Rome, Gardeners, Ants and Mail

 
I finally was able to talk to Becky today.  They bought basic cellphones (no camera or texting) and special SIM cards for their trip so they took them in to a phone store and the guy told them. "These’a no gooda!!".  So they bought two new ones and are using the same SIMs.  Our arrangement is that I call her at noon my time, which is 9:PM her time.  Then I call her cousin and he calls to talk to his son.  Becky says that the boy has been a perfect traveling companion….. so far!!  They arrived in Rome at noon Italy time (3am here) yesterday.  The flight was long, 12 hours, but only half full.  So they each had a row to themselves.  They are now in Venice and yes, they took a Gondola ride!  They will be there until the 14th and then on to Florence.
 
****************************************************************************************
 
 Being Saturday, my ‘Super’ gardeners were here today.  As I do every week I brought them each a bottle of water.  When I got to their truck I witnessed them changing the blade on their mower to the one that has my name on it!!!  Amazing!!  When they pull their blower out they blow off any leftover clippings on the lawn.  Then they pruned the roses, cleaned out the bed and blew the crap off of the front porch.  Total time?  20 minutes.  NO, you can’t have them!
 
****************************************************************************************
 
With our temps in the upper 90’s/100’s range last week my old nemesis’ returned!!  ANTZ!!  Yes with a Z!!  And they (all 10,000 of them!) went straight for the dogfood I had just bought!  Now we store it a sealed conainer but as I keep telling Becky, it won’t work unless you seal it!!  So I had to dump 15lbs of food.  Luckily I has 25lbs left.  Then I had to kill the ants.  With 3 dogs, I don’t like to use ant spray and those ant traps never work.  So what I use is…… Windex!!  Kills them instantly!!!  Then I simply let it dry and vacuum their little carcasses and mop the floor.  The past few days the temps have been in the 60’s (I know… 104F to 64F in four days!!  And by Tuesday, upper 80’s), and guess what? Not an ant in sight!!  Come on Winter!!
 
****************************************************************************************
 
One last thing, and it’s not about sports!  Got 2 mail deliveries again today.  9:30am and 4:30pm!!  WTH??
 
Music SOON!!!
 
Hope you are all having a GREAT weekend!!!
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Rome, Gardeners, Ants and Mail

  1. Rambling says:

    you too Bob.  Glad all is well with Becky and you too.  I’ll remember about the Windex.  Be glad about the 2 mail deliveries.  Sometimes I hardly get one at 6:30 at night.

  2. Beth says:

    I am glad you are able to communicate with Becky. 
    I could sure use your gardners, are you sure they are not for sale?  LOL

  3. Joe says:

    Bob, that just makes me laugh about the Windex…sounds like that Greek family in "My Big Fat Greek Weding"!  Do you use it to soak a soar arm in or anything like that?  LOL!  Our gardener showed up today too:  the Snow and Cold Co. showed up and wiped every living plant out!  Fall fell flat on it’s face and the snow is still falling as I type this..see my last entry.  Temperatures in the 100s would likely give me  stroke at this point.  We had eighties just a week or so ago, what next?  I’m still waiting to see the pictures of Rome when you get ’em posted.  Have a great weekend buddy!

  4. Fizz says:

    I NEVER would have thought of index! I’ll tell papa, I’m sure that he’ll be interested. I mean… really something to kill AntZ!!

  5. _ says:

    Hubby and I honeymooned in Florence. What a city! Oh the memories!!! I hope she has a blast. And takes lots of pictures. Can you send me some offline?

  6. Jean says:

    I use those ant baits.. they work great here! You just have to get the right ones. Glad you finally got Becky. Be good while she’s gone!
    hugs,
    Jean

  7. Jude says:

    I put my dog food in a rubbermaid container….course i’m not trying to stop ants, but the mice that find their way in our houses when it gets too cold outside!
     
    Hope you have a good weekend, and give your mailman a slap, would ya? He’s making the rest of them look bad! ROFLMAO
     
    Ok….will not blog hop when drinking ever again….I promise!  LOL

  8. Grandma's says:

    Glad that you and Becky are no longer incommunicado. 
    Two mail deliveries?  Boy, you must be special…LOL
    I will have to remember the Windex for Antz. 
    Can’t wait for your music, oh and BTW…I love Rascal Flatts.  My hubby and I are country music buffs!!  Actually, I like pretty much all music but there is just something about country that makes me want to dance.
    Anyway…better hit the hay.  Having our Canadian Thanksgiving Feast tomorrow at my daughter’s but we have a lot of running around to do…pick up my mom…deliver extra chairs to my daughter’s, put the local Chinese Food Restaurant or Pizza Joint on Speed Dial (in case she screws up the turkey…it’s her first one)  LOL…Also got to do a border run to return my mom’s US visitor’s Visa to US customs (she still has a German Passport)…pick-up and ice cream cake…and probably a zillion other things that I have forgotten to write down.
    Our Canadian Thanksgiving is officially on Monday but we are doing it a day earlier…most people are.  Need Monday to recover from the feast so we will be all ready to cast our votes on Tuesday for our Federal Election.
    Hope you remembered to feed the dogs and Burt.
    Watch out, I may just come down and abduct your gardeners.
    Have a great day tomorrow Bob
    Karin

  9. Jade says:

    I will have to remember about the windex. wow-freaky they have a blade just for your property-geez!

  10. Kat says:

    Your wife sounds like she’s having a grand time!! I wanna go on a gandola ride!! *cries*
     
    We live on the river so we battle ants too. We have a dude that comes and sprays our yard and in our house from time to time. So far we have a handle on it….although the other day I had a window open upstairs right by where Guido the cat eats his foot (so he can get a little fresh air)…ants found it…they crawled all the way UP the side of the house (two stories), marched THROUGH the window screen and found his dry cat food in his bowl.
    Freakin bugs.
     
    LOL @ vacuuming up their carcasses!

  11. DANA says:

    We get those itty bitty ants, they are so pesky. Even Windex didn’t stop the onslaught of them but this year I found a major nest and hopefully they’re army post. Victory was mine! I’ve decided since you have extraordinary gardeners and mail service twice a month, you have connections somewhere… mybe they thing with all your picture taking they’re all being watched and have to do extra well in you area.. I think I will start taking pics myself!

  12. DANA says:

    I meant "their" Army post… I hate when I do that!

  13. Lena says:

     
    I looooooooooooooooooved Florence!!!!
     
    Phils game about to start.  Wouldn’t 4-0 be perfection?  2 down, 2 to go!
     
     

  14. Unknown says:

    Hi,Do you need digital signages, advertising displays, digital sign, advertisement displays and advertising players? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[cchjcajdageeec]

Leave a Reply

