Tagged!!!!

I was tagged by Dana who I’m sure is pointing and laughing!!!!!  LOL
 
Each person posts the rules before their lists, then lists 8 things about themselves.  At the end of the post that person lists 8 other people they want to tag, then visits each of their sites leaving a comment that they have been tagged & to come to your space & read the post so they will know what to do.
Ok I have no rules, just list 8 things about yourself, the more embarassing the better cuz I love pointing and laughing at the expense of others.
 
Dammit!!!  OK!  These might not be all that funny!
 
1.  Born and raised in South Jersey near Philadelphia
 
2.  My High School got so crowded that we went to double-sessions.  The next year they turned into two High schools!  Triton Red and Blue!!  Of course, I was Red and sister was Blue!!  Made my Mom crazy!!  I went to school at Noon and had Basketball practice at 6:00 PM!!  They chose who would be in which school in alphabetical order!!  Our Marching Band was 17 people……. Mostly Clarinets!!  The other school!!  150!!
 
We lost out first ever Football game 72 to ZERO!!  But our Basketball team went to the State Finals and WON!!  OK… That was long!!
 
3.  After High School  I was drafted (1966) because the Government thought my Senior trip should be spent in Vietmam!!
 
4.  I was initally assigned to the Battleship New Jersey!!  That sucker did some damage!!  2000 lb shells (Volkswagen size!!) fired 36 miles and going thru 40 feet of reinforced  concrete before exploding!!  We once destroyed a mountain!! 
 
5.  I was then assisigned to a River (Swift) boat as a machine gunner.  BAD!!!  Saw LOTS of friends die……..  A few in my arms!
 
6.  When I arrived home??  (New Mexico), we were pelted with spit and feces!!  And words like ‘Baby Killers’!!  NICW
 
7.   I moved to Long Beach, CA.  I had already played the Trombone, so I worked my way around and joined a few bands!!  FUN!!  Mostly Jazz and Rock.
 
Almost done here!!  LOL
 
8.  Got Throat Cancer in 1986 and lost my vocal cords!  Speech therapy ( Esophogeal Speech) (sic) got my voice back!!  I worked for 25 years after that as an account!
MMMMMMM… Am I done?????   Is Dana Happy?????
 
I think just about everyone has been tagged but I’m tagging  Julie, Becca and Silly Me!! 
 
 
This song is for my friend Valerie!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tagged!!!!

  1. Beth says:

    I know that the way the ‘Nam vets were treated was just awful.  I had two brothers serve 2 terms in ‘Nam and a couple of nephews.  One nephew was in gorilla warfare and he returned home and comitted suicide.  Thank God you are still here Bob!

  2. Jude says:

     
    Thanks for sharing this, Bob.
     
    Hope you’re having a good weekend  🙂

  3. Joe says:

    I told you how I felt about your service…I still admire you and all that have served…you’re all heroes to me.  It’s great that you’re with us today for sure!  What would we do without you?

  4. Jane says:

    Good stuff!  I learned a few things.

  5. Valerie says:

    I hope you are having a great weekend…love the ‘George Strait song you added for me…thank you. I can find and download his ‘You Tube’ Videos but to find his ”MP3 codes’ so I can add his songs to my windows media player I have difficulty finding.
    Love…Valerie from Australia x0x

  6. Valerie says:

    Oops…missed saying I enjoyed reading about your life…I am a 1945 year old model…my 3 sons dad did not have to go to Vietnam…as he was doing an apprenticeship for Wall & Floor Tiling…so he was excluded…I was lucky not to have the worry about him having to serve in Vietnam. Take care my friend…Love valerie x0x

  7. Julie says:

    Bob, did I tell you before how I admire you for serving your fellow citizens? You’ve had a few trials in your life, I know, and I’m so glad you came through each one and are here with us and the great person you are today. Ok…now can I ask you something else? heh
    Do you feel the hard cold glare I’m staring into you for tagging me? lmao
    Stay sweet Bob…gimme a few minutes and maybe they’ll be something posted about me you don’t know yet! heh

  8. Rosebay says:

    That was a good read. I enjoted you 8 things about me. I went to a school on split seesions also. Noon- you would think it would have easy to get there but it was sometimes hard to make. Thank you for being a hero in a war with no winners. None of you should have been treated that way. Such a shame. I also read about your earthquake last week. I live in hurricane land but would not want earthquakes. At least a hurricane you know it’s coming. Well I am just out on a walk through. I’ll stop by again.

  9. Twila says:

    Bob-
    Hi!  Just  do some catching up.  Sorry I’ve been remiss in hitting my fav spaces lately.  Life keeps getting in the way.  Anyway, just wondering…Did you call the police to have those police ARRESTED?  I think I would have done something.  I’d like to think I would anyway.  Someone oughtta’ take them to the ground and kick ’em a few times!
     
    Funny thing bout that Indianapolis story.  We just watched a movie about it on tv a couple weeks ago.  Seems the movie was extremely accurate according to your writing.  Such a sad tale.  But I bet the Navy learned a few lessons from that incident.
     
    Lawn looks great!  Wish I could say that about mine.  I really need your guys here.  Speaking of, I think I’d better get out and water the tomatoes & peppers before it gets too hot.  Gonna’ be a real scorcher the next couple of days.
     
    Lucky Billy, huh?  Maybe you’re just ‘too tall’ for the camera?  🙂

  10. Tracie says:

    Some very good historical facts about you Bob!  I learned alot!

  11. Kat says:

    Dude…swift boat gunner–that’s a rough one–but to read how you were treated when you got back home? Horrible.
    Stupid ass ignorant people.
    I salute you, Bob-a-roo and once again thank you for fighting for our Country.

  12. Carol says:

    You are right BOB.. some of those are just not funny.. Bravo to you for getting through them! : )

  13. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need screen advertisings, digital sign, digital signages and LCDs? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    E-mail:sstar@netvigator.com
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[afbhhichdbedhd]

Leave a Reply

