Recipe #3 – Asparagus and Mushroom Tarts

 This is the third recipe I promised and it was very, VERY good!!  We like to call it Healthy Pizza!  This recipe makes 8 tarts.
 
 
 
 

Ingredients

  • 1 17.3-ounce package frozen puff pastry (2 sheets), thawed
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter
  • 12 oz fresh shiitake mushrooms, stemmed, caps cut into 1/4-inch-wide strips
  • 1 teaspoon coarse kosher salt, divided
  • 1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground black pepper, divided
  • 1 pound slender asparagus spears, trimmed, cut on diagonal into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons finely grated lemon peel
  • 1/2 cup crème fraîche
  • 1/2 cup (packed) coarsely grated Gruyère cheese (about 2 ounces)
  • Fresh thyme sprigs (for garnish)

Preparation

  • Roll out each pastry sheet on work surface to 10-inch square. Cut each into 4 squares. Using small knife, score 1/2-inch border (do not cut through pastry) around inside edges of each square. Arrange squares on 2 rimmed baking sheets. DO AHEAD Can be made 1 day ahead. Cover and chill.
  • Melt butter in heavy large skillet over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms; sprinkle with 1/4 teaspoon coarse salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Sauté until tender and lightly browned, about 4 minutes. Transfer mushrooms to large bowl; cool 15 minutes. Add asparagus, chopped thyme, lemon peel, 3/4 teaspoon coarse salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper to mushrooms. Mix in crème fraîche and cheese. DO AHEAD Filling can be made 1 day ahead. Cover; chill.
  • Position 1 rack in top third and 1 rack in bottom third of oven and preheat to 400°F. Mound filling atop pastry squares, leaving 1/2-inch plain border.
  • Bake tarts 12 minutes. Reverse sheets. Continue to bake tarts until crusts are puffed and golden and filling is cooked through, about 10 minutes longer. Transfer to plates; garnish with thyme sprigs.

****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Update on Bonnie’s ears.  Mrs Serious had a disagreement about what to do about Bonnies super-long ear hairs.  remember that post?  I wanted to take her to a groomer and have them make her look like a Cairn Terrier again.  Mrs S wanted to leave it be.  Then last night she decided to give Bonnie a good brushing and those long ear hairs came right off!!  Doesn’t she look better?

I think so!!!!

Have a Great ‘Hump Day’ tomorrow!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Recipe #3 – Asparagus and Mushroom Tarts

  1. Beth says:

    Bonnie is beautiful!I really like mushrooms and asparagus so I am sure I would like this recipe.Hugs,Beth

  2. Jude says:

    Shall I tell you what my kids would call it?? LOL

  3. Sue says:

    Mucho thanks for the recipe–I’ve been drooling waiting for it. Where can one find the pastry??? Is there a particular brand you use? Have you ever made anything with the grain Quinoa??? I used it in a meatloaf last night instead of bread—yummy!

  4. Duckie says:

    where are you

  5. Shelly says:

    That sounds yummy…. I do wish I knew all of the ingrediants. Hopefully I will be brave and try them. xoxoxo Thanks for sharing the yummy stuff! Bonnie was cute with hair and without. Don’t most "older" men have this problem too? Becareful she might get the super glue out and you’ll be stuck to the pillow. tee heeHey seen Bart/Burt yet?

  6. Joe says:

    I love the ingredients in that recipe right off the bat so I know it would be great! Terrific pictures my friend!

  7. Ms Noanie says:

    Bonnie is a cutie – long ear hairs or not! I’m not so sure about this recipe – I like asparagus and I love cheese of any kind, but just not sure I’d like it this way – only one way to find out now isn’t there – I need to try the recipe!Be well. Peace

  8. Dana says:

    Poor girl, always having to live up to society pressure to look beautiful all the time. LOLI love your little Bonnie. Look at that face, how could you not just love her to pieces. Those recipes sound wonderful, it scares me that two of the words (or more) I can’t even pronounce. It’s hard to adjust to a recipe that doesn’t say " open box, mix with 1/2 cp of water, bake at 350." I made crab pasta salad today, yum.

  9. Jade says:

    omg that looks tasty!and Bonnie looks so cute!

  10. Kenneth says:

    Hi. just popped over from Noanie’s just thought to say hello. now I know where the smell of good food is coming from 🙂

Leave a Reply

