Recipes

 I’m going to post two of the recipes today. 
 
 
 
I liked this salad because it didn’t taste like brussel sprouts…. just fresh greens.
 
Brussels Sprouts Salad with Mustard vinaigrette
 
Mustard Vinaigrette
 
2 tablespoons honey
1 1/2 tablespoons white wine vinegar
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice with pulp
1 1/2 teaspoons lemon zest
1 1/2 teaspoons whole grain mustard, more if desired
1 1/2 teaspoons minced garlic
1/4 cup olive oil
Sea salt
fresh ground black pepper
 
In a large bowl, whisk together the the first five ingredients. Continue whisking while slowly drizzling in the olive oil until the oil is fully incorporated. Season to taste with salt and pepper, and brighten with a little extra vinegar and mustard. This makes a generous cup of dressing, more than is needed and will keep for one week, covered and refrigerated.
 
Salad
 
1 pound Brussel sprouts
1 tablespoon dried cranberries
1 tablesponn dried blueberries
2 tablespoons toasted whole almonds
3 tablespoons mustard vinaigrette
1 ounce Manchego cheese, shaved using a peeler (Feta cheese, crumbled, works well too).
 
1. Peel the leaves from the Brussel sprouts, discarding the core. In a large pot of boiling water, blanch leaves until they are a vibrant green and barely tender. Drain immediately and place in a large bowl of ice water to stop the cooking. Drain and dry well. You should have 3 cups of leaves.
 
2. In a large bowl, toss the brussel sprout leaves, cranberries, blueberries, almonds and just enough vinaigrette to lightly moisten.
 
3. Mound the salad on a plate and top with cheese shavings.  Serve.
 
Whew!!  That was harder than making the salad!!  lol!!
 
I’ll post the Berry Tort tomorrow.  My fingers hurt!!  lol  But this salad is awesome!!!!
 
Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!!!
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Recipes

  1. .. says:

    Hey there!!! Thaaaanks!!!!You forgot an update: did you find your nuts?Have a VERY GOOD week and take care, eh? Alex xxx

  2. Dana says:

    It sounds really good but I don’t trust the brussel sprouts, I will try it but substitute the sprouts for something else green, anything else green but brussel sprouts. Have you seen a cat take a bath? That’s me and brussel sprouts, oh yeah and lima beans.

  3. Dana says:

    Huh? You lost your nuts? LOL pointing and laughing!!!

  4. Louise says:

    Hey Bob, brussel sprouts are my favourite but now they don’t taste so good because it’s the end of the season for them here. My dad used to grow them and they always taste the best when they have had some frost on them.I hope you and me mate are doing good, it’s school hols here and already Jacks doing me head in grrrrrrr. Maybe I should try and swap him for a dog, how ya fixed???(((BIG HUGS))) and bright blessings xxx

  5. Ms.Kitty says:

    One of my favorite veggies, never considered using it in a salad. I’ll have to try it. Thanks for sharing yall’s recipes.

  6. Jude says:

    Well, I can’t say I’d see my kid’s eating this one, that’s for sure!I like brussel sprouts, just don’t like what they do to me 😉

  7. CAROL says:

    Interesting but not my cup of salad… hope the ground is staying still there.. too many quakes I keep hearing about.. Take care : )

  8. Beth says:

    I am not a brussel sprouts fan. Tastes too much like cabbage to me. Hugs,Beth

Leave a Reply

