Sunday Miscellaneous!

 
Well, never did get rain.  North, Sorth, East and West of of us got it but not a drop here!!  Grrrr!!  But it WAS alot cooler!  I’m sure we’ll get some sooner or later.  Probably later.
 
Had leftover Chicken and Dumplings tonight!  Better than last night!!  A few of you have asked for the recipe but it’s really easy. This will serve four.
 
You will need:
 
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
 
2 large carrots sliced into 1/4" pieces
 
2 stalks of celery sliced into 1/2" pieces
 
3/4 cups of frozen peas
 
2 14oz cans of of chicken broth
 
A box of Bisquick
 
Milk
 
 Cut each chicken breasts into thirds
 
Pour a can of chicken broth and chicken into a dutch oven and simmer for (maybe) 30 – 40 minutes until it is tender
 
Add the other can of chicken broth
 
Add the carrots and celery and continue simmering (covered) until they are tender
 
Using two forks, shread the chicken
 
Mix the dumplings (use the instructions on the box.  You will be using the ‘Drop’ method).
 
From there, just follow the instructions on the Bisquick box!!
 
 
These dumplings also work great with beef stew  and soups.  If you make these dumplings with beef stew?. Add a little more liquid.
 
You can also use cut-up chicken parts or even a whole chicken and make your own broth!  Just place a whole chicken in a large pot with water to cover.  Add  big chunks of carrots , celery and and onion and simmer. After it cools, take out the chicken, remove the skin, remove the meat from the bone and scoop out the veggies and discard.  You have chicken broth.  Add the sliced carrots and celery and again just follow the follow the instructions on then box.  Either way, it’s GOOD!!!!
 
***************************************************************************************
 
Had a GOOD day!!  Phiilies beat the Brewers and advance to the next round of the playoffs!  Dodgers?  HAH!!!  I thought I had more but I guess I’ll think of it a 2:30 AM!!  lol
 
 
I hope y’all like this song!!  Toby Keith!
Tired……  No time to spellcheck!  lol!!  You can’t screw this up!!
 
Wait!!  9:15??  God I’m getting old!!  lol!
 
Have a GREAT Week!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sunday Miscellaneous!

  1. Grandma's says:

    I would send you some of our rain, if I could…you are more than welcome to it.
    Thanks for the Recipe…gonna give it a try sometime this week…that should put a smile on hubby’s face.
    Well, I lasted a bit longer than you …it’s now 10:10 and yup it’s time for bed. 
    You guys have a great week.
    Karin
     
     
     

  2. Beth says:

    I always started with a whole chicken cut into pieces.  Becky’s recipe sounds good too.  I do love the bisquick dumplings though, better than homemade.

  3. Rambling says:

    Man, I’m like you…we need the rain so badly!!!Hey I headed in just an hour later than you wrote that about the time.  Sleepy time for me.  🙂  Watched the news highlights about the Phils when it came to Sports.  YES!

  4. BRIDGET says:

    Wow…I’m gone for a few days and look how much I missed!!  Sorry you had to fight so hard for your filet and lobster…but looks like it was worth the fight!!  Also, I can’t believe how big of a party your neighbors had for a one year old…too bad the kid won’t remember it when he’s older…but looks like it was fun just the same.  My friend just had a big (not that big) party for her two year old.  Seems weird to me, but I guess if I had kids I’d understand.
     
    I’ll wish for rain for you if that’s what you want.  I just turned on the heat the other day because it’s dropping down to the low to mid 30’s at night here!  I hate it!  I’ll take 60’s and 70’s any day!!

  5. Sue says:

    Big thanks for the recipe.  Will try it this week.  Sounds yummy and easy!  Hope the Phillies make it to the Series!

  6. Jill says:

    it rained about 1 mile east of us….but not a drop here…..so close we could smell it……aaaaaahhhhh…. =D
     
    rain or no rain, it was a beautiful weekend!

  7. Jane says:

    Dude, WE got your rain… ALL weekend.Onion?  Isn’t there any onion?Jeez, you have made me hungry… I’ll just go chew on my pencil now.

  8. Fizz says:

    I’d rather eat the chicken and dumps than make it, thank you. I just trot down to the local cracker barrel and get me some chicken and sliders! Yummy… and with out the hassle of cooking… my kinda yummy!

  9. I says:

     
     
      Wow, I had alot to catch up on here. You are making me hungry..LOL You arent getting old. You look young and spunky to me! You definatley write with alot of spunk. I like that. You make me smile every time I come here. Thank You for that.
     
      xo T~

  10. Stephen says:

    Bob –
     
    GREAT – Thanks for putting the recipe down for us to print out!!! You the man!!! Boy do I like chicken and dumplings, and I even can tolerate Bisquick with my finiky taste! Hope you are doing semi-decent at the very least. Boy, I miss a lot when I go out on holiday! I’m better this time though, I’m just about caught back up, thankfully! 🙂
     
    Peace My Friend –
    Stephen

  11. Raven says:

    We had rain here for about 10 minutes…does that even count as rain? Sheesh…
    The air show was AMAZING!
    Hope your week is off to a great start~R

  12. Rosebay says:

    OK now I am hungry. Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

