The Good, the Bad and Just My Luck!!

 
I was talking to my neighbor Mike at 4:30 and we agreed that the kids wouldn’t begin showing up until at least 6:30.  Then we looked down the street and here they came!!  They have been coming in waves of 10 but at least 30 minutes apart.  That and the fact that I have only given away half of my candy , well… I guess that’s the good.
 
The bad??  My camera (8 years old) went south on me after one picture!!  So here it is.
 
MVC-005S
 
Man??  I had planned on many more!! 
 
It’s 8:30 here and I haven’t had a trick or treater in 40 minutes!!  Heck!!  I have had 80 kids so far, down from 230 last year!  Yes, I count so I can plan next year!!  Sure didn’t work this year but candy I have!!
 
Oh yeah, and my mask was eaten by Bonnie!!!!  Yeah, mask #1!  So I put on mask #2 and scared the crap out of her!!  LOL!!
 
It’s 8:45 and it’s over!!  WTH???  Last year it was 11:00.  I have some candy to eat!!!
 
Question!!   When did the time change start happening in November??  I always remember it happening before Halloween!!
 
Anyhow, I hope you all had a frighteningly good Halloween!! 
 
Pushing forward with my foray into Classic Rock (sorry BethMarie), here is a classic ‘driving song’ by the Dutch band Golden Earring. 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Good, the Bad and Just My Luck!!

  1. CAROL says:

    YES INDEED things are changing. It is nice though not to have it be so darn dark for the little ones who still go out.
    We didnt have any.. they all went to parties and there is much more for them there than hitting the streets. I have a feeling times will be tough on treaters from now on.  Hope you get to eat some of that good stuff!!  : )

  2. Grandma's says:

    Last year was the first year that they did the new time change.  You are right…it used to be the weekend before Halloween but since last year it is now the weekend after Halloween….so don’t forget to set your clocks back Saturday night.  I do not like the new time change…not at all…it was different in the Spring as well.  But the power that be in the U.S. (in their wisdom?) decided to change it…so of course not to screw things up we followed suit up here in Canada as well.  Might be a good thing for the farmers…I don’t know exactly what the reasoning behind it all was.  Our trick-or-treaters waited until it was dark before they came.  We only had about 38 according to hubby’s count (we keep track too)….but it was wet and windy.  I went out with the daughter and the kids trick-or-treating.  The kids wanted me to wear the gorilla mask.  I didn’t go to the door with the kids…but some kind folks spotted me lurking in the background and shouted "Hey Grandma…can you catch?"….and threw me some candy.  LOL.   I think next year I’ll take my catcher’s mitt along.
    We didn’t take any pictures…our camera has disappeared.  I suspect we left it at our son’s house.
    Hey…don’t eat too much candy all in one sitting…don’t need a tummy ache in the morning.
     

  3. DANA says:

    Bob, last year you scared children and chased them. I’m sure you’re on the PTA list of homes to avoid. I told you that you would scare them away. Next year….. buy a few candy bars. Oh, and mail me your candy.
    Thanks for the cute e card. The kids watched it over and over again and loved it too.
     

  4. Grandma's says:

    I forgot to thank you for the E-card.  It was great….the grandkids loved it…they kept fighting over who could click on the candy corn. LOL….Mattias won….even when he is sick he is a tough little bugger.

  5. sweeti's says:

    RADAR  LOVE   Yahooooooooooooooo The Golden earring..Super oldies.
    some time back i saw them  LIFE…still energetic as before.
    Congrazt BOB for urr fav Baseball team  ENJOY  Yahoooooooooooo
     
    a Halloween  poem for u LOL
    The witches flyAcross the sky,The owls go, "Who? Who? Who?"The black cats yowlAnd green ghosts howl,"Scary Halloween to you!"
    Oh BTW
    i want a pic u with Mask nr.2
    plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
    ur belgium friend
    MJ

  6. Rambling says:

    ‘Bout time you got outta the Country mode.  Anyway, sounds like you had a good time..and what a shame the camera turned up its toes!  Why do they (cameras all over the world) get together and decide when to do that "I’m dead" thing to their owners just when we all want to take ‘THE’ picture!? Eat…enjoy and I loved the card.  🙂

  7. Jaysey says:

    I had zero trick-or-treaters…same as last year.  They all go to the mall now.

  8. Beth says:

    The time changed when our beloved pres took  it upon himself to do so a couple of years ago.  Just another thing in a long list of things to not thank him for.  lol

  9. Jade says:

    Boy, I wish I could grab some of that candy- I’ll take the chocolate!

  10. Sue says:

    I think the lack of time change before Halloween had something to do with kids not showing up.  RAIN kept them away up here.  It rained all night too and all the soccer games have been canceled for today.  Rats!  I hope they will have that time change in OCT next year.  November just seems too late.  Too bad about your camera.  Hope you can get it fixed…

  11. BRIDGET says:

    I worked for Halloween.  As you might imagine, it can be a busy holiday for the police department!  The only thing I saw though was some toilet paper.  I haven’t been out and about yet too much today (only to recycling center) so I don’t know if there are any pumpkins that didn’t survive the night…but there probably are (there always is!).Like the masks!  No wonder your neighbor won’t go trick-or-treating!  I think this was the first year since I’ve been a police officer (almost 5 years) that I haven’t heard the phrase, "Is that your costume?"  I usually hear that at least once on Halloween.  Now you have lots of candy to eat!!  Enjoy! :o) 

Leave a Reply

