Remember

 
Tomorrow is the 7th anniversary of 9/11.  Probably America’s darkest day. 
 
I remember waking up and my wife had the news on.  I couldn’t beleive my eyes!  Black smoke pouring skyward out of the South Tower of the World Trade Center!! 
 
9 11 a
At first I thought she was watching a movie but then the news anchorman was saying that a commercial aircraft had crashed into it.  Horrible!!  I went to shave when my wife yelled "Look At This!!!"  That was when the second plane smashed almost all the way through the North Tower.
 
9 11 b
 
I was late for work that day as I watched in horror as first one and then the other tower collapsed!  I drove to work like a zombie.  None of us got any work done that day.  We watched TV all day listening and watching the horror stories of people who had been trapped on the upper floors, firefighters still in the buildings when they came down and this!!!
 
9 11 c
 
It has taken me awhile to sort of get over that day but I will NEVER forget.
 
 
There were uplifting moments….
9 11 d
 
But many more tragic ones
 
9 11 e
 
I remember seeing an unforgetable interview with a 59 year old survivor.  He was covered in whitish and grey ash.  The interviewer remarked that he looked very uncomfortable and he said, "Physicaly I’m OK, but emotionally??  I know that this ash is bone and flesh."
 
I hope that we never forget that day.
 
Tonight, an appropriate song by Alan Jackson.  Isn’t This the perfect song???????
 
Just one question?  Where Were You That Day???  Tell me, and us, your story…..
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Remember

  1. Duckie says:

    None of us will forget that day.  My Marine son was home from CA that day.
     
    Wishing you well.
     
    Eileen

  2. Jaysey says:

    I heard it on the radio–and at first I thought it was a hoax.  I had to run to turn on the TV to double-check that it was real.  It was just so unbelievable.

  3. Sara says:

    I certainly won’t forget this day. horrible. I remember I was in sixth grade, eleven years old at the time, I was in the only guy teacher I had and it was either math or english class…and I came home that day and my dad was watching tv.  I don’t really pay close attention to what he was watching, but this day when I glanced at the tv, it caught my eye. at first I thought he was watching a movie, like a documentary or something on the history channel. then I realized it was the news and choose to listen to it. I was shocked and in horror..

  4. Sara says:

    I certainly won’t forget this day. horrible. I remember I was in sixth grade, eleven years old at the time, I was in the only guy teacher I had and it was either math or english class…and I came home that day and my dad was watching tv.  I don’t really pay close attention to what he was watching, but this day when I glanced at the tv, it caught my eye. at first I thought he was watching a movie, like a documentary or something on the history channel. then I realized it was the news and choose to listen to it. I was shocked and in horror..

  5. DANA says:

    I  woke up early from the phone ringing. I was tired because the night before I had seen my youngest son  Jeff off to his first duty to Ft Campbell Kentucky with the 101st airborne.Two weeks before that we buried my mom. My friend had left a message that said "turn on your TV, I don’t know if this will effect Jeff or not." So I yelled at Gary to turn on the TV. I couldn’t comprehend it. I kept asking him "What am I seeing?" When we realized what it was I sank to the floor and sobbed. Jeff called that evening and said the base was on lock down and they were awaiting orders to deploy. It would take about 6 mths and then he was sent to Iraq.
    I’ll never forget that day and can’t even think of that time without crying. The devastation was too much.

  6. Rambling says:

    I remember.  It was a gorgeous September day..brilliant with sun and crisp.  I used to smoke then, and I was leaning out the deck door smoking with an eye to the TV and GMA.  I heard them say Diane Sawyer say there had been an horrible accident.  My eyes swung to the TV.  As she was talking about that, I watched another jet that I thought was on its way to the airport as everyone had been ordered down.  But no.  In total stock still horror I saw that jet crash into the other tower.  On my way to Knoxville to pick up my oldest son and Igave him the opportunity to stay there and not come home…he chose to come home..the towers collapsed and then the Pentagon was hit and the plane crashed in Pennsylvania.  Our whole world was turned upside down and I have never been so stricken, as was everyone else, by anything in my life.  I stayed glued to the TV day and night until I had to go to work (midnight shift) that Thursday night.  I have never gotten over it yet,  I never will.

  7. Beth says:

    I will never forget the horror of that day.  The scenes play over and over in my mind.

  8. Jude says:

     
    I was home with my kids…they were watching Sesame Street, when I heard the oldest say "wow…cool!!".  They’d interrupted the CBC Sesame Street broadcast for the live footage from New York, my five year old (at the time), thought he was looking at a movie……..that was a hard one to explain……. :s

  9. renay says:

    i was home that day i had put my kids on the school bus. norma was in sixth graDE AND ANGELA IN FORUTH.
    i was homw with a real bad sinus head ace. i remebeerd when it happend i sat up in bed and watched in disbeleeief has it happend. i remeber that so well. i lost a couple of friends from school.
    afteer that had happened the schools relased that kids from school. but mine stayed a full day.
    when norma came home from school afteer they had seen that happen on tv. her response was . she held out both of her arms . saying at one point things were eeven. but after that happend . then the scales were on even. it really afcated my kids badly. they have nevere forgotten what happened.
    that day is awalys in the back of there minds.

  10. Jane says:

    We were tuned in to Sesame Street as usual (no breaking in on PBS), so I didn’t hear anything until I got to work.  I think it took a few days for it all to really soak in.  It felt more like a very BAD movie.

  11. JustinsAuntPatricia says:

     
    Bob,
     
    I actually had an entire entry about it that I posted earlier this afternoon. I was at work when it happened and I remember everything in detail; it will never leave me.
     
    Please stop by my space anytime!
     
    JustinsAuntPatricia
     
     

  12. Melanie says:

    Love the ‘Alan Jackson’ song. Even living in Australia, I remember the feeling of helplessness and fear we felt in this country the day the 9-11 disaster happened. We watched the TV continuously too. It is 9.34pm Thursday the 11th of September here now. My prayers are with everyones family, who lost a loved one, through that disaster, and anyone who is still suffering because of the affect it left on their lives.
    Lots Of Aussie Hugs~Melanie xxxx

  13. Joe says:

    I was sitting in front of my laptop in the Philippines where extremist Muslims were already stirred up, there was military on the streets and we were in a position where they were threatening to cancel our airline tickets.  We were scheduled to leave much later.  By God’s grace we made the changes necessary and came home.  No, I’ll never forget 9/11.

  14. BRIDGET says:

    I had worked the night before and gotten home at about 7:30am, so I was sleeping when it all started.  When I woke up later that afternoon I turned on the TV (I only had one channel, thankfully it was network so I got the news).  At first I remember being really really confused because I just couldn’t believe it was real.  Then everything else kept happening.  I will forever be haunted by pictures of people jumping from the towers.  I’ve had many nightmares about them. 
     
    I remember exactly what the day looked like where I was living.  And I remember thinking that it was such a beautiful day in Vermont…and something so horrible was happening to people not very far away.  It took me so long to wrap my head around that thought.  In the weeks after, I became obsessed with seeing EVERYTHING I could possibly see about it on TV and in newspapers and magazines.  It really affected everything I thought about for so long, and I still am very deeply affected by it, but thankfully it no longer is paramount in my mind (although I’ll never forget).

  15. Sue says:

    I remember tuning in to the TODAY show and upon seeing it, my older son, S, and I sat mesmorized by what we saw.  When I finally looked at the clock, I told S he’d better hurry up and catch the bus (at the bus stop down a steep hill from our house) to school.  He jumped on his bike (and left his helmet behind).  The next thing I knew, there was a knock at our door and a lady I’d never seen before said she picked up a young boy who’d crashed on his bike on the hill.  S walked in, in a daze, covered with scratches and scrapes.  In a panic, I threw him in the car and hauled him off to the emergency room.  My other younger son, M, went over to my sister-in-law’s house to get to school with her.  At the emergency room, the TV continued to show the tragedy while we waited for the doctors and nurses.  Luckily, S was OK—just a few bruises and no concussion—so he was patched up and sent back with me.  I think I kept him home that day—I don’t remember.  It was all such a blur.  But it was also a wake-up call for us Americans that have been so certain we are safe in our homes.  With the crazies in the world, no one is safe.

  16. CAROL says:

    Bob I gave my whole account at my space today. A day that surely willlive with us for a long long time. 
    God Bless those who lost their lives and the heroes who helped save our country and it’s leaders.  : )

  17. Shelly says:

    That was when I was off work.  The phone rang, hubby asked me to see what was happening in NY on the TV.  I turned it on and my life has never been the same.   I will never forget.   I just wish we as a country could find and feel the unity we felt after that tragic day again.    

Leave a Reply

