Italy Update

 
Becky deleted some of her duplicate and fuzzy/over-exposed pics last night so without buying a new card she now has 180 photos left.  I think she’s going to put her photos on disk. 
 
They spent yesterday in Rome visiting the Vatican, the Colisuem, the Forum, and St Peter’s Basillica but they were too tired to make it up those steps!!  LOL
 
Tomorrow to Naples and then Pompeii, if their feet don’t fall off overnight.  Tonight they are staying in a cottage at a Nunnery named ‘Casa de Ferie Santa Chiara’.  Much more Italian than the Holiday Inn in Florence!   By the way, I think they are ready to come home.
 
****************************************************************************************
 
Tomorrow is trash pick-up day so we all put our bins out the day before.  Each week I receive a visit from this old Vietnamese woman who picks out any glass or plastic.
 
MVC-009S
 
I have talked to her and she seems really nice but hard to tell since she speaks NO English.  Who knows what she is calling me.  But she’s very methodical and always cleans up after herself.  I tried to offer her $5 several times but she adamantly refuses.  So recently I have started putting all glass items in a separate waste can and then placing them on the top of the bin.  Now she waves at me! LOL!!!
 
***************************************************************************************
 
I’m really getting antsy for the World Series to begin.  Wednesday night!!  GO PHILLIES!!!  I just hope they haven’t rested to long.
 
 
Diamond Rio tonight.  Something a little more upbeat and fun!
 
Enjoy Tuesday.  Santa Ana winds on the way here.
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Italy Update

  1. Beth says:

    You know what Bob, you have a heart of gold.  What a nice thing for you to do, separating the glass for that woman.  My garbage pickup day is Wednesday morning and each Tuesday evening this old beat up truck goes up and down the alleys sorting through the garbage.  sorry to disappoint them but there is never anything in my cans but garbage.

  2. Shelly says:

    You are so sweet.   A genuine good man.  I’m glad your my friend!!  Hope Becky’s feet are better for walking today.
    Go Phillies!!
    Take care and enjoy your day.  
    ttfn
     

  3. Sue says:

    I’m glad you were able to help out the old woman.  Sounds like she has her pride!  Our son, M, is giving all his proceeds from his recycling to his school class this year for field trips.  It’s a shame that schools aren’t able to fund those for the kids.  They have to make their own money for those…

  4. Grandma's says:

    Becky and her gang are ready to come home?  UNBELIEVABLE!!
    So nice of you to separate the glass and plastic for that lady….you are a very kind person. 
    Hope those fires are under control now, especially since the winds are kicking up again.
     
    Sorry I haven’t been around too much….these past 4 or 5 days have been crazy busy!!  Haven’t even had a chance to up-date my blog.  Hopefully tonight….if I can wrestle the computer away from hubby (he has found himself a new game to play).
     
    One of these days we will get around to chat.
     
    Have a great day Bob.
     
    I’m off to my mom’s again….Tuesday is the day I give her an injection for her Rheumatoid Arthritis and help her with laundry.
     
    Talk Soon
    ~Karin~

  5. Laoch says:

    Good luck to the Philadelphia nine

  6. Rambling says:

    YOu know *I* want the Phillies to win.  They have always and ever had me for a fan even when they are in the cellar.

  7. Stephen says:

    Bob –
     
    About every third week of the month, I leave a six pack of pop out for the trash collectors and you know they bring the cans up to the house and take just about anything I leave out there even though they aren’t supposed too. Hmmm, you know … that would be a great way to get rid of a body. LOLOL 😛 So treat your garbage men well, you never know when you might need them. 🙂
     
    Peace –
    Stephen

  8. _ says:

    Does she still wave at you even after you took a picture of her rooting through your trash? LOL Of course I’d wave at you regardless. See me waving at you? Oops. Maybe I should stop waving. I could be causing those Santa Ana winds without knowing it.

  9. Kat says:

    Bob, you have such a kind heart 🙂 hug-a-roos

  10. -Grumps- says:

    That’s a pleasant laugh bout you, yer trash, ’n this ‘seasoned’ Vietnamese woman. Occasionally, I see a couple ‘a fellas pullin trailers with bicycles, riding aluminium up ta Zubics. Pop cans for the most part, along with whatever other precious metals they manage ta scrounge up.
    I save me pop cans til I has a box-full, crushes ‘em, bags ‘em, offers ‘em up ta whichever of these fellas I sees next. For some, the smallest of gestures can make a day. I’ve no doubt this seasoned Vietnamese gal thinks of you fondly. Ode to they blinded by wealth so’s not ta see the riches of an smile.

  11. DANA says:

    She’s recycling other people’s trash? Wow that’s so eco friendly way above and beyond of her! What a cool thing to do and good you’re helping her cause! I’m still learning, being a child of the 50’s and being taught by my daughter I’ll maybe get it by the time I’m ninety. We had burner barrels.. I miss those, I loved the way the hairspray cans exploded. I’m sure we caused at least one glacier to melt.

  12. Georgia says:

    Love the story about the Vietnamese woman!  So sweet of you to cycle out the glass and plastic and put it on top for her.  I’m loving the fact that the Phils and Rays have made it to the world series!!
     
    Be great,
    j

Leave a Reply

