Cactus!!!!!! YIKES!!

 
Yes….. today was the always dreaded ‘Cactus Pruning Day’!!  Tools necessary:  Pruners, Gloves and LONG bbq tongs that will never again be used on the bbq!  This variety of cactus is FRIGHTENING!!!!!    Get within 6" and I SWEAR they jump out to get you!!  And trust me….. you don’t want that! 
 
Quick story….. Funny for you, NOT for me!  Came home from work with a 6-pack of beer (Corona, like it matters!), I set it down and it falls into the cactus!  We had just moved here and I KNEW NOT!!  Opened one, took a swig and……..Confused  then this,Crying  and then THIS!!!!!!! Tongue out!!!!    Have you ever tried to shave your lips and tongue with an electric shaver???  DON"T!!!!   It doesn’t work!!  OH MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Worse than the cactus!!  LOL!  Apparently electric shavers remove ‘taste buds’!!!    (DANA!!  Quit pointing and laughing!!!)
 
I’ve tried killing the cactus but to no avail!!  But I did find a way to remove the little spikey things, although I’m not sure about using this method in your mouth!  Spread some ‘White Glue’ (Elmer’s) on the area, let it dry and then simply peel it off!!
 
Wanna see pics of my nemisis??  No??  Tough!!  I want the world to be forwarned!!!  Dana???????  Stop!
 
Before!!
 
MVC-010S
 
MVC-011S
 
After!!
 
MVC-013S
 
MVC-014S
 
Do Not EVER grow cactus!!!!
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
 
The song tonight is by a fairly new artist…… Keith Anderson.  He’s actually more well known as a songwriter.  He has written songs for ‘Big and Rich’, but has also performed in duets with Garth Brooks and George Jones.   I heard this song for the first time today and liked it!
 
I’m off to remove the few remaining cactus spines!!  (Dana??  Sheesh!!)  LOL
 
Cya!!
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
 
Becky and I are canning Apricot Jam tonight!  Fruit from her Dad’s tree!  My job??  STIRRING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   But it will be worth it!!!
 
Pics!! 
 
Apricots!
 
Blog Photos 004
 
10lbs!!
 
Blog Photos 003 
 
Stirring
 
Blog Photos 002
 
MORE Stirring!!
 
Blog Photos 005
 
Almost Done!!   YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   SOOOOOOO GOOD!!!!
 
 
Tomorrow??  Final Pics!!
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cactus!!!!!! YIKES!!

  1. Beth says:

    The cactus is beautiful Bob.  If Keith Anderson sang with old jonesy he must be ok.  LOL

  2. Rambling says:

    you crazee thing!  Your nutz.  BUT you’d be the first to say it takes one to know one.  Righty O??

  3. DANA says:

    Any caged anything is going to not be tame enough to get near it. Now you shoulda let your drunk neighbor know about the beer in the cactus, he probably could have gotten it out of there for you for the price of a beer.
    As for getting rid of it, tell drunk neighbor that if he gets rid of it for you there’s a 6 pack waitin for him!
    You’re just not using the tools ya got Bob, beer and a drunken neighbor!!
    And of course I would never point and laugh when there’s an injury, but this would fall in the same category as naked people walking past me, it’s a snort and a giggle category. Now ya gotta bubble wrap your mouth! Lordy.
    {{snort, giggle}}

  4. klaus says:

    That doesnt sound very fun….Good song choice 🙂

  5. nodope says:

     
    I’m pretty sure that ten minutes and a shovel will rid your world of the prickly beast. Another cool trick to tending to the needles BEFORE they are hide-side? Plumber’s torche. No crap. Cook ’em off the plant then go about your business of destruction – pain free. I used to do landscaping in Texas and that’s how we prepared them for easy handling. Not a good idea if you want to keep the beast tho…
     
    Good luck my friend
     

  6. Louise says:

    Grilling stirring pruning, sheesh you’ve been a busy boy ain’t ya! Where ya been????? I keep looking for you but you ain’t been here so I’ve gone to bed lol. Lots of stuff happening here and I have missed your smiley face and me mate. I hope you ain’t put her in a pot and stirred?????
     
    Glad all’s well my friend and I hope you’re having loads and loads of fun.
     
    (((BIG HUGS))) and loads of bright blessings xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  7. Sue says:

    Used to can apricot jam back when I lived in Montana.  GREAT stuff!  Know how back cacti is!  Of course, artichokes are no picnic either….

  8. Tracie says:

    I’ve heard this song on the radio – I assumed it was Collin Ray-Good to know Keith Anderson.
     
    Pruning a cactus?  Does not sound like fun!

Leave a Reply

