HOT….. And HOTTER!!!!

 
UGH!!!  Yesterday our area had the hottest temps in the country.  It was 98F!!  And today?  99!  I just checked the thermostat thermometer and it read 85 in here.  So we broke down and turned on the A/C.  In April!!  Even the dogs refuse to go outdoors.  Tomorrow it’s supposed to ‘cool off’ to 77 and by Tuesday, 64.  So for all of you folks living with snow and cold weather, there may be some warmer weather heading your way!
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
 
We have tons of moroccan food here so we invited the son of our aunt who passed away, over for dinner tonight!  He’s pretty much an A$$  but he was SOOOO nice to her during her last weeks.  He finally came through!  So, Moroccan Chicken, Couscous, Cumin Potatoes, Cucumber Salad and sauteed Squash/Zucchini!  Oh yeah… And Brownies for dessert!
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
 
 
 Opened the newspaper this morning and saw this photo on the front page:
 
Compton
 
Five people were injured, four critically, Saturday afternoon when a twin-engine aircraft crashed nose first into a Compton house and sliced into the one next door with one of its wings, authorities said.

The Cessna 310 crashed just before 4 p.m. in the 500 block of West Cypress Street, said Ian Gregor, a spokesman for the Federal Aviation Administration. The craft came to rest with its tail sticking almost directly upward from the middle of one of the houses in a neighborhood of spacious, modern homes.

The plane, which was registered in Nevada, was heading from San Diego to Hawthorne Municipal Airport, Gregor said. It was about a mile and a half away from Compton/Woodley Airport, a general aviation field, but he said it was unclear whether the pilot was trying to make an emergency landing.

Compton Deputy Fire Chief Marcel Melanson said two of the injured were the plane’s occupants and three were on the ground.

He said some had already been pulled out of the house by the time firefighters arrived. All were taken to area hospitals.

A neighbor, Kenneth Wyatt, 48, said he was sitting in his house watching TV when he heard an enormous thud.

"It shook my house," he said. After running outside, he initially saw nothing. Then he saw the debris and smoke.

"An airplane had come through the roof of my neighbor’s home," he said, still incredulous.

Wyatt said he saw a young woman — the daughter of one of the house’s renters — at the window yelling for help.

He and two other people tried to open the door of the badly damaged house but couldn’t get it to budge. They helped the young woman out a window, and when she said her mother was inside, they clambered through the window themselves to search for her.

"I saw the pilot, so we got him out," Wyatt said.

Then he spotted one of the residents of the house moving under the rubble. Several people struggled to move that man out of the home through a sliding-glass door.

"You could smell the fumes," said Wyatt, his jeans stained with the blood of the injured whom he helped. His own house was spared structural damage. But his backyard gazebo was ruined by debris from the aircraft, he said.

"It’s not the first time we’ve seen someone pulled out of a plane," said Wyatt, who has lived in Compton since childhood.

It has not been the best weekend in So Cal…

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

As for me?  I watered…. TWICE!!,  Watched my Phillies lose to the Cubs (Great game), and then watched 4 hours of a ‘Deadliest Catch’ marathon on Discovery. 

As a change of pace from Country??    Beatles!   OLD Beatles!!!!

Have GREAT weeks!!

 

PS:  Screw the Beatles!!  This is better!!!!!!!!!  Mark Wills!

Emotions have been high here and I went through a dozen tunes before I decided on this one!!  No idea why!! 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to HOT….. And HOTTER!!!!

  1. Rambling says:

    any man that likes the Phillies is a friend of mine!

  2. Beth says:

     I am sorry about the heat you are having.  It was in the 30s here all day.
    I am not fond of the Beatles.

  3. CAROL says:

    YEAH.. some of us would love some heat.. ANY HEAT.. so pass it this way please.. it is getting really sad here all this white stuff and cold every single day. UGH is the right word for it!!!   Hope your dinner went well.. Hang in the winds will shift sometime or another..  take care..  : )

  4. renay says:

    your having real warm weather. we had to turn  fans on last week.

  5. MizAngie says:

    I had my thermostat for the heater set on 60 and it came on a while ago. What the…? It’s supposed to get down to 34 tonight and then back to low 80s by Thursday. Sheesh! The weather is kinda like me – hot & cold and you never know when. Hahahaha!!
     
    Later, Bobaroo…

  6. Hope says:

    the past two days its been lovely here.. got up to 61 degrees.. "smile"
    won’t last long though, as another rain and snow storm is to come through sometime this coming week..
    such strange weather all over..
    hope your weeknd was nice..
    soft hugs Hope
     
     

  7. nodope says:

     
    99 degrees…you say that like its a BAD thing!
     
    I just can’t imagine a plane crashing into my living room – I’ve tried before, when I heard a similar story, but no luck. If someone were telling me the story first-hand as it had happened to them, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to say "I know how you feel". JUST CAN’T IMAGINE IT…

  8. Laoch says:

    Go cubs, go.

  9. J says:

    Good morning Bob! Have a great week.
    j

  10. Twila says:

    Go Cubbies!  🙂

  11. Jaysey says:

    It was so hot here the other day I got a sunburn just sitting outside for a bit.  Today, they’re predicting some snow mixed in with the rain.  I am SO sick of this bi-polar weather! 
     
    (Go Cubs!)

  12. Jill says:

    i’m with you on the heat, bob!   i live really close to palm springs so add an additional 10 degrees to your temps…..ugh ugh ugh……and what do i do when ugh is my emotion?!   run away to d-land with the kids!! lol
     
    on my way in an hour…..lalalalalalala   it’s only suppose to be 80 there
     
    68 tomorrow!!!!!!!!
     
    i’m stopping by (kids in tow) for chicken tonight!   send directions QUICK!   hahahaha

  13. Jade says:

    I woke to that news this morning-incredible guy that neighbor helping everyone!The heat is why I will probably not move south- I think it is only going to get worse.Even though I LOVE the desert & southwest.. :(All that food talk is killing me!

  14. Hope says:

    Screw the Beatles???????  shessh.. "rolling my eyes"..
    shame shame shame..
    "smile"
    I don’t have a speaker hooked up right now so I can’t hear the song you REPLACED of the Beatles.. so I really can’t yell at you for now.. FOR NOW mind you.. (laughing).. but I wil lhave my son hook up my speaker very soon. so your not off the hook yet dear friend..
    answer to question.. yes..
    do you remember question??
    sorry.. have to give you a hard time.. screw the Beatles.. my heavens..
    still give you soft hugs though.. so your not in deep deep dodo..
    laughing once again..
    see what you do.. you make me laugh.. sheesh..
    have a beautiful day Bob.. and ya.. your forgiven..
    soft hugs..Hope
     
     

  15. ♥ Aimee says:

    don’t think i have ever seen a plane in a house before…♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥ 

  16. buttons says:

    Think that pilot took lessons where I learnt to drive, I tend to park like that!! lol
     
    Hot weather!!! You do like to rub it in dont you. I got soaked today picking Joseph up from school it was hailing as well so it hurt!!! We’ve had a bit of sun lately but its still chilly and I’ve still got my winter undies on!!
     
    Bert and Ethel have been on a world cruise, they should be back anyday so I look forward to hearing all about it and of course will pass on the gossip!
     
    Well my dear friend I have to go and make a nice cuppa tea now as I’m gasping (its been atleast half an hour since my last cup!).
     
    Take care and a BIG ENOURMOUS HUG as i havent been round for soooooooo long xxxxxxx

  17. Kat says:

    So these plane wrecks are a common occurance?? Gads!! Add that to the list of freaky things that happen in California! (LOL)

  18. _ says:

    I got a sunburn when I was out with the kids on Friday. It was in the low 80s here. Whatever happened to Spring??? P.S. Have you seen Across the Universe? Great movie with a Beatles soundtrack.

  19. Tracie says:

    Bad accident!  That’s too bad
     
    Just had to stop by tonight & see what was playing! 

Leave a Reply

