More Stinky Stuff!!!

 
No, not the same smell as Sunday’s…. WORSE!!  Actually I experienced the sight and ‘smell’ of this plant about four years ago at the Huntington Bontanical Gardens, here in So Cal.  What brought it to mind was reading ‘Rambling On’s’ post today (http://y12beta6.spaces.live.com/ about a cactus plant that she has had for years.  I looked around and I think her’s is an African Star Flower.  The one I saw, and smelled , was a Corpse Plant.  Good name for it!!  It’s bontanical name is ‘titan arum’.  Check this stinker out!!
 
TitanArum
 
It’s not quite as rancid as roadkill but still has a pretty potent smell.  The odoriferous five foot plant is nicknamed "corpse plant" because of it’s carrion-like smell.  It’s AWFUL!!!  The one I ‘saw’ had just bloomed for the first time in it’s 14 years.  It’s a native of Sumatra and one of only a dozen such plants in the United States.  This piece of rank-smelling foliage entices beetles and other bugs, that would normally nestle in dead animals, to lay their eggs in this plant and in doing so, the plant becomes pollinated.  It only stays in bloom for through one night……  thank God!!!
 
***************************************************************************************
  Watched my Phillies hang on to beat the Milwaukee Brewers today 3 to 2 in the first game of the NLDS.  Yippee!!!  Cole Hamels was awesome going 8 innings with 9 strikeouts.  Brad Lidge pitched the ninth and he was NOT!!  But he got his 45th save, I think, without blowing one this year.  Dodgers just got a Grand Slam and they lead the Cubs 4 to 2 in the 5th inning!  Geez!!  Later, Red Sox/Angels.  Go Halos!!!
 
 
Tonight’s song is another old one, this time by the Moody Blues from their album Question of Balance.  Love this band and Great CD!  Saw them in concert at the Hollywood Bowl. 
 
Hope you had a Wonderful day!
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to More Stinky Stuff!!!

  1. Ray says:

    I’ve heard of (not smelt) that plant….Why would anyone want one?…Go Cubbies

  2. Beth says:

    Since my Cardinals didn’t make it and since Illinois is where my corn field is I have to go with the Cubbies or the Sox.  Surely one of them will make it.

  3. Duckie says:

    Go Soxs!!!!
     
    Eileen

  4. Rambling says:

    I have a Stapelia but…it stinks horribly.  Who knew till it started blooming.I remember reading about that Titan Arum.  I would love to have seen it but man alive that is worse than my poor plant.  :-)GO PHILLIES!  Me too.  After all, I had to live up there a while and I learned to love the Phils. 

  5. Joe says:

    I’ve heard of that plant Bob!  Gosh, it’s huge isn’t it?  Reminds me of durian in the Philippines.  They said that it looked like hell and tasted like heaven…I’d say it both smelled and tasted like hell!  LOL!  It was a good day my friend, made complete with your blog.

  6. ♥ Aimee says:

    it bl0ooms for only one night? weird!♥~♥ :oD because you shared a smile…someone’s day got brighter… :oD ♥~♥

  7. Grandma's says:

    Hi Bob
    Thanks for stopping by.  I didn’t know that is why some of those plants have such awful smelling flowers.  Nature truly is amazing (I suspected it had something to do with their survival). 
    Always pleased to meet new people.  Looks like I have some reading to do to catch up on your blogs 🙂
    I post about every third or 4th day as time allows.
    I’ll be around. 
    Have a wonderful day tomorrow.
    Karin 
     

  8. DANA says:

    Yikes! That is amazing, about the plant, I’ve never seen such a thing, and thank goodness I don’t have a smellaport on my computer! Ewww. I would never guess a plant could get so tall, it looks like something out of a sci fi movie. WEIRD!

  9. Laoch says:

    Hamels is a pretty impressive young pitcher.

  10. sweeti's says:

    We have such a plant in Brussels…Time back he was on tv…
    A lot of ppl come to c..Not me.
    u better put ur nose in rotten fish.LOL
    tx for sharing this smelly entry  Yahooooooooo
    as always Give Bonnie a big hug from aunty MJ

  11. Sue says:

    Saw a dead Turkey Vulture in the road yesterday—talk about STINKY!  They really gross me out.  Oh, and there was an enormous dead wild boar beside the road last week!  We have a small herd of them around here, so one has to be careful with those evening strolls through the neighborhood….

  12. Shelly says:

    That is so freakin cool!  you get to see all the cool stuff!!
    Go Tigers! O.K. so they’re outta it like way outta it but I’m still lovin em… Now if they could only do something about those Lions!  YUCK.  tee hee
    xoxo
    Have a great day
    ttfn
     

  13. Jane says:

    Corpse plant, eh?  Part of it looks quite alive.

  14. I says:

     
     
      Thats one of the wildest things I have seen. It looks…ummm…well…I cant explain what!..LOL Looks like something from a planet that Captain Kirk would visit.
     
      Have a wonderful Friday!!
     
       xo T~

  15. MizAngie says:

    I think I would have named it "big ol’ stinky pecker-lookin’ plant." But that’s just me. "Stinkus Peckerus."

  16. -Grumps- says:

    Now, that is some big azz spire ‘a botanical which-a-ma-call-it. Does it have batteries?? *yikes … gg* Imagining the aroma of so many smaller flowers, not much of a stretch to figurin this one would pack some pretty big stink ta go with it. Tis hard to think that all ‘a the energy going into building such a blossom should last such the short time.

Leave a Reply

