Lakers/Celtics

 
Important game tonight!!  Game 6!  If the lakers can win and take it to a Game 7,  anything can happen!!  Maybe History!!  It’s gonna be LOUD there!!  "Beat L A", "Kobe Sucks", but the Lakers are fortunate to be there!!  The Celtics, on the other hand, have injury problems, a short rest and a long flight between games 5 and 6! 
 
Footnote:  The Celtics have yet to win a Championship in this building!!  Gone is the dreaded ‘Parquet Floor!’.
 
Anyone familiar with ESPN’s Stephen A. Smith??  What an ASS!!  Just another ‘Talking head’!!  Big mouth, Tiny brain!!
 
I read these zingers from David Letterman today regarding the NBA Refs fixing games!!  LOL!  ‘How you know an NBA game is fixed’:
 
 
*  " Game begins 20 minutes before visiting team arrives".
 
*  " One of the Laker Girls looks suspiciously like Pete Rose"
 
*  " Whenever he’s open, referee takes a shot"
 
*  " The Knicks won a game"
 
 
From Jimmy Kimmel….. "I can’t wait to find out who the NBA decided to win this thing…. I heard they shot multiple endings"
 
One more from Sports columnist Scott Ostler from the San Francisco Chronicle:  "One game, Kobe Bryant can’t get a call.  The next game, he is awarded two free throws when the national anthem singer hits a bad note"!! 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
 
Read an article in the L A Times about baseball fans being hit by foul balls!! 
 
Although there are no official records for foul balls, some written accounts say the mark belongs to Hall of Fame member Luke Appling, who, according to the accounts, fouled off 24 pitches from the New York
Yankees’ Red Ruffing in one at-bat in 1940 before drawing a walk. Stats guru Bill James doesn’t buy that story, though, and says Roy Thomas, who played in the National League from 1899 to 1911, has the record with 22 foul balls in one at-bat.
 
Double-hitter

On Aug. 17, 1957, Hall of Fame member Richie Ashburn of the Philadelphia Phillies fouled off a pitch that struck Alice Roth, wife of Philadelphia Bulletin sports editor Earl Roth, breaking her nose. As Roth was being helped from the stands, Ashburn fouled off another pitch, striking Roth as she lay on a stretcher. She was not seriously injured.

Cubs lose!

Leading, 3-0, and five outs from reaching their first World Series in 58 years, the Chicago Cubs watched spectator Steve Bartman reach for a foul ball, deflecting it away from left fielder Moises Alou. Given new life, Luis Castillo drew a walk, starting an eight-run rally that propelled the Florida Marlins to the 2003 National League championship and earned Bartman infamy in Chicago. Alou said this spring he doubts he could have caught the ball.

Lovely gesture

Two years ago, Baltimore outfielder Jay Gibbons fouled off a pitch in the ninth inning of a game in Baltimore, striking his wife, Laura, in the ribs.

 
Strange stuff!!
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

My neighbor, you know… the Redneck?, poked his nose out today.  I tried to get him to lay face down on my lawn and recapture the moment but no dice!!  I’ll have to be patient!!  I think he actually tried to move his ‘rust bucket’ truck today!  First it wouldn’t start (Surprise!!) and now all four tires are flat!!  I think he needs to call in helicopter support!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

FYI!  I recently purchased earbuds from BOSE for My wife to use with her iPod!!  Fantastic!!  So when my headphones went ‘south’ I bought their ‘QuietComfort Acoustic Noise Cancelling headphones!!  Woooo Hoooo!!  It’s like listening to all of my music for the first time…. Only MUCH better!  GO BOSE!!!

Last Buffet song tonight…. for awhile at least!!  Then on to some new stuff!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lakers/Celtics

  1. Beth says:

    I have Bose speakers for my computer.  One of the best investments I made for my computer.  The sound is incomparable.
    By the way, I am a STL Cardinal fan.

  2. klaus says:

    Go Lakers!  🙂

  3. KatSoup says:

    I guess you can imagine the red wings stuff sold like crazy.  That happened right on time.  Thanks for you help.
    I want some bose earbuds for grass cutting.  I love the bose radio in my kitchen.

  4. Laoch says:

    Wow, Lakers just mailed it in.I have a pair of headphones from Bose that I like.  Very comfortable and decent sound.

  5. Jill says:

    so sorry about those lakers…….  *grin*

  6. ♥ Aimee says:

    helicopter…why not just torch it! 
    ♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

  7. Cindy says:

    Sorry Bob…looks like your team quit playing last night.

  8. Bridget says:

    Gooo Celts!!! I kind of win either way on this one…. old Lakers vs Garnnet(old Wolf)

  9. Jade says:

    sorry about your team Bob!Hope to see you on the net soon 🙂

  10. Twila says:

    Oh Bob.  So sorry ’bout the Lakers.  My condolences.  Although I’m not a Basketball fan, I was cheering for your team for  ya’.  Maybe I should have kept my nose out of it.  🙂  Ah well, there’s always ‘next year’.  Hope you have a great ‘res of the week’ anyway.

  11. Jess says:

    Hey so I noticed your background is green, is that a tribute ??!?
     
    Sorry !

  12. Sue says:

    Sorry to hear the Lakers lost.  Boo hoo.  Always been interested in the Bose products (ever since hearing about them on those Paul Harvey broadcasts) but never knew anyone who actually owned one.  So, the ear buds are really good, huh?  Bet they’re pricey, though.  But then, you get what you pay for.  Gee, too bad your neigbor wouldn’t "relive" that memorable moment on your lawn…HA!

  13. Rambling says:

    Frankly I detest ESPN’s commentary.  On college football especially.

  14. Jane says:

    Sorry boutcher Lakers.
     

Leave a Reply

