Post Election Thoughts

 
As I’m sure most of you feel, I’m glad that all of the campaigning is over, although it was a pretty mild campaign with not alot of mudslinging.  Both candidates are good, honest men.  I think they actually like each other.  A far cry from past elections.  And this election, more than any other in years, has really united our country.  Not only that, but I think our world image will greatly improve.  The concession and acceptance speeches were awesome and I believe that Obama and McCain respect each other.
 
Thanks to Bush, Cheney and Rice, Obama has had a lot of crap dumped into his lap.  Two wars, the economy, terrorism, immigration, etc.  He will need time and support.
 
Here are three things that I think Obama needs to do before he is sworn into office:
 
1.  Find an excellent White House Chief of Staff
 
2.  Choose your Cabinet wisely… your Chief of Staff can help.  It might even involve people from the Clinton adminstration.  Don’t laugh!!  Clinton was a jerk but his staff was good.  Weren’t we better off then??
 
3.  Reach out to our allies AND our enemies.  I’m sure that our allies are already feeling better.
 
All of this should be done quickly. 
 
I finally have hope for a real change in this country.  But the main thing is, ‘Give Him Time’ to straighten out the mess that Bush left him with.
 
 
This song tonight (I’m sure I’ve played it before!) is for all of my wonderful, beautiful friends!!  Please listen and enjoy!  I have been trying to visit and comment but there are just not enough hours in the day.  I will try harder.
 
Enjoy YOUR song!!
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Post Election Thoughts

  1. Grandma's says:

    You must have been watching our Canadian news coverage last night LOL.  They went over the three points you made thoroughly….and yes it is quite conceivable that he will pick some from the Clinton administration.  As for Clinton being a jerk…you may be right…but he is being invited all over the world to give speeches (I’m not sure Bush will be).
    Obama has a monumental task ahead of him and it is going to take time, lots and lots of time.  I hope people will realize that and not expect miracles overnight.
    I thought McCain’s speech was very gracious…especially his pledge to help Obama.  Obama’s speech was also well done and full of optimism.
    I have always admired American Patriotism…something that seems to be lacking in Canada.  (well maybe not lacking…but we sure as heck don’t seem to show it as much …such a pity).
    You never mentioned how Becky is feeling?  I hope she is on the mend.
    Take Care My Friend
    *Hugs*
    Karin 

  2. Fizz says:

    We were better off with Clinton, but he is one of the reasons why we’re in such bad shape. He sighened NAFTA, and now most factory type jobs have gone to Canada or Mexico. Almost all of Ford’s auto plants are in Mexico. So, while Clinton has great at orating (in every sense of the word) he did do a few bone head things. He did, however, have this country in the Black, rather than 10 Trillion dollars in debt and a 10 billion dollar a month bill to go towards Iraq.
    *sigh*
    I am relieved it’s all over. I personally think that Obama will go down in history as one of the best presidents.

  3. Beth says:

    I have faith in Obama and better times ahead for our country.

  4. ♥ Aimee says:

    i do hope that people will give him a chance…i fear for his life…it’s sad…but i do…
    ♥~♥ :oD because you shared a smile…someone’s day got brighter… :oD ♥~♥ 

  5. CAROL says:

    BOB.. I believe all the things you covered are good. I sure hope he can find some great person to be SEC of STATE too.. I mean that is a very important position. I heard he has a long list of candidates and will be choosing soon so that he can "hit the ground running " so to speak. He is so calm and wise I think he will do great as as Aimee said. I do fear for his very life as there are people in this world that would want to do him harm. God bless the SECRET SERVICE as they wil have their hands full.  The speech he gave was one of the most memorable I have ever heard.
    Us who remember KINGS speech and JFK’s speeches. know what it takes and he has what it takes.  Hope you have a wonderful rest of the week.  : )

  6. -Grumps- says:

    I’m still waitin ta see one single global governing body. One land, one people, one law … Do ya think we’ll ever see it??
    In a manner ‘a speakin, ya gots ta feel for the guy. I do believe more so than any president in history, every word he speaks will be dissected, every step he takes will be inspected. He is being touted the wonder dog, ‘n it seems everyone is expecting to see the most wondrous tricks such as has never been seen before. I don’t believe we have ever seen, nor will again the amount of hype generated over the rise of one man to an elected office. Oh wait!! He’s black you say?? Alrighty then … now I gets it!! *grins … *
    Ya know … Put a black leader in Africa, no-one gives it a second thought. A Chinese leader in China, so what. A Pakistani leader in Pakistan, sounds about right. Who would ‘a ever thunk someone other than a honky could have the where with all to be elected leader of an country in the so called, new world??
    Onward ‘n upward … here’s hoping ‘n wishing for all good things. Catch ya later Bob.
    Ciao Fer Now …

  7. DANA says:

    I am so freakin snoopy dancing about Obama being our next president. Did you know that the Kennedy people were the first to suggest he run for president and even one of them said they hadn’t seen anyone speak like that since Bobby Kennedy? I want to see the Obama family walk in to the White House. I am excited for all of us that the majority of our country can judge a man by his character, his sense of purpose, his dedication to his family and his country and his intelligence and get him elected! Yay for all of us! It’s an exciting time, a feeling I haven’t felt since Kennedy was our president. I am thrilled it happened in my time, my kids time…  I’m dancing baby!!! 

  8. Sue says:

    I think you nailed it on the head!  I’m behind Obama all the way and hope McCain can still make a difference in his own way.  It’s good to see the country finally come together–if we can all be patient and give Obama a chance.

  9. Jill says:

    i’m really curious who will be in his cabinet.  i think it will tell us alot about what our next few years are going to be like.

  10. Stephen says:

    Bob –
     
    I couldn’t agree more with the diligence that should be brought out to find our executive staff ASAP. This is something he probably started doing a while ago but as usual for Washington it’s been kept hush-hush until he gets everyone in place. We don’t have time to screw around looking for the this or that person. He’s got a heaping pile of problems facing him and he’s going to need to get right on the ball – which I have little doubt he wouldn’t.
    We had more than a few highly negative campaign in Michigan but Barack didn’t steep as low as John did. I respect John but lost some with the ads he had out – it just wasn’t needed. I would have rather of known where he was on certain issues than watching him slam Barack. Both are guilty of not so nice commercials, don’t get me wrong. John is a hero and always will be, but right now I don’t think he’s the man for the job. It was nice to see him pick a woman for vice presidental running mate even though she is sorta ditzy. This election was a turning point for America and I’m glad I was here to see it. They both gave great speeches and they should both be commended for it. John however didn’t bring me to tears the way Barack did. I can’t remember the last time I cried. :)Peace Brother –
    Stephen

  11. Laoch says:

    I think that communication and rationality will be key.

  12. gracey says:

    yay! Obama! 🙂

  13. Jude says:

    Well, you know me, I don’t usually "do politics", but I’m glad everything’s said in done in your election – not the least of which because now there’ll be some other programming on the television  😉  (kidding!)
     
    Hope you’re doing well and staying out of trouble.  Me, well……I’m finding ways to entertain myself! hehehe
     
    Take care and talk soon  🙂

  14. Bridget says:

    Mudslinging… you should have been in Minnesota!!! One of our races had lots of it… and as of yet, its still tooo close to call the winner with only two hundred votes difference.
     
    I do have to disagree with you on who’s to blame for the mess… the President signs the bottom line, but the House and Senate also have to take some responsibility for their part in the last few years of total lack of judgement. Then again… we’re all armchair quarterbacks in this game of politics!

Leave a Reply

