Relief!!

 
Whew!!!!  Those strong winds that were predicted for last night never developed!!  Today it was pretty warm but calm and the smoke is gone.  Only one fire still burning and it’s about 50% contained.  About 1200  people are still in evacuation centers but should be returning to their homes (if they still have one) soon.Here are a few new photos:
 
 
42889548
 
42889732
 
42891752
 
42895635
 
42897764
 
42898496
 
Final tally:
16,000 acres burned and 49 structures destroyed.
 
 
****************************************************************************************
 
Becky and her crew took a train from Venice to Florence and will be there for 5 days.  She has taken over 300 pics so far so when she gets home we will edit them (bad shots, duplicates, etc) and I will post a photo album here.  They are having tooooo much fun and she says HI!!!!!!
 
****************************************************************************************
 
My Phillies beat the Dodgers again last night and have three games to win one and get to to World Series.  They play again tomorrow night in L A.  GO fighten’ Phils!!!
 
I really hope you  ALL are having a Wonderful week!!
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Relief!!

  1. Grandma's says:

    Those are pretty terrifying pictures…I am just so thankful those winds that were predicted did not develop.
    Thank you for the Link….love that song.  Now I am going to listen to the one you have playing now.
    Sounds like your Becky is a regular shutter-bug.  Glad she is having a wonderful time…lucky lady.
    So far, my week is going well.  I was informed today that yet another grandchild is under construction.  This one was a bit of a surprise.
    Take Care Bob….and I’ll keep praying that those winds hold off until the fires are out.
    Blessings
    Karin
     

  2. Julie says:

    I have come to the realization that each part of our Country experiences their own natural disasters. The pictures…the wildlife…peoples homes…so sad!
    I’m thrilled Becky is having such a good time. I look forward to seeing her pictures.
    Take care Bob. And be good! 😉
    Kiss those doggies for me!
    Julie 🙂

  3. Sanne says:

    Go Phillies!  Glad to see that Becky’s having a great time but then again who wouldn’t, right?  Unfortunate about the fires…you guys seem to have so many that are so huge that I can’t possibly imagine there’s much left to burn.  I just hope that everyone stays safe.
    Have a great week!
     
    Sanne

  4. Beth says:

    Hi Bob, I hope you are having a great day.

  5. Fizz says:

    Hey… I saw some of the Santa Ana on TV from yesterday… man or man it looked like it was rockin’. The fire fighters had their hands full.Interesting tid-bit… I was reading in one of my girlie mag’s that firemen get all the girls. Well… there’s a DUH!You’re wife sounds like she’s having so much fun!

  6. Shelly says:

    It kills me to hear of such devastation that the fires cause.   All those acres.  Man!  I know it’s needed for some species to replant/reproduce, but Man! All those other trees and living creatures.  The homes well they can be rebuilt 300 year old trees can not. 
    Take care and I’m glad to hear that Your beautiful bride is having a grand time.   300 photos !!  WOW!
    ttfn
     

  7. Sue says:

    Glad the fires are out—except the one under the Phillies!  Wow, they won again!  Can they keep it up???  We can only hope…

  8. DANA says:

    Again the news was on about those fires, are they not letting up? Are you still safe in your area? It’s just tragic.

  9. maillady says:

    The fires are awful. Hope you are safe! I have a theory about your mail. I am in a small town, with a rural route. I sort all my mail and deliver it daily. This time of year there is a lot of christmas catalogs and online offerings, plus the political mail(local and national).This is bulk mail, and I take it all at once. However, the first class mail is the only thing required to be delivered. Also, your mailman has a walking route. (I drive mine). So, first class mail is brought directly to the street for delivery, and bulk mail is sorted ,in office, and then delivered on a later time schedule. At least, thats what I think. I could be wrong.

  10. _ says:

    First of all, did you take those photos???? If so, what the hell were you doing that close to the fire? I’m telling Becky.
     
    Speaking of Becky… ah Florence… it’s where Hubby and I honeymooned. Have her take lots of pictures and eat lots of good food. Ah Florence. Now I’m not going to be able to get any work done around for reminiscing about Florence. Ah Florence.

  11. Louise says:

    I think I should send you my rain if you can send me your sunshine Bob
     
    Stay safe ok and look after me mate!
     
    (((BIG HUGS))) and bright blessings xxx

  12. Kat says:

    Is there ever a time that living in California doesn’t resemble Armaggedon?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

