Savants!!! Holy Crap!

 
I’m watching this amazing program on National Geographic Channel called ‘Memory Masters’.  Unbeleivable!!!!!  Some were born Savants, some became Savants and some are Idiot Savants.  Remember the movie ‘Rain Man’??  This guy, Kim, is the person the movie was made about.  He has memorized every highway route in the U.S., every zip code and every area code.  He has read over 10,000 books and can recite them back word for word!!  He also read the New York City bus schedule ONCE, and was able to read it back a year later!  Problem is, he can’t fry an egg, tie his shoes and his Dad has to dress him.  But, he can read two pages of a book at the same time!
 
Another guy was hit on the head with a baseball and since then, 20 years ago, if you give a date and year, he can tell you what day of the week it was and what he did that day.
 
Still another is a Mathematics wizard.  They asked him to divide 64 by 187 and he immediately, IN HIS HEAD, gave the answer……. 150 numbers after the decimal point!!  He can solve PI to the Trillionth!!!  Now he is solving Prime Number problems… again, in his head!
 
And this guy ‘Howard’ can tell you the result of every soccer game ever played and every horse race ever run!!  But he is on a street corner in London and can’t find his way back to his hotel or get on a bus.
 
It’s like these people have a huge hard drive in their heads, which really a brain is, except theirs are huge and fast!  I can barely remember what I did last week!!  LOL
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
 
I think we just had a small earthquake!!  Small is GOOD!!!  When the floor rolls under your feet??  NOT fun!!
 
Now, as for ‘Show You Garden Week’, I have been ‘advised’ to postpone it until late July or August, so OK!! 
 
BTW,  My wife is attending the Lakers playoff game tonight…….. and I’m NOT!!!!!!!  Wahhhhh!!!!!!!
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
 
As promised, I will knock off the sad songs for a few days.  I have a few ‘lighter’ ones that I think you will enjoy!   Blake Shelton.
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
 
Quick question and I am done!!  Does anyone else think that ‘King of Queens’ is the funniest TV show EVER??  I watch two half-hour shows of reruns every day and if wasn’t for me actually sitting a chair, I would be on the floor!!  HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   One of my favorite lines was when they paid off their credit card!!  ‘Paying off the Mastercard Bitch??  Priceless!!’  LMAO!!!!   Sorry!!   I was on the floor trying to type here…….!
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Health and wellness. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Savants!!! Holy Crap!

  1. Rambling says:

    I so wish I had seen that.  I am fascinated with Savants! 

  2. Beth says:

    Amazing what goes on in a person’s mind.  I have a great niece that is 16 years old and autistic.  She speaks very little and eats only a very few kinds of food.  She can set down at a computer and type the most amazing stuff.  Her mind is brilliant.
    Take care my friend and don’t overdo on the TV.
    Luv,
    Beth

  3. David says:

    All in all I’d really rather dress myself and not know every route in the U.S.  Still, I guess the dad could rent the kid out for trips.  And now it’s time for Wapner…

  4. Jean says:

    I may not be the brightest bulb in the box, but I can dress my self, and get home from places!!!  (most of the time..) lol Interesting show..

  5. Jade says:

    I love shows like that – science & biology are my fav.
    80 here! yaaay!!

  6. Jaysey says:

    Those shows always amaze me.  People amaze me.

  7. Jane says:

    I guess I’ll settle for my simple mind…

  8. Raven says:

    Definitely not my underwear…definitely.
    Not only can I dress myself, but I can UNdress myself and others! 
    Love King of Queens, which I’m fairly certain is why it was discontinued…I’m certain it’s a conspiracy of some sort.
    Hot water burn baby!
    Sparkly kisses~R

  9. MizAngie says:

    My boss says I’m a phone number savant. Everytime he asks me a phone number and I give it to him he says, "Judge Wapner comes on at 5:00." Smartass. Ha!
     
    Blake Shelton’s girlfriend, Miss Miranda Lambert, has had assault charges filed against her after an incident at a local club. She was in town doing a fundraiser for the local chapter of the humane society and I guess went out to do a little partyin’ afterwards. Some chick wanted a picture, became pesky and persistent, Lambert supposedly shoved her. Five days later the girl filed charges on Lambert. So exciting! NOT. She’s getting her picture on the news, though, so I hope she’s enjoying her fifteen minutes (or less) of notoriety.

  10. Tracie says:

    Just stopped by to check out the lastest music choice!  Good pick BoB

  11. Holly says:

    I think my neighbor has a dog that is a savant. She dropped a landscaping stepping stone on his head when he was a puppy. He is anti-social and will bite but when told to "clean up the house" he brings stuff on the floor to her. It seems like he understand English. She will tell him something in a long sentence and he friggin does it. Bizzare.

  12. Rambling says:

    Bob, you’ve been tagged!  (why should *I* have all the fun?)These
    are the rules.

    Link the person
    who tagged you. Mention the
    rules in your blog. Tell about 6
    unspectacular quirks of yours. Tag 6 following
    bloggers by linking them. Leave a comment
    on each of the tagged blogger’s blogs letting them know they’ve been
    tagged.Have fun.  My 6 are in my blog today.

  13. Sue says:

    Yes, I saw that National Geographic savant special.  That rainman guy was spectacular.  Have you ever seen the movie, "SHINE"?  It was based on a real person who is a music savant as well.  Also, look into the film, "Mozart and the Whale" as it is about a group of folks — some are savants and some are just plain crazy.  It is a very interesting topic, though—how they can be so versed in a certain subject but unable to perform daily tasks.

  14. Cin says:

    Bob you kill me.  🙂

  15. Jane says:

    I’m just not seeing the whole tag thingy… am I just too special to get it?

  16. Patty says:

    Hi Bob, nice meeting you..I see that you are from California right??  welly ou will have to understand that  our gardens up north are just coming up now so if you will give me a little time I will be happy to share pix of my garden…I love working out there…It isnt fancy but let me tell you there is a lot of love and hard work for this old gal..ext time you come bye would you please sign my map…it is fun to see where everyone is when I am commentingto them..
    Later 

  17. ♥ Aimee says:

    i have always wanted to feel an earthquake…a little one…but then again i guess you should watch what you wish for eh?♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥ 

Leave a Reply

