St Pat’s Dinner – Trial Run

Since I only make Corned Beef and Cabbage a few times a year, and because our friend Anthony

Pre-St Pats 010

will be in the Czech Republic on St Pat’s day, I decided to cook it this weekend.  He brought his roomate and our friend Jimy with him.  And no, he’s not French!!  Or a Mime!!  LOL!  Just a really nice guy!

Pre-St Pats 008

Also, we invited our good Moroccan friend Mehdi

Pre-St Pats 004

Handsone guy!!  Just got accepted to Wharton Business School in Philadelphia.  Working on his THIRD masters degree!

Pre-St Pats 009

Saturday night Becky made Tiramisu and it turned out GREAT!! 

Pre-St Pats 001

Then on Sunday i cooked the Corned Beef.  I like braising it because you can really control the temperature and the simmer.  Braising is really easy!  I place the brisket in a Dutch oven, add the spice packet, a handfull of whole peppercorns and a bottle of Guiness Stout (the alcohol evaporates).  Then add enough water to almost cover it.  Bring it to a boil on the stovetop while scooping off the foam that forms.  Then into the oven at 275F for about 3 hours. I then lay it on a cutting board and cover it with foil.  The Dutch oven goes back on the stovetop where I add the baby red potatoes and carrots and let them simmer for 30 minutes.  At this point I turn the brisket fat side up and cover the top with yellow mustard and sprinkle on a 12 to 1 mixture of brown sugar and ground cloves.  Back in the oven it goes, in a shallow casserole, while I add the cabbage wedges on top of the veggies in the Dutch oven and let the cabbage cook/steam no longer than 15 minutes.  Then turn everything off, uncover the Dutch oven, pull out the brisket and let everything rest for 5 minutes.  Carve the brisket AGAINST the grain, place it on a large serving platter, add the veggies and pour some of the juice from the Dutch oven OVER and serve with some good, crusty bread!  And  GOOD FRIENDS!!  If you have a choice, buy the ‘Flat cut’ rather than the ‘Round’ cut with corned beef.  Much more tender and juicy!

Pre-St Pats 006

Pre-St Pats 005

A fine time was had by all!!!

Pre-St Pats 007

Now I’m ready for the real St Patrick’s Day!!

Sorry folks but Rascal Flatts until the concert!!  12 Days!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to St Pat’s Dinner – Trial Run

  1. Jaysey says:

    You know so many people from all over! Looks like a great meal!

  2. Beth says:

    Good looking crew you have at the table.Hugs,Beth

  3. Shelly says:

    Yummy I’m so going to try that corned beef recipe this year. And I was wondering can I have Mehdi for dessert… YUMMY!!! tee hee ha haxoxoxoxoxo

  4. Twila says:

    Sounds like a great meal to me! I love corned beef & cabbage! Don’t fix it very often, maybe that’s why it’s so good when we have it. Will have to try your recipe. Have a great day Bob!

  5. Sue says:

    Wow, you must be quite the cook! I’ve never tried making Corned Beef—too fatty for my stomach, but yours sounds really yummy. Have go gotten any of this rain we’re having??

  6. Joe says:

    Looks like another good time had by all Bob…what I’d like to know is why you don’t invite me, pay my ticket both ways and let me enjoy a good meal with ya!

  7. Kat says:

    Ermil better take a step back cuz BAM! There’s a new chef in town! 😀

Leave a Reply

