Odd and Ends

 
My wife was on the road today….. to the Mojave Desert!!!   It was 109F!!  Part of her job.  She had to check out gas stations!!  And she decided to stay there overnight!! 
 
So I decided to watch the Oliver Stone movie ‘Platoon’,for like the 23rd time!!  My favorite movie!   It’s violent, the language is VERY iffy, or worse, but you know what?  It’s at least 90% like it was over there!!!  Scarey!!!
 
Charlie Sheen, Tom Berenger and Willem Dafoe and Johnny Depp are excellent!!  Actually, everyone is!! So if you have the guts, don’t mind the language and want to watch an excellent movie?, Rent ‘Platoon’!  I had forgotten what a great movie that one is!  Hard to watch, but GOOD!!
 
It was good to see McCain and Obama together at the World Trade Towers site.  But where was Bush?  And what the heck ever happened to Cheney??  Oh yeah…. probably out Dove hunting!  Oh well, neither of those two clowns will be around much longer.
 
It’s downright chilly here today!  Well, at least for So Cal.  Mid-60’s! lol!  It’s mid-afternoon and still no sunshine!!  Woooo!!  My kinda day!  Going to the grocery store soon and yes, taking my camera!
 
Oh yeah!!  I got my desktop up and running properly again and it only took 4 hours!!  lol!  First I tried to do a System Restore but no dice!  So I shut down and booted up in Safe Mode.  Reran System Restore.  That Always works!!  Then, feeling as if my ZoneAlarm firewall had been compromised, I uninstalled and reinstalled  it.  So far, so good.  I also added something from Zone Labs called ‘Force Field’, which is supposed to be hack-proof.  Yeah, right!  Everything can be hacked into these days.  But for $20 a year, I thought I’d give it a shot!
 
****************************************************************************************
 
I’m closing this endlessly boring post, but I just wanted to tell you about something that always makes me smile!  It’s when I go to Spaces Home and see one of my friends become friends with another of my friends!!  LOVE THAT!!!!!
 
***************************************************************************************
 
Durn it!!  Went to the grocery store and FORGOT MY CAMERA!!   And as I was leaving, a fire truck pulled up!  Sorry ladies!  There were 5 of them in their herd!!
One last bizarre thing.  The ice cream truck just drove by twice and the guy was playing Christmas Carols!!!  NOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Not Yet!!
 
Checking my calendar I see it’s time to play some Jimmy Buffett tonight!  The Other R U Serious theme song!
 
***************************************************************************************
 
Late Breaking News!
 

LOS ANGELES – A Metrolink commuter train believed to be carrying up to 350 people collided with a freight train Friday, killing four people and injuring dozens of others.

Firefighters extinguished a blaze under part of the wreckage and were working two hours after the wreck to free people from a commuter car left mangled, toppled on its side with the train’s engine shoved back inside it. Two other cars in the Metrolink train remained upright.

The Union Pacific freight train’s engine was also turned onto its side, with the rest of the train splayed out like an accordion behind it.

Los Angeles County sheriff‘s spokesman Steve Whitmore said four people were confirmed dead and 30 to 40 people were injured.

Firefighters treated the injured at three triage areas near the wreck, and helicopters flew in and out of a nearby landing area on medical evacuation flights.

One of the largest medical facilities in the area, Northridge Hospital Medical Center, was told to prepare for the arrival of injured passengers, said hospital spokeswoman Christina Zicklin.

"We are expecting some people. I don’t know the number yet," she said.

A male passenger told KNBC-TV he boarded the Metrolink train in suburban Burbank and was talking with a fellow passenger when the crash occurred.

"Within an instant I was in my friend’s lap. It was so quick. It was devastating," he said. The man was visibly injured, but able to walk with the aid of firefighters. The man said he was involved in a devastating 2005 Metrolink crash in Glendale and was talking about it with the other passenger when Friday’s crash occurred.

The trains collided at 4:32 p.m. in the Chatsworth area of the San Fernando Valley.

Metrolink spokeswoman Denise Tyrrell said the train left Union Station in downtown Los Angeles and was headed northwest to Moorpark in Ventura County. She couldn’t confirm how many people were on the train, but said that in rush hours there would usually be about 350 people on board.

"We don’t know if we hit another train or another train hit us," Tyrrell said.

She said the Metrolink train was being pulled by its locomotive rather than being pushed. The push mode is controversial due to claims that it makes trains more vulnerable in accidents.

Firefighters pulled passengers out a rear door and down a ladder from the toppled commuter car, which had been separated from the rest of the train by several feet. Crumpled and charred freight cars were strewn across the tracks. Dazed and injured passengers sat on the ground and milled about on both sides of the tracks.

The crash happened in an area where the tracks form a "U" shape, about 2,500 feet wide. At the top of the bend is a 500-foot long tunnel that runs beneath Stoney Point Park, popular with climbers for its large boulders.

The worst disaster in Metrolink’s history occurred on Jan. 26, 2005, in suburban Glendale, when a man parked a gasoline-soaked SUV on railroad tracks. A Metrolink train struck the SUV and derailed, striking another Metrolink train traveling the other way, killing 11 people and injuring about 180 others. Juan Alvarez was convicted this year of murder for causing the crash.

 Train01
 
Train02
 
Train03
 
Train04
 
Train05
 
Last we heard, the death toll was at 7.  Now they are saying 10 to 15, with 75 injured.  This is BAD!!  Rush hour on a Friday!  Something obviously went horribly wrong!!
They are still pulling out the injured and the bodies.
 
Now, the death toll is at 25.  The freight train split open the first 3 cars of the commuter train…
 
More news on Saturday.
 
 
 
  
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Odd and Ends

  1. MizAngie says:

    It’s not dove season…
     
    My friend’s son committed suicide while watching Platoon. I have a hard time watching it now.
     
    We’ve been listening to Jimmy Buffett today! My boss keeps playing the song about the hurricane. Ha!!

  2. Beth says:

    Come visit me and listen to old george sing Its Finally Friday.  Today is his birthday you know.

  3. Jude says:

    A firetruck….with five fire fighters…..and you had NO camera?????
     
    *sob*
     
    *SOB*
     
    But Bob….I NEEDED to see a firefighter tonight, I just needed to – you hear me???  😉
     
    Whew…now that that’s over and done with, hope you’re doing well Bob!  hehe
     
    Take care and talk soon 🙂

  4. Rambling says:

    well, at least you couldn’t take a pic of me!

  5. Fizz says:

    Glad you put your photo up on ur profile. I love to know who I’m talking to.I absolutely hate the movie Platoon. The language alone would be a reason why I don’t like it. The violence is way too much for me. The movie makes me physically ill. But, I’m glad you like it. Someone must have for all the awards it got.And all I gotta say is that you’ve got to make it up to me with the firemen. I fully expect you to hunt down a fire station and get photo’s of all of them! :)– Fizz —

  6. renay says:

    the gas prices are slowly creeping back up to four dollars a gallon. right now gas is 3.89 a gallon. i hope that your wife had a safe trip

  7. Joe says:

    Another reprieve as you have a batchelor party huh?  Now Bob, don’t do anything I wouldn’t do LOL!  I actually saw some of the 9/11 cerimonies but I guess it was pretty low key.  I think Bush did do somethings but the news has long since moved onto the next candidates…then everyone will be calling whoever’s elected next an idiot…America is nothing if not consistent in that regard.  I think you’re right "Platoon" is hard to watch but a good show.  That accident sounds like hell on earth..how awful!

  8. Jane says:

    I just heard about this on the news.  How awful.

  9. DANA says:

    You wooed..what the H? You wooed about the weather, I have to stop this random wooing…
    Wife is out, you mentioned partying it up and you sat and watched Platoon? Gee I wished I could have hit that party! 
    Yikes that accident is HORRID. Those poor people, someone was dozing at the main board I suspect.
    Hope your wife comes home soon I wouldn’t want you to wear yourself out or anything… 🙂 (You’re hanging out with Burt too much)

  10. Rambling says:

    This is horrible.  Do you have any further news yet as to what may have caused this?  I assume a horrible terrible mistake by the computer or certainly by the engineer of the train(s). 

  11. Jude says:

    Oh no!!  That’s horrible.  I hope they sort out what went wrong so that it doesn’t happen ever again!

  12. Sue says:

    My hubby’s fav. Vietnam movie is FULL METAL JACKET.  Have you ever seen this one?  He likes it better than Platoon.  Horrible about the train crash—bet it was a HUMAN mistake, though. 

  13. Jade says:

    I like your self portrait :DI just saw this on the news-terrible!

  14. Rosebay says:

    It was a crazy day yesterday.

Leave a Reply

