ALL!
     
    Normally I’d be cheering for Tiger, but we have a central Iowa boy right there in the midst of it all, and defending champ from last year’s Masters, Zach Johnson!  So, guess I’ll have to keep my fingers crossed for Zach again this year.  So far, so good, but we’ve got a lot’a holes to hit before it’s over.  🙂
     
    Have a great weekend Bob! 

  10. Born says:

    Hi Bob
    Just got to work and thought id check out what you were up to. sorry couldnt catch you yday.Inspection went on forever . I had lunch at tea time. imagine that. maybe today ill catch up with you. A couple of years ago I used to do an account called Consenso. they were into the manufacture of NHL boxer shorts. I did so many prints that year– Toronto Maple Leafs, Chicago Blackhawks, Ottawa Senators,colorado Avalanche, New York Rangers,Montreal Canadiens, Florida Panthers…….Needless to say all the men in my family were sporting these boxers totally unaware of what NHL is about. LOL. But I still have relatives asking for them since they were so roomy.LOL I had kept a couple just as soveniers but i think probably i threw them in the end. okie got to go now. hope  the ducks managed to resurrect themselves in the end.

  11. CAROL says:

    YEOW that is a sore spot about the TIGERS here in the mitten state.. Maybe a raving rant could get them motivated I think they lost their MOJO!!  As far as TIGER goes.. he always seems to come thru when needed. WOnder if a person who is a virtual no body will win it this year….   take care and have a nice weekend.. heck you could be here and it 40 and snow flurries .. DAMN IT!!  😛     

  12. Rambling says:

    Sorry Bob, but I had to smile at your rant.  I only smiled because I would have and have done..the same.  Not particularly the same teams, but the topic of sports, indeed I have.  Not too often in the blog. I need to throw down the gauntlet in front of you maybe, and see who can be the most "rant-acious"!  🙂  When I get going, I am an unstoppable force.  (yeah, riiiiiight) Have a good day when you get up and face the day and the sports news.  😉

  13. ♥ Aimee says:

    coming to visit is a great idea…BUT i don’t know if i will have time before baby and i know i really won’t have time tio travel that far away when baby is here…
    ♥~♥ :oD most smiles are started by another smile… :oD ♥~♥

  14. Isabelle says:

    I really feel sorry for your aunt….but just tell yourselves that anytime soon there will be no more suffering for her.
     
    Take care,
    Isa
     
     

  15. Jean says:

    You need to quit just adding to posts!! Sorry you’re down, too.. especially sorry about your aunt. Yeah.. cancer sucks, huh? I know you know.. Sorry you all are having to do this, too…
    hugs,
    Jean

  16. Steve says:

    Good luck with the Ducks.  Sue is mad that we cannot get the Habs shown here in Missouri.  I did find the game on XM Radio but it is still not the same thing and I am sure you know what I am saying.   

  17. Sue says:

    I’m a little baffled by the Tiger’s slow start this year as well.  I was able to watch only one game (living out here on the west coast), and was sad to see some of the stars from last year gone.  Ordonez seems to be having a slump of sorts, but know he will pick it up soon.  I think they did this a couple of years ago, then came back the second half of the season to WIN the Championship.  You never know with them.  They have a lot of bat power, but they just haven’t shown it yet.  Still rooting for them, though….

Leave a Reply

