Opossums!! Baby Ones….

I read a post  today from Isabelle (http://isasharon7.spaces.live.com/ about her trying to save an electricuted Mynah bird and it made me recall this….
 
This is actually a re-post of something I blogged about 3 years ago on my old (shut-down!!) space.
 
Eight to ten years ago our backyard was overgrown and so, it attracted Opossums.  Yes, there are ‘Possums in So Cal!!!  My ‘late’ dog Beatrice (Sheltie) would corner them until they ‘played dead’!  My solution was to throw them over the wall into my neighbor’s (Crazy Lady!!) yard!  LOL  I think she was throwing them back…..
 
Well, one morning I found a baby one….. then two more, and another and another 2!!  Total?  NINE!!!  I thought they were cute!!  The wife??  Not so much!!  So I collected them and put them in a dog carrier!!  Gave them water and fruit but after three days of them crapping all over each other, I knew that I had to do something.  Solution:  El Dorado Park!!  Lots of woods and cover.  So I pack them up and off we go!! 
 
Now the fee to get in there is $5, which made Becky roll her eyes!  Also, I was pretty sure it was illegal to dump wild creatures there, so I paid the $5 and found a remote spot!!   I dragged out the carrier, put it on the ground, opened the door and……….. They all ran under my truck!!  They won’t come out!!   Crap!!  Park Rangers are driving by and I’m waving!!  (Picture me on my hands and knees poking a stick under my truck!!)
 
Finally, after 20 minutes, they walk out single file and march off into the woods!!  LOL!!  The Seven Dwarfs +2!!  I get home and Becky (eyes still rolling!) looks at me and says, "You just paid $5 to release 9 rodents!  Idiot!"  LOL!!  But I felt better!
 
BTW, I haven’t seen a ‘Possum in years since!! 
 
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
 
More canning tonight which means……. More stirring!!  Is there an ailment called ‘Stirring Elbow’??  I think I have it!!  BUT…… It’s worth it!!  10 jars so far and 10 more tonight!!  If I’m lucky?  Becky will wear her ‘Fan Visor’ tonight!!   It’s hilarious but the darn thing works!!  See??
 
MVC-017S
 
MVC-018S

 
 
 
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
 
Musically tonight?  Something a bit more upbeat!!  LOVE this song!!  Great guitar work!!  Brad Paisley Rocks!!!!
 
Feel free to dance around the room!!
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Opossums!! Baby Ones….

  1. DANA says:

    What are you canning? I’m about to begin jams. Awww the possoms, that is so awesome you releasing them to the wild.

  2. DANA says:

    You’re stirring the apricots so does that mean you’re making jam then? I thought about doing nectarines, they’re out too but too much work for me so far. I got my strawberry rhubarb pie ready to go in the oven. So yum. The kids hadn’t had rhubarb yet and they’re always wanting what I have so I gave them a chunk and said "here, chew this it’s really good" , my girl is so stubborn , you know how sour they are, so she chews it with that weird sour face and says, "Oh yeah that’s really good"…me:  "You want more then?" ..her: "Oh no, I’m full" haha
    Colton wouldn’t try it after seeing her face. I’ve really got to get a new cord for my camera, the dogs chewed the other one.
    Hey I like your big kettle, I now have kettle envy. Mine is something I have from the 70’s it’s gold and brown and dented, but not on the bottom so it works good. 🙂

  3. Lena says:

     
    canning with fan visors.  You two are kinda kinky!
     

  4. _ says:

    I think I missed an earlier blog when you said what y’all are canning. Tomatoes??? Save me a jar.

  5. klaus says:

    That is a funny story. I had always heard that possums can be very vicious. Have a great weekend my friend.

  6. CAROL says:

    THEY ARE the UGGGGGLIEST nasty  hissing things. Ewwww we had them in Merced when I lived there. They were down by the river there and man what a mess they can make. I hated them.. I am with you if you feel better than that is all that matters. Apricot JAM. OH MY. haven’t had that in ages.. Loveeeeeeee it!!  Stirring elbow I think is related to painters wrist!!! LOL

  7. Jude says:

     
    I have a big weasel living next door….is that the same thing?  😉 ROFLMFAO
     
    Same old, same old here.  Hope you’re doing well.  Am going to attempt to not go insane this weekend, but with kids, ya never know! lol
     
    Take care and talk soon  🙂

  8. Cin says:

    Bob, you kill me with your stories.  Laughed at the picture of you in the woods.  Tell Becky it was definitely worth the $5.  Poor little possums.Love the visors.  Send whatever you are canning my way.  My mom and us girls used to can all the time, mostly tomatoes.Have a good weekend.

  9. MizAngie says:

    If God had meant for me to can he wouldn’t have invented Smuckers. So much easier plucking a jar off the grocery shelf than standing in a hot kitchen stirring for days…

  10. Sue says:

    Yes, I remember your oppossum story and I’m sure you remember me telling you about how my hubby found a dead one under our house!  The stench was so bad that we thought it was a leak in our septic tank!  Yech!

  11. Isabelle says:

    Hello young man!
     
    Thanks for visiting but no need to excuse yourself.
     
    In fact I too was lost in that thing called friendlist….and in a fight with boyfriend who complains I am too much in blogland. Everything adding up I am still in blogland but much lesser. Besides work is kick my ass…if only my ass was kicked and I was becoming richer but no….it is just work kicking my ass.
     
    Geez, the picture are great and I am still wondering what you gives are doing stirring with visors….I would have opted for googles!LOL!!!
     
    The opposom story was great and thanks for the mentioning. I also would have loved to see you trying to get the oppossums from beneath the truck but it indeed should that you have a great heart. One thing! I NEVER DOUBTED IT!
     
    As regards the Myna….I have not mentioned in the blog that the people passing by were all staring at me as I was jumping or running trying to get the Myna back……but what the hell:OP
     
    I will try to find my way up here more often!!! I PROMISE!!!!
     
    Take care Bobiroo!!!
     
    Hugs,
    Isa

  12. Gina says:

    LOL…  you’re too funny

Leave a Reply

