Firestorm Udate

 
 
 
What a horrible scene.  That mobile home park in Sylmar lost 500 trailers.  They are using cadaver dogs to go through it.  The fire destroyed those homes in 20 minutes!  Becky and I were lucky… so far.  When I went outside this morning to get the newspaper, I started coughing and gagging because of the smoke and it was still ‘snowing’ ash.  Thankfully, that has passed.
 
Good news:  The winds have died down a little and the humidity is up to a whopping 20%.
 
Bad news:  The fires are only 20% contained and 2 more have popped up near us. 
 
At the Yorba Linda fire, the firefighters had no water pressure and had to stand and watch as homes burned one by one like matches.  The newest fire in Diamond Bar is sending up huge plumes of black smoke.  Black is bad, white is good!
 
I will be back to update this post later.  In the meantime you can go to www.latimes.com and www.ocregister.com for photos stories.
 
PS:  You know you’re in trouble when you are watching a DC-10 water-dropping plane on TV and you look outside ad see the same plane flying over your house!!
 
Back soon.
 
 
Here are some new photos: 
 
 Waiting for water
 
OC Fire 10
 
 
Lost Cause!
OC Fire 11
 
 
 
Firestorm!!! 
OC Fire 12
 
 
 
Photo from Fire Engine 
OC Fire 13
 
 
 
Putting Down water 
OC Fire 14
 
 
 
Calling For help! 
OC Fire 15
 
 
WOW!!! 
OC Fire 16
 
 
Smoke Plume Over Diamond Bar 
OC Fire 17
 
 
 
Coming Over A Ridge 
OC Fire 18
 
 
 
Homeowner Doing His Best! 
OC Fire 19
 
 
 
Air Drop! 
OC Fire 20
 
 
 
Lining It Up!! 
OC Fire 21
 
 
 
No Water Pressure!!  Had To Let This One Burn….
OC Fire 22
 
 
 
Police Lending A Hand 
OC Fire 23
 
 
His House…….  So Sad!
OC Fire24
 
Trying To Get Some Rest
 
OC Fire 26
 
Our firefighters are the BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
More good news!!  Cadaver Dogs found nothing!!
 
 
 
 
 
 
I just watched a story about a young guy who helped his elderly neighbor get his family out, along with his furniture……. while his house across the street burned to the ground.  The firefighters aren’t the only heros.
 
Adding a funny! I need to!
 
Click to pick a date

Nov 16
2008
 
So Me!!!!  LOL!!!!
 
I hope tomorrow ia a better day here!!
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Firestorm Udate

  1. Grandma's says:

    Oh Bob,  I’ll be praying for all of you down there.  I hope the residents of that mobile home park escaped and the cadaver dogs find nothing.
    Please be careful….especially when climbing up the roof….no heroics Bob.  Safety first!!
    You and Becky must be dead tired and stressed to the max.
    Stay safe, my friend….and I’ll check in this evening.  Off to my mom’s today.
    Love and hugs to you and Becky.
    ~Karin~

  2. Rosebay says:

    Wildfires are so scarey. Please take care and watch out.
    Wendy

  3. Beth says:

    I am praying for you all.  May God be with you and keep you safe.

  4. Grandma's says:

    You guys really need the Martin Mars Water Bomber down there.  (it might still be there)….only problem is its owned by a private Forestry Company up here and due to red tape and nobody wanting to pay the exorbitant costs to operate it…it sits idle.  Last time you guys had the fires it was down there ready to go…but sat grounded.  What a shame.  Wish somebody would step up to the plate and get that thing going..it would sure help.  It dumps an incredible amount of water.  Google it.

  5. Fizz says:

    Yes…. that’s really a bad sign….  you two plus critters just be safe! Adn if you evac, don’t forget about the turtle!

  6. Ray says:

    Soounds bad Bob, good luck!

  7. Grandma's says:

    The Martin Mars drops about 27,000 gallons.  Add that to the arsenal you’ve already got and maybe some progress could be made.
    Anyway, I’m glad you guys are OK…hope it stays that way.

  8. Rambling says:

    Bob, I have been extremely concerned for you and for everyone else there.  I am grateful you blogged..it at least set my mind to rest about your personal safety to now.

  9. Jude says:

    Stay safe, hun.  Hope things settle down out there soon for everyone’s sake. 

  10. maillady says:

    Glad to know you aare safe. I’ll keep praying. Keep us posted!

  11. BRIDGET says:

    Glad you and your house are still safe.  I do pray for those who weren’t so lucky though.  I lived through a house fire when I was in 5th grade.  Luckily we didn’t lose everything, but it’s still devastating.  I have some friends who live in the Escondido area.  I have no idea if these fires are anywhere near there or not (I know the last fires were relatively close).  I’ll continue to pray the fires are contained very very soon and that no one else loses their house…and most importantly, no one loses their life.  Stay safe my friend!

  12. Lena says:

     
    my heart goes out to those firefighters and residents that have been through this hell.

  13. renay says:

    our prayreers go out to the family’s and fireman.

  14. Beth says:

    These pictures are heartbreaking.  I am so sorry for all involved.  Love and prayers to all!

  15. Sue says:

    Cute cartoon!  NO, that’s NOT you!  Those pics are amazing.  So glad you and Becky are OK.  Hope things settle down and the winds stay calm.  Keep your eyes peeled,though, it ain’t over til the smoke is gone!!!

  16. Georgia says:

    Oh No…more fires…  I thought about you when I heard about the fires this weekend.  Definitely keep us posted and STAY SAFE!!!

  17. Kat says:

    This is terribly sad news 😦 I cant imagine losing my home like that! Stay safe, Hun.
    The comic was hilarious 😀

  18. Carol says:

    When I heard OC I knew that could be you and your home. Hope you are still safe and the angels watch over you and Becky and the dogs.. take care friend.  : )

  19. Grandma's says:

    Hope you guys are Ok!!  Looking forward to an update on the situation.  The news shows a pretty dismal picture.
    OC…is that your county?
    Keeping you all in prayer.
    Love and Hugs
    Karin

  20. Jade says:

    I hope you both stay safe…That cartoon is all of us here Lol!

  21. Ray says:

    Scary stuff Bob glad you are ok tragic, but great pictures.

Leave a Reply

