Homeless Friend

 
There’s this old homeless guy who I often see sitting by the ‘Smoke Shop’ next to Albertsons.  The usual thing..  shopping cart full of his personel crap, ragged clothes, disheveled hair and a scraggly beard. Well, I started giving him a few dollars whenever I saw him, but today I gave him $5 and sat down to talk with him.  His name is Billy!  Turns out he is a VietNam Vet like me.  We both lost something..  Him??  His family and his left arm!   Me??  My faith in our government and my vocal cords.  He smelled something awful and I thought about inviting him here for a shower, but I know that the wife wouldn’t have it!  So, next time you see a ‘BUM’ holding up a cardboard sign??  Give him a ‘buck’ or your change!! And if he’s a Vet??  Remember that he is a Hero that fought for You and your Freedom! 
I will be back to visit Billy!
 
I’ll try got get a pic of Billy!!
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
 
Gardeners come today!!  It’s always exciting to see what ‘extras’ they will perform!!  I have bottles of cold water ready for them but I need to pick up the 104 balls that my dogs have left in the backyard!!  There are NONE in the house! What’s with That???  Of course, the dogs LOVE when the gardeners come…. about like the mailman and UPS!!
 
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
 
I’m gonna keep playing Jimmy Buffet but I wanted to play this song for Billy, even though he will not hear it.
 
I know I promised Jimmy Buffet but I had to play this song for Billy!  Buffet tomorrow!
 
Hope your weekend is a FUN one!!
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Homeless Friend

  1. klaus says:

    I think, there are far too many "Billy"s. It saddens me to see those who gave so much, get so little in return.Have a god day Bob~kgvs

  2. MizAngie says:

    There’s a guy that stands on the corner during morning and afternoon rush hours holding a sign "Will Work for Food." My friend got an extra McDonald’s value meal the other day when he got his own, and tried to drop it off for the ol’ guy. The beggar refused the food and asked for cash. Hmmm….
     
    Forgive me for being a cynic.

  3. Cindy says:

    Hey Bob, that was sweet of you…..And I bet you mad his whole week.
    You are a Good man.

  4. Beth says:

    So sad.  There is a ‘Nam vet in Champaign who lives on the street.  He wears his uniform all year long and in the winter he wears a long kaki coat.  He carries a black plastic bag with his belongings in it.  Have you ever heard Jones sing Wild Irish Rose about a ‘Nam vet living on the streets?  If you haven’t send me your email address.

  5. Rambling says:

    Seeing men like that is such a downer for me always.  I hate it for them.  I just hate it so much.  Poor guys with no job..addictions..no home..no hope, no love.

  6. DANA says:

    It’s great you stopped to speak with him. Just visiting with him and allowing him to feel like a normal human being is worth more than any money. I was a case worker for the state and the homeless surprised me the most. 99% of the them very intelligent some socially inept, some just with bad luck, loss of job, whatever the reason. One of my homeless guys would make appointments with me for no apparent reason other than just wanting to talk with me. He would show me his poems he wrote, or new recipies he had thought of. People forget these are real people with different stories, different pasts, and we are all about 2 paychecks away from being homeless ourselves. Sure there are some scammers out there, but you can usually tell which ones are truly in need. I would rather give someone aid not knowing if they really need it than to pass someone up that truly needs it.
    Good job Bob!
     

  7. Laoch says:

    Jimmy Buffet rules.

  8. Jade says:

    but for the grace of god go I..

  9. Sue says:

    I don’t like to give money to the guys who hang out because they usually reek of bad wine or beer and I wouldn’t want to be an enabler.  BUT the other day in a grocery store (that also sells local bus transit ticket and is a stop for the transit), a young nice looking boy came up to me (when the store was practically deserted) and asked if I could give him a dollar to get a ride home on the bus.  I know, for a fact, that the ride IS just a dollar, so I gave him one and told him, "I don’t usually do this, but you look like an honest kid and I’ll trust you to use it for the bus."  I’d want someone to do the same if my son, M, was in a similar situation and needed a way home.  Don’t regret it at all.  What goes around, comes around.

  10. Kat says:

    You have a very large heart, Bob-a-roo 🙂

  11. Kat says:

    You have a very large heart, Bob-a-roo 🙂

  12. Kat says:

    You have a very large heart, Bob-a-roo 🙂

  13. Stephen says:

    Bob –
     
    What a thoughtful guy you are, like there was any doubt really. At least now you know HIM and not what we think someone might be or not be. You’re probably the first person in a while to approach him like you actually CARE. What a great guy you are!!! 🙂
     
    Peace –
    Stephen

  14. Tracie says:

    Aw Bob you’re soo nice!  Love this song!

  15. CAROL says:

    WOW E WON how exciting. I loved hearing it on the radio..NOT.. anyway.. it was exciting for him.. so cool to do it on Father’s Day too.. Hope your day was good. We fortunately have no one sitting on our streets here in this small town.
    Oh I know we probably have some someplace around but they are never out in the public streets like they are in Ca.
    Good for you.. I am glad you know who he is.. Bless your heart.. he probably really hadn’t had a conversation with one  person in a long time. I think I would have gotten him some food too.. Take care..  : ) 

  16. Bridget says:

    you know bob…everyone’s got a story. you can’t exactly look at someone and know what’s happening anymore… honestly you probably never should judge by looks anyways. I knew someone who would get asked for money from everyone he walked by…he would talk with the folks, find out what they needed the money for…that way he could buy them lunch or bus fair or whatever that way the money wouldn’t be used to aid an addicition.

Leave a Reply

